The Sandbar Seafood Restaurantopen

1535 Johnston St, Vancouver, BC V6H 3R9
The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant on Granville Island is a 300-seat fresh seafood and fish restaurant in the heart of Vancouver's world-famous Granville Island, perched over the waterfront with views from every seat. Guests can enjoy the bustle of the market, the non-stop energy of False Creek and the shores of Vancouver's West End. Walk up the wood post staircase, the only item that was salvaged from the historic Mulvaney's Restaurant site, and elevate your view of the city waterfront. The busy animated open kitchen gives the guest that "Granville Island Market feeling" plus an up-close look at the chefs as they prepare their seafood creations. The Sandbar serves up the freshest seafood in a warm, sophisticated atmosphere. Suspended above the bar in the Teredo Lounge is Kivi, a 24 foot salmon troller hand built by Allan Farrell, one of the West Coast's finest craftsman of wooden boats. Fresh oyster bar, tapas, Hoshi's Sushi Bar, dinner and dancing. more...
  • SMS

Ratings & Reviews

Do you know this business?

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

  • Food: 3.5/5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5/5
  • Service: 3.5/5
Sort by:
Kailah K
By

Great location for a special occasion!

Recently had a family event here and it was great! We had a dedicated server to our party, which was great - it meant we never got ignored. The seafood here is very fresh and tastes wonderful! The fresh sheet has a great selection - highly recommend the sable fish (black cod) it was very good. The wine list is somewhat limited, but they have picked some of the best wines from BC, which is nice. The rooftop deck is one of the best in Vancouver! Just amazing to sit up there and watch the boats go by... highly recommend Sandbar for locals and tourists alike!

Business owner? Respond
Restaurantica12
By

This restaurant is one of my favourite destinations on a sunny day. I prefer outside seating, which positions you directly below Granville Bridge. Great view, great food. Service is always friendly. We ordered: Eggs Benny bacon, toasted english muffin, hollandaise, roasted potatoes $12 Wild Salmon Burger grilled $15 The only dish which disappointed us was the red beat salad. It used to be my top item on their menu. Not sure what happened, however, portion was extremely small and taste was off.

Business owner? Respond
Restaurantica12
By

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the...

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the Granville bridge and overlooking the vista of blue, but the food is only average. Funny: all five of us, when given our menus, said the same thing: 'This is hard to look at!' They really should hire a good graphic artist and give it a makeover. Someone that charges more $ but does good work. Ask for a table upstairs.

Business owner? Respond
June 29, 2016

As always, the Sandbar did not disappoint us. My friends and I usually book a table there before going to The Arts Club for dinner so we get the 15% discount. I love the mussels and they are always plump, and the soup is excellent. Servers were pleasant and attentive. Would recommend the Sandbar.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 28, 2016

Fantastic recommendation for appetizer and suggestions for dinner. Thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and the food and service were great!

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

June 27, 2016

Made a reservation a few weeks in advance and had requested a patio or waterfront view table. Was delighted to hear upon arrival that an amazing table on the patio was set aside for us. The weather was amazing which made it all the better. We were served by a young gentleman by the name of Makenzie, whom took us through a quick but detailed run through the menu as it was our first time. He was very knowledgeable and was more than happy to make some recommendations on wine and food when inquired. Thanks to his expert suggestions, we enjoyed a delicious bottle of wine. The experience was amazing from start to finish. The 5 starts do not do it justice. We will be sure to visit again.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 26, 2016

Having previously been there, I knew Sandbar would be the perfect place to take my family and end an adventurous week in Vancouver. We were not disappointed. The ambiance with million dollar view, Brooklyn's expert yet friendly service, and the delectable menu all contributed to a memorable Vancouver experience that we are now reminiscing in San Antonio, TX. The Sandbar is truly a gem in Vancouver's treasure box. We will be back!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 26, 2016

Very nice dinner for the two of us on the Patio, a little noisy

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 25, 2016

It was a birthday dinner, for just two of us. had a great table on the patio - perfect! Our waiter was also perfect. Delicious appy platter, but we did have to send one item back to be heated. That wasn't a problem at all for the waiter. So, great atmosphere, great food, and great service. Def coming back for a little more summer patio action.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

June 25, 2016

Was impressed with waiter. Anticipated things. A good evening. All food from seafood to ribs was tasty, vegetables done just right.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 21, 2016

Food was awesome and our Waiter Mackenzie gave an outstanding service Georges ( Quebec city )

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 17, 2016

We booked for a quiet bday dinner with a few friends. The restaurant was packed, but the service and food didn't suffer. Lovely evening. Thank you!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 16, 2016

Courteous and attentive staff. Very much a team approach to service. A little pricey, but the food was excellent. My first time there, and I will definitely go back again.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 14, 2016

We really appreciated having Kali as our server. She's very personable as well as very attentive and this contributed significantly to our enjoyable experience at The Sandbar. Even though we were seated in the main dining room, we coulld hear and enjoy the music of the pianist playing in the bar area. It definitely was a factor in our complete enjoyment of our dining experience. Our dinners were excellent, so when combined with everything else, it was one of our most memorable meals and we highly recommend The Sandbar.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 10, 2016

Excellent service and great lunch. Looking forward to another visit

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

June 6, 2016

Very fresh seafood

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

June 1, 2016

Great venue, exceptional service, edible food, limited bar.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 3/5

May 30, 2016

Fantastic view, great ambiance. Service was awesome & the food will bring me back. Can't ask for much more.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

May 25, 2016

Very good experience, delicious food, good and friendly service. We were a party of 10, several people from Japan who were very impressed with the oysters and fish dishes. Would definitely recommend The Sandbar to friends and return for another special occasion.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

May 22, 2016

Excellent service. Nice atmosphere and good food.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

May 21, 2016

Beautiful interior. Loved the warm tones of the wood with the many candles! Server was knowledgeable and a good conversationalist but a bit tardy on taking drink, app, entree orders. Fish was wonderful! One member of our party declared it the Sable as the best prepared fish he had ever eaten! Kelly in the lounge was the reason we came and he did not disappoint! Loved talking to him between sets. Already have had people who are coming to Vancouver ask for suggestions and Kelly and Sandbar are #1 on the list!

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

April 4, 2016

We had a great time using the function room at The Sandbar. Our host Zhara was very helpful and friendly. Thanks!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

March 27, 2016

Was hoping for and requested window seat. We were sat beside kitchen. Huge disappointment. But then hostess sat us in lounge window seat. We were thrilled! Excellent night. Can't wait to go back.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

March 3, 2016

As usual good service and great food.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

February 27, 2016

Absolutely amazing as always. Delicious food and our server Ryan was beyond perfect!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Show more reviews

Opening Hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday

Appears in 3 local lists

Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016»

Every year, I gather a group of friends and make a reservation for Sandbar on Granville Island to enjoy a lovely Dine Out experience. The cozy atmosphere, scenic waterfront views and consistently enjoyable seafood offerings make for a spectacular evening out with great company.

Dine Out Vancouver Festival: $30 Menus

Dine Out Vancouver Festival: $30 Menus»

The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant on Granville Island is a 300-seat fresh seafood and fish restaurant in the heart of Vancouver’s world-famous Granville Island, perched over the waterfront with views from every seat. Fresh oyster bar, tapas, Hoshi's Sushi Bar, dinner and dancing are what can be expected here!

Outstanding seafood restaurants in Vancouver

Outstanding seafood restaurants in Vancouver»

Sure, there’s no shortage of seafood options on Granville Island, but you can’t beat the view at The Sandbar. Tucked away under the Granville Street Bridge, the waterfront restaurant treats diners to a lovely view of False Creek and the city skyline. The diverse menu has a little something for everyone (sushi, seafood platters, pastas, mussels and clams) and will appeal to devout seafood fans and picky eaters alike, with plenty of landlubber alternatives such as salads, flatbreads, steak and even pad Thai. We love the signature Sandbar cedar plank salmon served with rice and seasonal veggies.

Business Details