Spinnakers Brewpub & Guest House Restaurantopen

308 Catherine St, Victoria, BC V9A 3S8
Island Made. Although known for pioneering the craft beer industry and paving the way for modern day brewpubs in Canada, Spinnakers has always believed that the measure of a good pub is in its ability to serve a good meal along with a good pint.
  • SMS

Ratings & Reviews

Do you know this business?

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

  • Atmosphere: 3/5
  • Food: 4/5
  • Service: 3/5
Glend1
By

Great food, woudln't mind more variety

Great atmosphere, love the view, wouldn't mind a few more meny options though.... I have been there a few times never disapointed but always have difficulty making my decisions.

Business owner? Respond
June 24, 2016

I was a great experience, in all aspects! And the beer was good as well (of course)!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 22, 2016

My friends ordered the pulled pork nachos and they were served cold. Rather than complain and wait they ate them anyway. That was unfortunate.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 3/5

June 21, 2016

Our friends from Ontario and Alberta (2 couples) all immensely enjoyed the food, excellent service from our waitress, Anne, the window view, and especially the food and beer! (Did I already mention the food???) We had a great visit and will definitely come to Spinnakers again soon.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 18, 2016

Expensive fish and chips. Disappointingly small piece of halibut which was a little on the cold side but good portion of fresh fries.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

June 13, 2016

Very enjoyable.excellent water view. Very friendly service. Great food, drinks and wide selection of beers. Definitely recommend.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

June 12, 2016

We were seated promptly and the staff was sensitive to the fact that we were high school friends meeting for the first time after 54 years. They gave us our drinks, then waited patiently to take our orders while we reminisced about our high school years. Our server obliged us by taking us on to the patio and taking our picture. An enjoyable meeting and meal.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

May 28, 2016

Service was exellent and food was good - I was a bit disappointed that the two dishes I was most interested in - cioppino and paneer were not available and I didn't love the duck I had instead...but it was fine. Service was the star of the evening. will def be back.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

May 26, 2016

I found the fries, or chips to be too crispy and not very soft on the inside. Other than that I would have given 5 stars. The sauce tartar was wonderful as too, the ketchup. The slaw was an interesting combination of culinary herbs and dressing flavours. Enjoyed also. The fish was done to a turn. Sometimes that's difficult to judge, salmon correctly cooked. Lastly we enjoyed our evening very much. The Extra Special Bitter and wine served, accompanying the meal were very much enjoyed. Thanks for a pleasant evening!

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

May 23, 2016

We enjoyed a tremendous dinner and breakfast at Spinnaker's. Service, food, and ambience were all top notch. I wish the person who checked us in to our room had reminded us that breakfast was included in our hotel reservation, as I did not find vouchers for the complimentary breakfast until I was unpacking days later. That will teach ME to be more alert.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

May 23, 2016

Prompt friendly service and efficient reservation system. The food and drink was, as usual, first rate.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

May 3, 2016

great service and food

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

April 30, 2016

Very nice! Our server was exceptional! (Australian Lady). The beer and food were very good as well.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

April 30, 2016

Excellent service. Good product knowledge Food was superb.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

April 10, 2016

Service slow to see to us, but once started great, fun and clever. Very busy night, so top marks for service and atmosphere.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 3/5

April 4, 2016

Lovely waitress and service. Some of,our party needed to sit downstairs as they had children, so would have been better to have all been downstairs, but that was our mistake. Bride and groom were able to come from Coast hotel by water ferry which was lovely. Pub quite noisy and lively but fun. food and beer were great.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

April 3, 2016

We sat on the patio and although it was windy, it is a great spot. We had a delicious lunch and sat there for a long time as we were catching up with an out of town friend. It was delightful.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

March 2, 2016

Our meal was excellent overall. The only reason I gave 4 stars was I found the chips a bit too salty. Mussels were awesome, but it would have been nice to have a bit more bread-3 little thin rounds was not enough. Lovely waitress, fabulous location.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

February 26, 2016

We were visiting from Ottawa and took friends to lunch at a favourite restaurant. We are very familiar with Spinnakers from previous trips to see family in Victoria. As always, it was a very satisfactory event.

Ambiance: 1/5

Service: 1/5

Cuisine: 1/5

February 16, 2016

We had a fabulous Valentine's Day dinner! Everything was great, from the service, to the drinks, to the food. This was our first visit to Spinnaker's and we will definitely be back. It was a very memorable evening, thanks!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

January 17, 2016

Our waitress was really helpful and friendly, however she wasn't always available if we ha. A question or concern. However, our meal was amazing as well as pur dessert. Great environment, loud, but very happy.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

December 31, 2015

We had not asked for it, but it was very nice to be seated by the (real) fireplace on a crisp Winter evening. After dinner we went upstairs to the pub and enjoyed live music being played by a Celtic Band. Our waiter in the pub was a bit rushed and it took a while to get our drinks and then (later) to attract her attention again to get our bill. Overall, a very enjoyable evening.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

December 30, 2015

Food tasted great, a little cold because they were very busy. Had a reservation but had to wait an extra 20 minutes because there were no tables available. Would still recommend you eat here

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

December 12, 2015

Food was fantastic and the gift shop is my new favourite!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

November 29, 2015

I had a large gathering at Spinnakers brewpub, a celebration of my book being published. The management and staff of Spinnakers were absolutely terrific, and the evening was a success. Everyone who attended had a great time, and they told me they really enjoyed the atmosphere and great food & beer. Many thanks to Spinnakers staff. I give this place my highest recommendations.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

November 19, 2015

I've been for lunch many times before and have never been disappointed!

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

November 5, 2015

Wayne was a great server. Our group enjoyed the restaurant very much.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

October 28, 2015

Lovely time! Tips for serving families with toddlers; plastic cups for the little ones, and being very quick with the bill at the end are details that are very helpful to parents! We always have a good time at Spinnakers, however.

Ambiance: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

October 26, 2015

it was EXCELLENT. The beer tasting host was amazing - the food was amazing and the service was above and beyond. Thank you so very much.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

October 22, 2015

Best seat in the house. Interesting menu. Excellent food and service.

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

September 13, 2015

In this visit, we had friends from the US who were visiting Victoria for the 1st time. They were very impressed, they loved the setting, the view and they were very happy with the service and the food as we were. What more can one want?

Ambiance: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Opening Hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday

Appears in 3 local lists

High-flying hotel bars in Victoria

High-flying hotel bars in Victoria»

Don’t expect to find any imports here: The beer doesn’t travel that far. In fact, it’s brewed right on site. So grab a Lion’s Head Cascadia Dark Ale, take a seat and enjoy the waterfront view. Make sure you’ve built up an appetite, too: The chef here is all about local ingredients, and from the local water shrimp melt to the Cache Creek beef flank steak, the BC flavour is apparent in every bite.

The messiest, juiciest burgers in Victoria

The messiest, juiciest burgers in Victoria»

Although they only have three burgers on their menu, Victoria’s only gastro brewpub has spent a lot of time perfecting them. Their vegetarian BC Beet & Lentil Burger featuring spicy sprouts, malt vinegar pickled cabbage, and tzatziki rivals their meaty Brewpub Burger. And don’t even get us started on the Braised Pulled Pork Sandwich with Cascadia dark ale BBQ sauce and aioli – we’re drooling just thinking about it! Grab yourself one of their own superb craft beers and just try to decide between the three. We dare you.

Scenic patios with waterfront views in Victoria

Scenic patios with waterfront views in Victoria»

Nestled along the waterfront in the quiet neighbourhood of Vic West, Spinnakers plays host to one of the most tranquil seaside patios in the city. With a plum vantage point along the Westsong Walkway, this patio serves up picturesque harbour views, as well a tasty menu that prides itself on the freshest local ingredients. Watch the float planes land in the Inner Harbour as you dine on everything from fish and chips and brick oven pizzas, to hazelnut pâté and mutton burgers.

Business Details

Methods of Payment

Rates

  • $11 To $25

Restaurant type

  • Pub

Cuisine type

  • Californian

Features

  • Restaurant With Wifi Internet
  • Restaurant With Terrace

Languages Spoken

  • English

Directory