Meet the owner

Granville Island was once an island; actually, truth be told, it was a sandbar. So it seems appropriate that one of the city’s most popular eateries pays homage to Granville Island’s geographic past. Nestled under the Granville Street Bridge, The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant celebrates its industrial and fishing roots with an interior that is designed for warmth and casual elegance.

Part of the Sequoia Company of Restaurants, The Sandbar seats 350 guests across three levels in what was once a manufacturing building. The ground floor is home to an intimate sushi bar. Upstairs, the main dining room features nautical decor accents that offer a nod to West Coast style. “Suspended above the main bar is Kivi, a 24-foot salmon troller hand built by Allan Farrell, (one of the West Coast’s finest craftsman of wooden boats),” explains general manager John Hawkins. The second floor is also home to a private dining room (adjacent to a wine cellar that boasts a collection of more than 1000+ bottles), and a low-lit lounge. At night, the Teredo Lounge transforms into a trendy piano bar with an intimate vibe and live music. The third-floor heated patio, open year-round, is perhaps the most sought-after space in the restaurant. “At night under the stars, you can capture the most stunning cityscapes on the patio,” adds Hawkins.

Read the story of The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

Ratings & Reviews

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
  • Food: 3.6/5
  • Atmosphere: 4.3/5
  • Service: 3.6/5
Sort by:
Language:
Kailah K
By

Great location for a special occasion!

Recently had a family event here and it was great! We had a dedicated server to our party, which was great - it meant we never got ignored. The seafood here is very fresh and tastes wonderful! The fresh sheet has a great selection - highly recommend the sable fish (black cod) it was very good. The wine list is somewhat limited, but they have picked some of the best wines from BC, which is nice. The rooftop deck is one of the best in Vancouver! Just amazing to sit up there and watch the boats go by... highly recommend Sandbar for locals and tourists alike!

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

This restaurant is one of my favourite destinations on a sunny day. I prefer outside seating, which positions you directly below Granville Bridge. Great view, great food. Service is always friendly. We ordered: Eggs Benny bacon, toasted english muffin, hollandaise, roasted potatoes $12 Wild Salmon Burger grilled $15 The only dish which disappointed us was the red beat salad. It used to be my top item on their menu. Not sure what happened, however, portion was extremely small and taste was off.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the...

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the Granville bridge and overlooking the vista of blue, but the food is only average. Funny: all five of us, when given our menus, said the same thing: 'This is hard to look at!' They really should hire a good graphic artist and give it a makeover. Someone that charges more $ but does good work. Ask for a table upstairs.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
March 23, 2017

Fresh seafood, yummy desserts and the staffs with smile. Love the view and environment.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 21, 2017

Grant served us and was great. We'll definitely be back.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 21, 2017

Superb food and service. Delightful evening. Thank you! Definitely be back. Cheers Tom Bailey

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 19, 2017

Thank you so much for making our anniversary such a special night. The food was one of the best we've had out and about in Vancouver. Our waiter was amazing. Thank you Amy and Phil

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 18, 2017

Love this place!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 18, 2017

Our server was really great. Can't remember his name though. The steak I had was cooked perfectly and so was my wife's sable fish. Pretty decent evening overall.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 15, 2017

Great restaurant with a nice ambience for conducting business.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 12, 2017

Only comment is not enough table seatings for 4. I was told mostly are booth seatings for 4 which I personally don't fancy as I find it to be abit claustrophobic. Other than that everything else was good.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

March 12, 2017

Much thanks for our server Natasha.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 12, 2017

Great food, service and love music. We had a great time!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

March 12, 2017

Delicious food, attentive service (although our waiter missed on a couple minor points like bringing extra bread and bringing cold tea), and lovely heated deck. Always a pleasure.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

March 11, 2017

It was an amazing experience! The food was fresh, service is excellent, we will come again every time we visit Vancouver.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 10, 2017

Server was beyond great!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

March 11, 2017

We were a large group which has several people in it that tend to never be satisfied with something. I heard no complaints about the food or service-only rave reviews. For a diverse group of people to emerge from a dining experience with no complaints is a truly a momentous occasion. Great food and service-lots of choice on the menu.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 7, 2017

Great dinner on a busy Saturday evening and we enjoyed the live band too.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 5, 2017

Great service from our waiter Scott!! He always made sure we were doing okay with our meal and if we needed anything. Appies and Food were AMAZING!!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 5, 2017

Excellent service and delicious fresh fish. Best ahi tuna I've ever tasted! Will be back!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 5, 2017

Grrrreat !! Everything was wonderful. Waiter fun and efficient ! Manager visit good customer service. Thanks ! Great ending to my visit to Vancouver

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 3, 2017

We often dine at Sandbar, as it is a partner with the nearby Arts Club Theatre. We always enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, but also the recent return to cloth napkins! The service was efficient, accurate, and friendly, and the food imaginative and of great value. We also enjoy the spacious and "industrial" design of the restaurant space, as it is reflective of Granville Island as a whole, and also the position right under the Granville Bridge..

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 1, 2017

One of the best places to go in Vancouver ! We had such a great meal on Saturday night we went back Monday to try lunch and it was really good as well. Awesome service

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 27, 2017

Our server Dykan was great. Friendly, without being overly effusive. Thank you

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 25, 2017

The group enjoyed our individual food choices, I would like to mention our server Dylan, he was very attentive to every single one of us ,considering we are a group of 15 people. He was very methodical and organize in the way he took our orders, as well as sorting out everybody's bill, I have been here before but the rest of the group this was their first time in the restaurant, I'm pleased that everybody loved the place, the food and from the group Dylan was an exceptional server. You are very blessed to have someone like Dylan who is execellent in what he does.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 26, 2017

It was nice to be outside in February, but the table was very small for three of us and we had reserved for four. Appreciated the birthday cheesecake for our son.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

February 24, 2017

all would have to so perfect - just way to cold and current cold air upstairs (not on the patio but inside ) next time either Patio or first floor

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 23, 2017

Thank you for a great evening spent celebrating my sister's 40th birthday with 25 of her closest friends. Great food and great service!!!! Always lovely, never disappointing at Sandbar <3

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 22, 2017

Always love the Sandbar. My friends and I invariably eat there prior to attending our play at the Arts Club. Love the discount, the food, the service.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 18, 2017

Great night :) 😃🎉

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

February 18, 2017

Amazing night out with my friends and family, food was gorgeous and service was incredible. Would definitely recommend and will be back for sure!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 17, 2017

It was our 9th wedding anniversary and we had an amazing dinner. Great food, atmosphere, service and view.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 16, 2017

Tasty food but more attention should be given to serving it warm... serving barely tepid broccolini can easily be avoided... Good service and friendly staff.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Appears in 8 Smart lists

Editor’s Pick
9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

Granville Island is the tourist hotspot in Vancouver; easy accessible from downtown, the bustling destination offers art galleries, boutique shopping, paddle boarding and kayaking adventures, and an expansive public market. So, why not combine your tour of the island with a visit to its most popular bistro? An upscale but still affordable restaurant, Sandbar offers stunning views of English Bay plus authentic seafood dishes like mussels, clams and prawns, all tasty and as fresh as can be.

View this Smart List
Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Ask for the right table on The Sandbar’s stunning wood patio, and you’ll get a great view of the fireworks from Granville Island. You’ll also enjoy fine seafood, excellent service, and imported and local wines in a casual, relaxed setting that lends itself to the other kind of fireworks – summer romance.

View this Smart List
Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Every year, I gather a group of friends and make a reservation for Sandbar on Granville Island to enjoy a lovely Dine Out experience. The cozy atmosphere, scenic waterfront views and consistently enjoyable seafood offerings make for a spectacular evening out with great company.

View this Smart List
Contact this merchant
Close menu
New!
×

Discover YP Dine! Your next great dining experience is just a tap away.

Subscribe to YP Newsletter