Meet the owner

Granville Island was once an island; actually, truth be told, it was a sandbar. So it seems appropriate that one of the city’s most popular eateries pays homage to Granville Island’s geographic past. Nestled under the Granville Street Bridge, The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant celebrates its industrial and fishing roots with an interior that is designed for warmth and casual elegance.

Part of the Sequoia Company of Restaurants, The Sandbar seats 350 guests across three levels in what was once a manufacturing building. The ground floor is home to an intimate sushi bar. Upstairs, the main dining room features nautical decor accents that offer a nod to West Coast style. “Suspended above the main bar is Kivi, a 24-foot salmon troller hand built by Allan Farrell, (one of the West Coast’s finest craftsman of wooden boats),” explains general manager John Hawkins. The second floor is also home to a private dining room (adjacent to a wine cellar that boasts a collection of more than 1000+ bottles), and a low-lit lounge. At night, the Teredo Lounge transforms into a trendy piano bar with an intimate vibe and live music. The third-floor heated patio, open year-round, is perhaps the most sought-after space in the restaurant. “At night under the stars, you can capture the most stunning cityscapes on the patio,” adds Hawkins.

Read the story of The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

Ratings & Reviews

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
  • Food: 3.6/5
  • Atmosphere: 4.3/5
  • Service: 3.6/5
Sort by:
Language:
Kailah K
By

Great location for a special occasion!

Recently had a family event here and it was great! We had a dedicated server to our party, which was great - it meant we never got ignored. The seafood here is very fresh and tastes wonderful! The fresh sheet has a great selection - highly recommend the sable fish (black cod) it was very good. The wine list is somewhat limited, but they have picked some of the best wines from BC, which is nice. The rooftop deck is one of the best in Vancouver! Just amazing to sit up there and watch the boats go by... highly recommend Sandbar for locals and tourists alike!

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

This restaurant is one of my favourite destinations on a sunny day. I prefer outside seating, which positions you directly below Granville Bridge. Great view, great food. Service is always friendly. We ordered: Eggs Benny bacon, toasted english muffin, hollandaise, roasted potatoes $12 Wild Salmon Burger grilled $15 The only dish which disappointed us was the red beat salad. It used to be my top item on their menu. Not sure what happened, however, portion was extremely small and taste was off.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the...

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the Granville bridge and overlooking the vista of blue, but the food is only average. Funny: all five of us, when given our menus, said the same thing: 'This is hard to look at!' They really should hire a good graphic artist and give it a makeover. Someone that charges more $ but does good work. Ask for a table upstairs.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
December 5, 2016

We had a lovely evening - excellent food, great service, lovely atmosphere. We will definitely return to the Sandbar and recommend it to others.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 4, 2016

Food was good. I had the Calamari and my wife had the Arctic Char. Service was initially slow but our waiter catered to the fact that we were attending the theatre right after. Our reservation was for 6:30 and the theatre was at 8 and everything worked out perfectly. They also honoured the 15% discount awarded to patrons who show their theatre tickets. Great Date Night!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

December 1, 2016

Service (Tom) was excellent. Food was good. We had salmon, but it was not a $38 meal in our opinion, but it was a very nice restaurant and the rest of the staff was great.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 5/5

December 1, 2016

Waiter Tim was very personable and engaging. Food was delicious/ I had the seafood hot pot and it was excellent We will definitely be back!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 30, 2016

Amazing evening on the patio.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 29, 2016

Great view but cold and drafty with poor service. Sat in a corner seat with a table that was too low for the chairs. My legs could not fit under the table. Food (fish tacos) was okay but pretty bland. Fish tacos need to have a little zip and an 1/8 slice of lime doesn't cut it. The server was slow (there were very few people in the restaurant) but nonetheless she was so slow we almost missed our theater date.. Food was over priced in my opinion. We spent ?$100 on two entrees (fish tacos) with a first plate, desert and a 1/2 bottle of wine.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 3/5

November 29, 2016

A perfect meal by the fire with family overlooking an exquisite view under a starlit sky feeling fresh air wafting around us. What could possibly be better than this?

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 28, 2016

Dmitri our server, was particularly pleasant , n v helpful... Also the reception/front desk staff were welcoming and made us feel at ease... Def a Thumbs Up for your team and restaurant.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

November 29, 2016

Excellent food. tastefully presented. The service was a little 'spotty' at times.Overall v good.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

November 27, 2016

So amazing! What a fabulous experience. Delicious food, everything we had was fantastic! We will definitely be back soon!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 24, 2016

Very good overall, try the Raspberry Collins instead of the Prawn Bloody Mary.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

November 24, 2016

The upstairs patio by a fireplace is one of my favourite places in Vancouver. The weather outside may be frightening but you'll be cozy and warm and toasty by the fireplace in this special restaurant. Great place if it's a dark and rainy nite. Pour the wine and enjoy their delicious food. Service was excellent!!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 23, 2016

The food was really good, but they got the order a bit mixed up. My friend's meal was cold. The waiter was not very warm or accommodating. The Manager was good when we gave him feedback about the meal. I would come back again.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 2/5

November 23, 2016

It was a great night. My husband took me there for my birthday and the restaurant even prepared a birthday card for me! How sweet of them. The hostess nicely offered to change our seat to the window after we sat down for a few minutes. The service was great too. I sometimes don't like how often the server checked on us but he was just great! Will definitely go back:)

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 24, 2016

Dinner to celebrate a family birthday. Have been there before and not disappointed by the food preparation. Somewhat expensive but what do you expect these days in a top restaurant.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

November 22, 2016

We were greeted by a very outgoing host who seated us near the fire place the atmosphere was great for our family dinner. It was a great dinner and the service was great! We always enjoy our family dinners here and their other restaurants.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

November 21, 2016

We were out to dinner before a play on Granville Island. Everything was delicious. The only thing negative was I felt the appetizers are a little pricey but I guess that goes along with the $$$ menu.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 11, 2016

It was perfect, except the steak which wasnt tender. Can happen! Will go again for granted

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

November 11, 2016

Glorious food, great service, incredible views of the water and the city and, of course, the inimitable Kelly on the piano creating a one-of-a-kind atmosphere. One of my favourite places in the city to eat.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 8, 2016

Service was fast and friendly. Our server was attentive but gave us our privacy. The food was well prepared and delicious. Great dinning experience.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 6, 2016

Great location, great food and great service. Will definitely be back when in Vancouver.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 5, 2016

Thank you very much for making my special day even more special! I was really honestly very pleasantly surprised by the amount of effort and time you dedicated to my special day. You booked a table right beside the fireplace for us! We enjoyed it! You gave me a very nice card! You brought our desert with a beautifully made 'Happy Birthday' piece of chocolate on it! Way to go Team! We'll be back and we'll recommend the Sandbar to our friends and visitors. Best, Sadika

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 4, 2016

The fresh seafood was amazeballz and the sushi was best sushi ive ever had. And our waiter tommy was a straight gangster Thanks for an awesome night

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 31, 2016

The only negative comment would be that the wine is more expensive than most restaurants. $20 for a 9 ounce glass of red wine is outrageous!

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

October 30, 2016

Was very pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. I've been to their sister restaurants in the same group and each time went away thinking those dinners were good, but not great. However, the food at Sandbar was excellent. The skin on my Arctic Char was crispy. I love it when the skin of fish comes crispy and completely edible. The coconut rice was so good that I couldn't stop eating it. The vegetables were very flavorful and perfectly cooked. The black cod and halibut at our table was also reported to be superb. And don't miss the truffle fries! I didn't give service 5 starts because although our server was very good, we had to wait quite a while before any water was poured after sitting down. But after that service picked up.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

October 30, 2016

Excellent service, pleasant atmosphere, not too noisy

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 5/5

October 30, 2016

Food was delicious, steak was well prepared, and fish was delicious, however, small portions for the cost. Loved the esthetic of building and the great views.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

October 31, 2016

So I went with a good friend and we had four of your appetizers. The fries were horrible and wet and under cooked. The crab cakes were terribly over priced which I was okay with because I had great expectations. Dry and hard not so great. The Chinese shrimp dumplings were good I assume make out of house. The oysters were little bullets with virtually no flavour. Sorry but you asked. After my experience I would not go again. 😬 Hype was not worth the visit.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 2/5

October 28, 2016

We had a most enjoyable lunch great food and a most pleasant atmosphere. We are looking forward to a return visit very soon. Thank you so much. Jack

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 27, 2016

I love going to the sandbar with a large group because the servers know how to separate the bill to the cent!!! Bring back the shrimp though ::)) YOU should also serve Strange Fellows beer too. A very good representation of VANCOUVER.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 5/5

Show more reviews

Appears in 3 local lists

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

Granville Island is the tourist hotspot in Vancouver; easy accessible from downtown, the bustling destination offers art galleries, boutique shopping, paddle boarding and kayaking adventures, and an expansive public market. So, why not combine your tour of the island with a visit to its most popular bistro? An upscale but still affordable restaurant, Sandbar offers stunning views of English Bay plus authentic seafood dishes like mussels, clams and prawns, all tasty and as fresh as can be.

View this Smart List
Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Ask for the right table on The Sandbar’s stunning wood patio, and you’ll get a great view of the fireworks from Granville Island. You’ll also enjoy fine seafood, excellent service, and imported and local wines in a casual, relaxed setting that lends itself to the other kind of fireworks – summer romance.

View this Smart List
Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Alicia Fashionista’s top picks for Dine Out Vancouver 2016

Every year, I gather a group of friends and make a reservation for Sandbar on Granville Island to enjoy a lovely Dine Out experience. The cozy atmosphere, scenic waterfront views and consistently enjoyable seafood offerings make for a spectacular evening out with great company.

View this Smart List
Contact this merchant
Close menu
Subscribe to YP Newsletter