Meet the owner

Granville Island was once an island; actually, truth be told, it was a sandbar. So it seems appropriate that one of the city’s most popular eateries pays homage to Granville Island’s geographic past. Nestled under the Granville Street Bridge, The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant celebrates its industrial and fishing roots with an interior that is designed for warmth and casual elegance.

Part of the Sequoia Company of Restaurants, The Sandbar seats 350 guests across three levels in what was once a manufacturing building. The ground floor is home to an intimate sushi bar. Upstairs, the main dining room features nautical decor accents that offer a nod to West Coast style. “Suspended above the main bar is Kivi, a 24-foot salmon troller hand built by Allan Farrell, (one of the West Coast’s finest craftsman of wooden boats),” explains general manager John Hawkins. The second floor is also home to a private dining room (adjacent to a wine cellar that boasts a collection of more than 1000+ bottles), and a low-lit lounge. At night, the Teredo Lounge transforms into a trendy piano bar with an intimate vibe and live music. The third-floor heated patio, open year-round, is perhaps the most sought-after space in the restaurant. “At night under the stars, you can capture the most stunning cityscapes on the patio,” adds Hawkins.

Read the story of The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

Ratings & Reviews

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
  • Food: 3.6/5
  • Atmosphere: 4.3/5
  • Service: 3.6/5
Sort by:
Language:
Kailah K
By

Great location for a special occasion!

Recently had a family event here and it was great! We had a dedicated server to our party, which was great - it meant we never got ignored. The seafood here is very fresh and tastes wonderful! The fresh sheet has a great selection - highly recommend the sable fish (black cod) it was very good. The wine list is somewhat limited, but they have picked some of the best wines from BC, which is nice. The rooftop deck is one of the best in Vancouver! Just amazing to sit up there and watch the boats go by... highly recommend Sandbar for locals and tourists alike!

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

This restaurant is one of my favourite destinations on a sunny day. I prefer outside seating, which positions you directly below Granville Bridge. Great view, great food. Service is always friendly. We ordered: Eggs Benny bacon, toasted english muffin, hollandaise, roasted potatoes $12 Wild Salmon Burger grilled $15 The only dish which disappointed us was the red beat salad. It used to be my top item on their menu. Not sure what happened, however, portion was extremely small and taste was off.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the...

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the Granville bridge and overlooking the vista of blue, but the food is only average. Funny: all five of us, when given our menus, said the same thing: 'This is hard to look at!' They really should hire a good graphic artist and give it a makeover. Someone that charges more $ but does good work. Ask for a table upstairs.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
February 18, 2017

Great night :) 😃🎉

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

February 18, 2017

Amazing night out with my friends and family, food was gorgeous and service was incredible. Would definitely recommend and will be back for sure!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 17, 2017

It was our 9th wedding anniversary and we had an amazing dinner. Great food, atmosphere, service and view.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 16, 2017

Tasty food but more attention should be given to serving it warm... serving barely tepid broccolini can easily be avoided... Good service and friendly staff.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

February 14, 2017

Amazing way to spend my husband's 30th birthday :-)

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 14, 2017

Service and food as usual were beyond expected. Even managed to get the table where I proposed 3yrs ago. If I could have give 6 stars I would. Thanks for the fantastic experience

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 13, 2017

Good food.. But felt we where rushed after we had our meals..receipt was given right away Will come back to try other menus

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

February 12, 2017

We had ordered mussels for starter . They can small and almost half were empty. The salmon piece on the entree is smaller the average and so is the filet mignonette that my wife ordered.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 3/5

February 12, 2017

Server had perfect timing with our table! Always there when we needed him but never had to wait for him! Wish I remembered his name, Thank you for a great anniversary lunch!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 11, 2017

Have eaten here a few times before when visiting Vancouver. Food was very good but seemed the fish portions were smaller.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 11, 2017

Freezing rain but still a wonderful outdoor experience! Service attentive and thoughtful without obsequious. Meal just sufficient and very tasty. A very safe recommend.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 4, 2017

Incredible experience dining at the sandbar last night. Great food, beautiful atmosphere and knowledgable staff.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 3, 2017

Very tasty seafood dishes, friendly and efficient service, beautiful view - great restaurant for lunch with friends or family!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

February 3, 2017

Great service and delicious food! Our server was friendly and kind. The food was great and came out fresh and hot. The view from the outside patio was beautiful!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 3, 2017

Very good service. Food was delicious. We were seated in the patio on a really cold day, but we didn't feel cold at all. Maybe a bit too warm actually.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 3, 2017

Great location. We have been to the Sandbar at least 4 times and were never let down. Food is always very good and staff is outstanding. Very good service, very friendly. The nice atmosphere, with the very good food and outstanding service make the Sandbar one of our favorite dine outs in the city.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 2, 2017

Had the dine out menu. Enjoyed the food and service. Food was served hot and tasty. Had the chowder, arctic char and chocolate cake. Service was good, eager to please.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 2, 2017

disappointed by the quality of the food for the dine out Vancouver festival 2017

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 4/5

February 1, 2017

Food was wonderful and servings a decent size. Services could not have been better - thank you Danielle. However, we find the wine by the glass prices to be very high. Fortunately we did not have enough time to stay longer so one small glass was sufficient.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 1, 2017

The service is excellent. The only thing that did not make this dinner experience perfect was a big group of 6-7 guys were placed beside us so we had to raise our voices to keep the conversation going.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 1, 2017

Buzzing atmosphere, went for the Dine Out so it was good value. Normal menu prices are quite steep. Service was average - nothing to complain about, nothing to rave about. I had the boulabaise and it was basically tomato soup ... reminded me of Campbell's ... but a tad better. I expect lots of seasoning, onions, zucchini, chunks of tomatoes, herbs, etc. Could do better with that. GF had the Arctic char, done pretty well, she liked it. Overall good for Dine Out, not sure if I'd return for a regular price menu dinner though.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 4/5

January 31, 2017

Great choices offered for Dine Out Vancouver 2017.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 29, 2017

The food and service were fantastic.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 26, 2017

Server was very nice...but dropped off my coffee and Irish Cream oops no spoon and never did get one even when I requested refill. one person got the wrong dish served. The food with exception of desert fell short for all 3 of us and this was not expected as I did go to the sandbar last year with same menu. Can't beat the patio...love the view and fireplace.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 4/5

January 26, 2017

Only reason for i lost star on atmosphere was loudness. But service and Ryan were wonderful to make up for it all. we will be back. Meal was absolutely wonderful. Cheers Bruce

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 24, 2017

What had great experience we had. Perfect for a date night . We enjoy our view on the balcony .

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 24, 2017

The food for adults were great; however, my 5 year old order the California Roll sushi isn't kid friendly. He complained the sushi was spicy and I had to order a kids cheese pizza for him.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

January 22, 2017

Lively ambiance, better for drinks with friends than with family. Quality of food has definitely declined. Service was okay, took a while to get our drink and meal orders. Probably won't be back.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 3/5

January 22, 2017

Overall a pleasant experience, will be back soon

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

January 21, 2017

Our server Grant made the evening that much more fun by being an interesting and engaging part of our evening - we had a great time!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Show more reviews

Appears in 3 Smart lists

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

Granville Island is the tourist hotspot in Vancouver; easy accessible from downtown, the bustling destination offers art galleries, boutique shopping, paddle boarding and kayaking adventures, and an expansive public market. So, why not combine your tour of the island with a visit to its most popular bistro? An upscale but still affordable restaurant, Sandbar offers stunning views of English Bay plus authentic seafood dishes like mussels, clams and prawns, all tasty and as fresh as can be.

View this Smart List
Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Ask for the right table on The Sandbar’s stunning wood patio, and you’ll get a great view of the fireworks from Granville Island. You’ll also enjoy fine seafood, excellent service, and imported and local wines in a casual, relaxed setting that lends itself to the other kind of fireworks – summer romance.

View this Smart List
Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Every year, I gather a group of friends and make a reservation for Sandbar on Granville Island to enjoy a lovely Dine Out experience. The cozy atmosphere, scenic waterfront views and consistently enjoyable seafood offerings make for a spectacular evening out with great company.

View this Smart List
Contact this merchant
Close menu
New!
×

Discover YP Dine! Your next great dining experience is just a tap away.

Subscribe to YP Newsletter