Meet the owner

Granville Island was once an island; actually, truth be told, it was a sandbar. So it seems appropriate that one of the city’s most popular eateries pays homage to Granville Island’s geographic past. Nestled under the Granville Street Bridge, The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant celebrates its industrial and fishing roots with an interior that is designed for warmth and casual elegance.

Part of the Sequoia Company of Restaurants, The Sandbar seats 350 guests across three levels in what was once a manufacturing building. The ground floor is home to an intimate sushi bar. Upstairs, the main dining room features nautical decor accents that offer a nod to West Coast style. “Suspended above the main bar is Kivi, a 24-foot salmon troller hand built by Allan Farrell, (one of the West Coast’s finest craftsman of wooden boats),” explains general manager John Hawkins. The second floor is also home to a private dining room (adjacent to a wine cellar that boasts a collection of more than 1000+ bottles), and a low-lit lounge. At night, the Teredo Lounge transforms into a trendy piano bar with an intimate vibe and live music. The third-floor heated patio, open year-round, is perhaps the most sought-after space in the restaurant. “At night under the stars, you can capture the most stunning cityscapes on the patio,” adds Hawkins.

Read the story of The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

Ratings & Reviews

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
  • Food: 3.6/5
  • Atmosphere: 4.3/5
  • Service: 3.6/5
Sort by:
Language:
Kailah K
By

Great location for a special occasion!

Recently had a family event here and it was great! We had a dedicated server to our party, which was great - it meant we never got ignored. The seafood here is very fresh and tastes wonderful! The fresh sheet has a great selection - highly recommend the sable fish (black cod) it was very good. The wine list is somewhat limited, but they have picked some of the best wines from BC, which is nice. The rooftop deck is one of the best in Vancouver! Just amazing to sit up there and watch the boats go by... highly recommend Sandbar for locals and tourists alike!

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

This restaurant is one of my favourite destinations on a sunny day. I prefer outside seating, which positions you directly below Granville Bridge. Great view, great food. Service is always friendly. We ordered: Eggs Benny bacon, toasted english muffin, hollandaise, roasted potatoes $12 Wild Salmon Burger grilled $15 The only dish which disappointed us was the red beat salad. It used to be my top item on their menu. Not sure what happened, however, portion was extremely small and taste was off.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the...

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the Granville bridge and overlooking the vista of blue, but the food is only average. Funny: all five of us, when given our menus, said the same thing: 'This is hard to look at!' They really should hire a good graphic artist and give it a makeover. Someone that charges more $ but does good work. Ask for a table upstairs.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
January 22, 2017

Overall a pleasant experience, will be back soon

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

January 22, 2017

Lively ambiance, better for drinks with friends than with family. Quality of food has definitely declined. Service was okay, took a while to get our drink and meal orders. Probably won't be back.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 3/5

January 21, 2017

Our server Grant made the evening that much more fun by being an interesting and engaging part of our evening - we had a great time!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 18, 2017

We ordered a variety of dishes. All excellent! Waiter service was excellent.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 18, 2017

Excellent evening, wonderful service, amazing meal. Highly recommend.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 16, 2017

We live in Vancouver. But it's the first time to stay in Sandbar. We ordered a large size Sandbar tower and 2 green salad dish. The atmosphere, the service,the green salad and the oyster were all great. So my husband adds another dozen of oyster. The only thing that I can't say great is the meat of lobster and the king crab was a little bit stiff. Anyway, it is a place we'd like to come again.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

January 16, 2017

The Sandbar is one of my favourite restaurants but it's been awhile since I'd been there. I was happy to return and find it still amazing. The location, staff and food are beyond amazing. We had a somewhat noisy baby but never felt unwanted or annoying. We all had different meals and each raved about them. Can't say enough about your fabulous restaurant.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 15, 2017

Always an outstanding experience at this restaurant! Every single thing that made this meal was amazing! Definitely a great go to

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 15, 2017

Had a beautiful view upstairs but it was chilly when the staff had to access the patio. The food was delicious! Will definitely be coming here again.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

January 15, 2017

Great dinner!!!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 12, 2017

Auf jeden Fall ein Besuch wert. Man kann erst auf den Markt gehen und dann gut essen. Wer später vom Festland kommt, sollte mit dem Wassertaxi fahren. Das Essen ist sehr gut. Die Auswahl an Gerichten (Fisch) hängt vom Fangergebnis ab. Es gibt nicht immer alles, was auf der Karte steht. Aber Muscheln sind immer da, da sie selbst gezüchtet werden. Absolute Empfehlung. Lassen Sie sich genug Brot bringen, damit Sie die köstliche Soße bis zum letzten Tropfen genießen können.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

January 11, 2017

Excellent food and service, always consistent! Great place to bring clients as well as family and friends.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 6, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, with great atmosphere and views of the waterfront. Only thing that wasn't up to par was the Ahi on the Sands Barge. Must have been previously frozen.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

January 3, 2017

We had great appetizers and tasty meals. Service was super friendly, though the restaurant was quite busy, we had good service. Thanks for a great evening.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 3, 2017

Great place to go before a show at the Arts Club

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 3, 2017

Great location, great (fresh) food, great evening. Portions a touch on the slim side, but otherwise excellent.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

January 1, 2017

My husband and I were out for a long overdue date night. The food was lovely, all the staff were very friendly. We had dinner and then sat in front of the fire to watch the band. It was the perfect evening. Thankyou Sandbar we will be back in again.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

January 1, 2017

Had an excellent dinner for New Years. Thanks for the awesome evening :)

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 1, 2017

A great place for a pre Arts Club brunch. Really friendly staff and attentive service Lots of menu options. Highly recommend the Sandbar.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 31, 2016

Fantastic service - Ross was amazing and her great personality lent to an even better experience. The food was great - my steak and crab were done perfectly as was everyone's meals. The sable fish was off the charts.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 1, 2017

We had a lovely evening. The food was great, service was great and the ambiance and views were fantastic.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 30, 2016

Mahi Mahi fish and lobster were over cooked, Black cod was the most well done. Taste perfect. Ahi Tuna as good as usual. Overall, we have a very happy family time.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

December 29, 2016

The service was excellent. They were on top of their game, attentive but not too much. Very considerate waitress, manager, and bar staff. They really exceeded expectations. Oh, and the food was great too. We highly recommend the jumbo prawn cocktail, the prawns were astoundingly fresh and delicious.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

December 29, 2016

The ideal setting for a family meal with our son and spouse visiting from Montreal, followed by "Avenue Q" at the Arts Club theatre. A wonderful evening!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 28, 2016

Everything was excellent. The food was well-prepared and delicious. The server, Daniella was superb; friendly and efficient. If I was to comment negatively on anything, it was a little noisy which made it difficult to talk to each other.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 27, 2016

A great place for a Boxing Day lunch. We sat in the enclosed deck, which was cosy with a spectacular view. Loved the crab cakes. Our waiter was charming and prompt. COuldn't have been more pleased! Thank you!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

December 25, 2016

The service and the food is why we keep coming back, our waiter was outstanding

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 25, 2016

Very good restaurant.We all enjoy the meal and the environment. Will back again.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 24, 2016

The waiter was really excellent.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

December 23, 2016

I like the Sandbar, and would like it better if it were a little quieter. It's difficult to hear the person I'm having dinner with

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Show more reviews

Appears in 3 local lists

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

Granville Island is the tourist hotspot in Vancouver; easy accessible from downtown, the bustling destination offers art galleries, boutique shopping, paddle boarding and kayaking adventures, and an expansive public market. So, why not combine your tour of the island with a visit to its most popular bistro? An upscale but still affordable restaurant, Sandbar offers stunning views of English Bay plus authentic seafood dishes like mussels, clams and prawns, all tasty and as fresh as can be.

View this Smart List
Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Ask for the right table on The Sandbar’s stunning wood patio, and you’ll get a great view of the fireworks from Granville Island. You’ll also enjoy fine seafood, excellent service, and imported and local wines in a casual, relaxed setting that lends itself to the other kind of fireworks – summer romance.

View this Smart List
Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Every year, I gather a group of friends and make a reservation for Sandbar on Granville Island to enjoy a lovely Dine Out experience. The cozy atmosphere, scenic waterfront views and consistently enjoyable seafood offerings make for a spectacular evening out with great company.

View this Smart List
Contact this merchant
Close menu
New!
×

Discover YP Dine! Your next great dining experience is just a tap away.

Subscribe to YP Newsletter