Meet the owner

Granville Island was once an island; actually, truth be told, it was a sandbar. So it seems appropriate that one of the city’s most popular eateries pays homage to Granville Island’s geographic past. Nestled under the Granville Street Bridge, The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant celebrates its industrial and fishing roots with an interior that is designed for warmth and casual elegance.

Part of the Sequoia Company of Restaurants, The Sandbar seats 350 guests across three levels in what was once a manufacturing building. The ground floor is home to an intimate sushi bar. Upstairs, the main dining room features nautical decor accents that offer a nod to West Coast style. “Suspended above the main bar is Kivi, a 24-foot salmon troller hand built by Allan Farrell, (one of the West Coast’s finest craftsman of wooden boats),” explains general manager John Hawkins. The second floor is also home to a private dining room (adjacent to a wine cellar that boasts a collection of more than 1000+ bottles), and a low-lit lounge. At night, the Teredo Lounge transforms into a trendy piano bar with an intimate vibe and live music. The third-floor heated patio, open year-round, is perhaps the most sought-after space in the restaurant. “At night under the stars, you can capture the most stunning cityscapes on the patio,” adds Hawkins.

Read the story of The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

Ratings & Reviews - The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
  • Atmosphere: 4.3/5
  • Food: 3.6/5
  • Service: 3.6/5
Sort by:
Language:
Kailah K
By

Great location for a special occasion!

Recently had a family event here and it was great! We had a dedicated server to our party, which was great - it meant we never got ignored. The seafood here is very fresh and tastes wonderful! The fresh sheet has a great selection - highly recommend the sable fish (black cod) it was very good. The wine list is somewhat limited, but they have picked some of the best wines from BC, which is nice. The rooftop deck is one of the best in Vancouver! Just amazing to sit up there and watch the boats go by... highly recommend Sandbar for locals and tourists alike!

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

This restaurant is one of my favourite destinations on a sunny day. I prefer outside seating, which positions you directly below Granville Bridge. Great view, great food. Service is always friendly. We ordered: Eggs Benny bacon, toasted english muffin, hollandaise, roasted potatoes $12 Wild Salmon Burger grilled $15 The only dish which disappointed us was the red beat salad. It used to be my top item on their menu. Not sure what happened, however, portion was extremely small and taste was off.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the...

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the Granville bridge and overlooking the vista of blue, but the food is only average. Funny: all five of us, when given our menus, said the same thing: 'This is hard to look at!' They really should hire a good graphic artist and give it a makeover. Someone that charges more $ but does good work. Ask for a table upstairs.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
April 28, 2017

We ordered 2 bottles of wine and our server Only poured our first glass...poor attention to our Table Food was average at best

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 2/5

April 28, 2017

Food is amazing! One of my favourite restaurants in Vancouver!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 27, 2017

very good dinner before going to the Arts Club Stage.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

April 27, 2017

Very nice looking restaurant and the food was very good. However, felt it was a bit overpriced, even for the location, and the service was surprisingly slow for just two people. The server was extremely friendly and likable, but was obviously preoccupied with too many tables as we didn't have his service at our table as often as desired.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 3/5

April 25, 2017

wonderful dinner and service

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 24, 2017

Best halibut I've ever had. My wife's black cod was also super tender and delicious.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

April 22, 2017

Server was great! Food good

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 4/5

April 22, 2017

My name is spelt Carah thank you! I just want to thank Mitch for being a great server. Very attentive, funny and made some great recommendations. Food was also spectacular. I had the sable fish and it just melted in my mouth I want more. Thank you for a good night!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 22, 2017

We came with a small baby in a pram. Staff were just so accepting and accommodating. That plus great food and service just made for a wonderful family dinner. Thank You!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 19, 2017

It was great to be out with my friends from out of town. I had such a great time. Food was fantastic and the service was impeccable!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 18, 2017

Excellent food, great service and perfect setting.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 16, 2017

Food was AWESOME. Waitress VERY GOOD! Had a nice time...thank you.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 15, 2017

Service & food - excellent

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 14, 2017

First time at your restaurant. Wonderful experience- great server- great table location halibut was excellent. Well done!! CLARK and SHARON Wotherspoon

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 14, 2017

We went to The Sandbar for a birthday dinner. This seemed to be an especially busy night, and although the service was good, we waited 45 minutes for our entrees. When they came out, the vegetables were cold and undercooked. We sent them back and received new platings fairly quickly, and although the vegetables were hot, they were still undercooked significantly. Although that was a disappointment, the service was excellent and the manager took the time to speak with us directly. This was not our first visit here, and even though the food was not as good as we have had in the past, the treatment we received makes it an easy decision to go back and try again.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 5/5

April 10, 2017

The booking was quick and convenient. Restaurant atmosphere and food were great. Strongly recommend for travelers.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

April 10, 2017

All around, really good meal and service!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 7, 2017

Service was quite slow...took a very long time to get our food, and even after asking for bread to tide us over we didn't get it (though we did have to ask another server for it because our server wasn't coming around, so maybe the message didn't get there). Still, when we got the food it was good!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 2/5

April 6, 2017

Excellent attentive service. Food was good quality.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 7, 2017

Server was very efficient when we told her we were going to the theatre for a show (even though we were 20 in late for our reso due to traffic). We appreciated that she was able to get us in and out quickly so we weren't late.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

April 4, 2017

Excellent. Would recommend to all. Great food and the service was as good as anywhere in the city

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 2, 2017

The Sandbar were incredibly accommodating and moved us to a great table next next to the fireplace on the top floor. Food was great, good selection of wine. Can't wait to go again.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 2, 2017

We'll be back!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 1, 2017

Just Ok nothing special

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 3/5

April 2, 2017

We were so happy to be seated at the window giving us a breathtaking view of the mountains, water and downtown. Oysters were delicious, crispy Arctic Char was unforgettable, overall excellent dining experience for our special 21 years anniversary. Thanks for making our evening that much more special!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 31, 2017

A bit too noisy to carry on a quiet conversation

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

March 30, 2017

We had a lovely meal at the Sandbar and enjoyed the atmosphere. Our server was missing in action and we found the wine by the glass to be really overpriced.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 3/5

March 29, 2017

Even on a rainy day the view is terrific from a table by a window. Service was friendly and efficient and the food excellent.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 26, 2017

Best squid ever! Helpful and courteous staff. Nice patio. And dancing afterward. Very nice, thank you!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 25, 2017

Amazing venue to have ladies night! Band fantastic! Ambience, food, wine, the whole package. Reserving was a cinch! Kudos to our waiter, Chris, fabulous! We'll be back!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Appears in 8 Smart lists

Editor’s Pick
9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

Granville Island is the tourist hotspot in Vancouver; easy accessible from downtown, the bustling destination offers art galleries, boutique shopping, paddle boarding and kayaking adventures, and an expansive public market. So, why not combine your tour of the island with a visit to its most popular bistro? An upscale but still affordable restaurant, Sandbar offers stunning views of English Bay plus authentic seafood dishes like mussels, clams and prawns, all tasty and as fresh as can be.

View this Smart List
Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Ask for the right table on The Sandbar’s stunning wood patio, and you’ll get a great view of the fireworks from Granville Island. You’ll also enjoy fine seafood, excellent service, and imported and local wines in a casual, relaxed setting that lends itself to the other kind of fireworks – summer romance.

View this Smart List
Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Every year, I gather a group of friends and make a reservation for Sandbar on Granville Island to enjoy a lovely Dine Out experience. The cozy atmosphere, scenic waterfront views and consistently enjoyable seafood offerings make for a spectacular evening out with great company.

View this Smart List
Contact this merchant
Close menu
Subscribe to YP Newsletter