The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

1535 Johnston St, Vancouver, BC V6H 3R9
The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant on Granville Island is a 300-seat fresh seafood and fish restaurant in the heart of Vancouver's world-famous Granville Island, perched over the waterfront with views from every seat. Guests can enjoy the bustle of the market, the non-stop energy of False Creek and the shores of Vancouver's West End. Walk up the wood post staircase, the only item that was salvaged from the historic Mulvaney's Restaurant site, and elevate your view of the city waterfront. The busy animated open kitchen gives the guest that "Granville Island Market feeling" plus an up-close look at the chefs as they prepare their seafood creations. The Sandbar serves up the freshest seafood in a warm, sophisticated atmosphere. Suspended above the bar in the Teredo Lounge is Kivi, a 24 foot salmon troller hand built by Allan Farrell, one of the West Coast's finest craftsman of wooden boats. Fresh oyster bar, tapas, Hoshi's Sushi Bar, dinner and dancing. more...
  • SMS

Ratings & Reviews

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
  • Food: 3.5/5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5/5
  • Service: 3.5/5
Sort by:
Language:
Kailah K
By

Great location for a special occasion!

Recently had a family event here and it was great! We had a dedicated server to our party, which was great - it meant we never got ignored. The seafood here is very fresh and tastes wonderful! The fresh sheet has a great selection - highly recommend the sable fish (black cod) it was very good. The wine list is somewhat limited, but they have picked some of the best wines from BC, which is nice. The rooftop deck is one of the best in Vancouver! Just amazing to sit up there and watch the boats go by... highly recommend Sandbar for locals and tourists alike!

Business owner? Respond
Restaurantica12
By

This restaurant is one of my favourite destinations on a sunny day. I prefer outside seating, which positions you directly below Granville Bridge. Great view, great food. Service is always friendly. We ordered: Eggs Benny bacon, toasted english muffin, hollandaise, roasted potatoes $12 Wild Salmon Burger grilled $15 The only dish which disappointed us was the red beat salad. It used to be my top item on their menu. Not sure what happened, however, portion was extremely small and taste was off.

Business owner? Respond
Restaurantica12
By

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the...

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the Granville bridge and overlooking the vista of blue, but the food is only average. Funny: all five of us, when given our menus, said the same thing: 'This is hard to look at!' They really should hire a good graphic artist and give it a makeover. Someone that charges more $ but does good work. Ask for a table upstairs.

Business owner? Respond
August 27, 2016

The only drawback I would mention about our experience is that we found the place too noisy. I guess it was because it was a Friday night, so many people and music too loud. Other than that, I would rate The Sandbar with the maximum. Apart from the noise, the atmosphere was lovely, the light, the decoration. The staff and the service were faultless, great manners, 100% courtesy without overwhelming or insistent attention, the food was served on a perfect timing and the quality is awesome. We'll go back for sure. Thanks!!

Ambiance: 3/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 26, 2016

Fun evening very good waiter Demitrios. I thought the food was very good and the service was excellent👍🏼

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 25, 2016

The Bedt crab cakes I ever had hands down

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 25, 2016

Enjoyed it all

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

August 25, 2016

We had a most pleasant evening at the Sandbar Restaurant . The food was great and the service was excellant. we hope to return soon for another great meal. Thank You.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 23, 2016

I found it got very noisy at the end of our dinner.

Ambiance: 3/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

August 23, 2016

Love it!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 23, 2016

This was my wife and I's first visit to the Sandbar. A co-worker recommended that we check this place out since we were looking for a nice spot on Granville Island where we could enjoy a nice meal with a view. Our server Ryan was great! He was kind, patient and professional. When we were ready to pay and leave we waited a little over 10 minutes but, this was not Ryan's fault as he was super busy and I could tell people were trying to get his attention both left and right as he was trying to approach us. Big thanks to Ryan! We will be returning in the future!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 22, 2016

This was an amazing experience the tuna was delicious , we shrimp cocktail and wok squid, both excellent the service is impeccable. It is a must if you visit Vancouver !

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 21, 2016

Good birthday dinner for my daughter

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 21, 2016

Excellent service and food - best crab cakes in the city!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 21, 2016

Crazy expensive for what we received ($39 for very small serving of prawns& scallops). Service and location are great but prices for some items are totally out of line and for that reason we likely won't be back even though we live nearby.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

August 20, 2016

Great food and service. What else do you want?

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 19, 2016

sablefish great. Sandbarge good. swordfish overcooked.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

August 19, 2016

Great night awesome service

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

August 13, 2016

Saloon very noisy and dark

Ambiance: 2/5

Service: 3/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 13, 2016

The food was all very tasty, but we thought the appetizers & wine were overpriced, while the entree's seemed reasonable compared to other eateries. The atmosphere was quite noisy, making it very hard to hear the other end of the table, with a party of 6, plus the waitress was quite soft-spoken, so she couldn't be heard when talking about the menu, etc.

Ambiance: 3/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

August 6, 2016

Great food, great service but quite noisy given the big number of guest as this is quite a large restaurant. We would recommend to others but would be good to improve the acoustics.

Ambiance: 3/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 5, 2016

Excellent food at a reasonable price. We got a patio position which was great.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 4, 2016

The restaurant was very busy and therefore a bit loud for our liking. We're under 35 but don't mind something a little less loud. Our waitress was great overall but we had to ask for water twice and it would have been nice to have our water refilled at the end of our meal as we waited. Maybe send the bus boys and girls around to fill people's water? The food was delicious and rich ocean fare. A bit too pricey but great for a special night out.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

August 3, 2016

Fabulous experience. Food was exceptional and service was very attentive. The ambience was very outstanding - a true Vancouver top-notch restaurant. Thank you for providing such a lovely experience for my out of town guests.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

August 3, 2016

Poor dishes, fresh ingredients but badly used. Over priced as well.

Ambiance: 3/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 2/5

August 2, 2016

This was my husbands first time and it was great! Nice window table - food was great as always (I've been many many times) and service was awesome!! We will be back!!

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

July 29, 2016

Great place to soak in the sun, the view of the water, and enjoy delicious seafood. Service was great and the restaurant was quite busy so it was very loud, but as expected with many patrons dining.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

July 28, 2016

Waitress was very attentive and friendly. The young man in his chef's uniform who brought our food was quite abrupt when placing my husband's main course down. As well, the man who came to pick up our plates when we finished was extremely rude in the sense that he banged all the dishes together like he's in a rush and wanted to get out of there ASAP. My husband and I was taken aback because we weren't expecting such behaviors from a so call above average restaurant. Food was good but service needs a lot of improvements.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 2/5

Cuisine: 4/5

July 25, 2016

grew up in Van & moved to Edmonton but try to come to Sandbar whenever I come to Van. Took my girlfriend there for her 1st time. Went to the Adele concert right after and was a wonderful evening. we both had the daily fresh salmon & loved it. I had the spicy salmon with Guac and it was amazing.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

July 25, 2016

Food and service were great however it was really loud in the restaurant.

Ambiance: 3/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

July 24, 2016

A great place to celebrate and make memories. One of my all time Vancouver favourites!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

July 23, 2016

Benny is the best!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

July 18, 2016

Everything is really nice!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Show more reviews

Opening Hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday

Appears in 3 local lists

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

Granville Island is the tourist hotspot in Vancouver; easy accessible from downtown, the bustling destination offers art galleries, boutique shopping, paddle boarding and kayaking adventures, and an expansive public market. So, why not combine your tour of the island with a visit to its most popular bistro? An upscale but still affordable restaurant, Sandbar offers stunning views of English Bay plus authentic seafood dishes like mussels, clams and prawns, all tasty and as fresh as can be.

Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Ask for the right table on The Sandbar’s stunning wood patio, and you’ll get a great view of the fireworks from Granville Island. You’ll also enjoy fine seafood, excellent service, and imported and local wines in a casual, relaxed setting that lends itself to the other kind of fireworks – summer romance.

Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Every year, I gather a group of friends and make a reservation for Sandbar on Granville Island to enjoy a lovely Dine Out experience. The cozy atmosphere, scenic waterfront views and consistently enjoyable seafood offerings make for a spectacular evening out with great company.

Business Details