Ratings & Reviews

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
  • Food: 3.5/5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5/5
  • Service: 3.5/5
Sort by:
Language:
Kailah K
By

Great location for a special occasion!

Recently had a family event here and it was great! We had a dedicated server to our party, which was great - it meant we never got ignored. The seafood here is very fresh and tastes wonderful! The fresh sheet has a great selection - highly recommend the sable fish (black cod) it was very good. The wine list is somewhat limited, but they have picked some of the best wines from BC, which is nice. The rooftop deck is one of the best in Vancouver! Just amazing to sit up there and watch the boats go by... highly recommend Sandbar for locals and tourists alike!

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Business owner? Respond
Restaurantica12
By

This restaurant is one of my favourite destinations on a sunny day. I prefer outside seating, which positions you directly below Granville Bridge. Great view, great food. Service is always friendly. We ordered: Eggs Benny bacon, toasted english muffin, hollandaise, roasted potatoes $12 Wild Salmon Burger grilled $15 The only dish which disappointed us was the red beat salad. It used to be my top item on their menu. Not sure what happened, however, portion was extremely small and taste was off.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Business owner? Respond
Restaurantica12
By

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the...

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the Granville bridge and overlooking the vista of blue, but the food is only average. Funny: all five of us, when given our menus, said the same thing: 'This is hard to look at!' They really should hire a good graphic artist and give it a makeover. Someone that charges more $ but does good work. Ask for a table upstairs.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Business owner? Respond
September 24, 2016

A very good experience...

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

September 23, 2016

Great night excellent food excellent service!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 22, 2016

Love Sanbar! Whether business or pleasure their food and service is always impeccable!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 21, 2016

Another great meal at the Sandbar. Hard to get the first drink but great service otherwise.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

September 20, 2016

Our waitress Daniella was delightful and very efficient. The kitchen had a accident with one of the meals and brought an appetizer to make up for the extra few minutes wait for the one missing meal.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 19, 2016

Our waitress was excellent

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 19, 2016

dependable food. tasty food but not all that original or impressively presented. Not disappointing- more comfortable and familiar. Teh atmosphere of a second floor window seat is top notch though- as was the service.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

September 19, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. Had window table which makes it even better. Staff was friendly but not in your face which is always appreciated.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 18, 2016

We arrived early for our dinner reservation and checked in with hostess and went for a drink at the bar. They never bothered to come and get us when our table was ready. The live music was nice but too loud so we had to yell at one another. We ordered an appetizer to share but it took so long that it essentially came at the same time as our dinner.

Ambiance: 2/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 2/5

September 16, 2016

It would be nice to have just some menu options at more reasonable prices

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 13, 2016

We've been coming for years. The crab cakes were beyond compare with anywhere else in Vancouver. Everything else was merely excellent. The server was sharp and helpful. The staff in general seemed hard-taxed (Friday 8pm). The band playing 70's rock, combined with the unavoidable acoustics of the space, made conversation near-impossible by 9pm. Don't know how that can be remedied, but we certainly hope it can be attempted.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

September 8, 2016

Awsome service and great atmosphere on the heated terrace.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 8, 2016

As always, perfect in every way!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 6, 2016

Fantastic experience but sadly my friend's purse was stolen during dinner we discovered this at the end of the night.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 5, 2016

Had a great dinner; food tasted delicious. Good Work!!!!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 4, 2016

Exactly what we were looking for while visiting Vancouver - oysters and crab that were outstanding!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 3, 2016

We ate in the Sushi Bar. Excellent as usual. Ordering was a breeze. We asked the sushi chef to surprise us for a set price.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 1, 2016

Loved the food here and the service is fantastic! It has a nice ambiance with live music!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 2, 2016

I was not at the event, however I was told the appetizers, meals and service were excellent. We have had many events in the private dining room, again, it was perfect for this event. Thank you!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 29, 2016

Great location, very good menu - food, quality, variety; I made a special request to be relocated to the patio and your staff was able to make the effort to investigate and make it happen; this was greatly appreciated;

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

August 29, 2016

Very expensive!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

August 28, 2016

Enjoyed our meal!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

August 27, 2016

A great dining experience ! Too noisy though

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

August 27, 2016

The only drawback I would mention about our experience is that we found the place too noisy. I guess it was because it was a Friday night, so many people and music too loud. Other than that, I would rate The Sandbar with the maximum. Apart from the noise, the atmosphere was lovely, the light, the decoration. The staff and the service were faultless, great manners, 100% courtesy without overwhelming or insistent attention, the food was served on a perfect timing and the quality is awesome. We'll go back for sure. Thanks!!

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 26, 2016

Fun evening very good waiter Demitrios. I thought the food was very good and the service was excellent👍🏼

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 25, 2016

Enjoyed it all

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

August 25, 2016

The Bedt crab cakes I ever had hands down

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

August 25, 2016

We had a most pleasant evening at the Sandbar Restaurant . The food was great and the service was excellant. we hope to return soon for another great meal. Thank You.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 24, 2016

Greg rock! Nice food. Great experience.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 23, 2016

This was my wife and I's first visit to the Sandbar. A co-worker recommended that we check this place out since we were looking for a nice spot on Granville Island where we could enjoy a nice meal with a view. Our server Ryan was great! He was kind, patient and professional. When we were ready to pay and leave we waited a little over 10 minutes but, this was not Ryan's fault as he was super busy and I could tell people were trying to get his attention both left and right as he was trying to approach us. Big thanks to Ryan! We will be returning in the future!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

Show more reviews

Appears in 3 local lists

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

Granville Island is the tourist hotspot in Vancouver; easy accessible from downtown, the bustling destination offers art galleries, boutique shopping, paddle boarding and kayaking adventures, and an expansive public market. So, why not combine your tour of the island with a visit to its most popular bistro? An upscale but still affordable restaurant, Sandbar offers stunning views of English Bay plus authentic seafood dishes like mussels, clams and prawns, all tasty and as fresh as can be.

View this Smart List
Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Ask for the right table on The Sandbar’s stunning wood patio, and you’ll get a great view of the fireworks from Granville Island. You’ll also enjoy fine seafood, excellent service, and imported and local wines in a casual, relaxed setting that lends itself to the other kind of fireworks – summer romance.

View this Smart List
Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Every year, I gather a group of friends and make a reservation for Sandbar on Granville Island to enjoy a lovely Dine Out experience. The cozy atmosphere, scenic waterfront views and consistently enjoyable seafood offerings make for a spectacular evening out with great company.

View this Smart List
Contact this merchant
New!
×

Discover YP Dine! Your next great dining experience is just a tap away.