Safari Bar&Grill IncOpen

1749 Avenue Rd, North York, ON M5M 3Y8
One of North Toronto's favourite neighbourhood bar and restaurants, Safari has earned a reputation for great food in a casual atmosphere. Their strength lies in the kitchen, preparing every item on the menu including all signature sauces, dressings and desserts in house, sourcing fresh available local ingredients. They take pride in offering a unique blend of food, wine and specialty beers to be enjoyed in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Since opening in 1995, their goal has always been to offer hospitality in addition to friendly efficient service. Safari is comprised of a main floor restaurant, second floor billiard room and lounge, and boasts one of North Toronto's largest heated outdoor patios. Safari also specializes in private and corporate functions of any size. more...
  • SMS

Ratings & Reviews

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
    Sort by:
    Language:
    Caligirl
    By

    Very nice restaurant with delicious food and friendly service, excellent wine selection with many bottles from California.

    Business owner? Respond
    Steinburg
    By

    Nice neighbourhood spot

    Safari has excellent food, although it is very casual the kitchen could be fine dinning when it comes to their specials. I recently had a Rack of Lamb and it was superb, my wife had the Market fish a which was Seabream, we started with Naked Thai Shrimp, very tasty. The wine list is outstanding with over 150 selections, very surprising for a casual local's hangout. Over all, very impressed.

    Business owner? Respond
    Restaurantica12
    By

    A Fun and Tasty Place

    I recently visited Safari with my 3 friends and we had a great time. Each one of us enjoyed our meal, listened to good music, and then went upstairs to play pool. The place had a very cozy and welcoming atmosphere. I had the "Linguine Del Mare" which was a very delicious seafood dish with pasta. Overall, we had a great time and will be going back soon.

    Business owner? Respond
    Restaurantica12
    By

    So much fun

    Went here for a friend's birthday party, we had dinner then went upstairs for pool and drinks. It turned into a dance party, they have an awesome sound system and the bartender let me plug in my iPod and play what ever I wanted, was so much fun, we all had a blast, bartender (Jamie) was the best, was dancing along with us and even turned on a disco/mirror ball! They even have ping pong as well as pool, we loved it

    Business owner? Respond
    Restaurantica12
    By

    HORRIBLE PLACE

    This place was horrible. The food was disgusting and the waitress charged me for a drink that I returned without drinking. At the end of the night, they had my credit card on a tab and they returned it back to the WRONG person. How can you give it to the wrong person! When I asked if I could be refunded the amount or be given a discount because of the hassle I had to go through to get a new credit card, I was told by the Manager that he couldn't help me at all. The manager was horrible and walked away without helping. BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE - DO NOT GO THERE. They do NOT know how to run a business and be helpful to customers after they make mistakes.

    Business owner? Respond
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Winterlicious 2012

    We've been to Safari numerous times in the past, and have yet to be surprised that this place hasn't received all the accolade it deserves. My fiance and I went for dinner tonight and ordered the following items from the Winterlicious menu: Appetizers: Butternut Squash Soup & Vegetable Spring Rolls Entrees: Char-Broiled Beef Medallions with Potatoes and Spinach (x2) Dessert: Apple Streudel and Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Sandwich The food was, as usual, exceptional. I wasn't too crazy about the soup (it needed a little bit of salt) but the balsamic reduction and leeks definitely upgraded it. My fiance's rolls were good, but he was put off by the cilantro (not a huge fan). The entrees were amazing and we basically cleaned our plates. As were the desserts. Our server was amazing and the atmosphere and staff were friendly and warm, which has been the custom. They also make awesome drinks (order the Caesar!) and their wine list is pretty stellar. GO GO GO!

    Business owner? Respond
    Jennifer T
    By

    Funky Atmosphere - Great Food

    Safari has one of the best patios in Toronto! The food is consistently fresh & delicious and the staff is very friendly. Great place for a date or to book a party for a special occasion.

    Business owner? Respond
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Delicious food!

    Had the coconut curry with my cousin here for dinner yesterday – it was awesome! I didn’t expect it to be so delicious but they did a really good job on it. I added the chicken for a few dollars extra and it went really well with the dish. My cousin chose the prime steak burger and she really enjoyed it. Great location and our server was pretty friendly also. Well done!

    Business owner? Respond
    Restaurantica12
    By

    The USDA is PRIME!

    Me and the wife went to Safari after a 2 year absence after our twins were born. We persuaded the outlaws to look after our bandits cause we definitely needed a night out! Wanting to stay close to home, we went to Safari which was a regular hang out for me prior to starting our family. place looks the same, like a comfortable sweatshirt, could use a little updating, but still is friendly and local as ever. I had the New York Steak and it was awesome, as good as any high end steak house in the City, my wife went with the chicken wrap and said that it was as good as she remembered and our friends had the fish special and pizza, both enjoyed their meals. We went upstairs after to play pool and ran into a bunch of neighbourhood friends, had a great time, drank too much! Still a great place, was nice to see it busy and going strong.

    Business owner? Respond
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Winterlicious 2011

    We have visited Safari after a friend highly recommended it, and were entirely thrilled with the experience. Much to our delight, we discovered that they were also taking part in Winterlicious 2011. We booked a table only a few hours before dinnertime (on Superbowl Sunday no less) and were greeted warmly and given our own table for two in a nice quiet corner, with softly lit candles around us. Our waitress was very warm and friendly and took care of us for the short time we were there (only an hour and a half). Our Caesars were DELICIOUS! We ordered the plum tomato salad and the Caesar salad as our starters, which were fairly nice. The real delight came with the entrees (steak and chicken supreme) ... OH. MY. GOODNESS. They were amazing. Goat cheese + chicken = HEAVEN! We ate everything on our plates. The dessert was amazing as well : ice cream and homemade butter tart. The ambience is amazing. I love, love, LOVE this place!!!

    Business owner? Respond
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Friends ordered the Eggs Benedict and Big Diner choices. I heard they were excellent. The fresh warm banana bread came in three thick slabs with cinnamon cream cheese and raspberry compote. Very yummy, but a lot of banana bread. The fresh fruit that came with was very tasty, but a bit heavy on honeydew melon. The environment was pretty dark, and after our orders were received and delivered, we didn't get much attention. I guess the wait staff felt we were busy talking and didn't want to interrupt, but when a couple of us asked for hot beverages, I think she should have taken the opportunity to ask the others who hadn't ordered one if they were interested as well. It wasn't busy, which was nice, since we were free to stay as long as we wanted.

    Business owner? Respond
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Excellent

    I don't normally take the time to do things like write a review of a restaurant but this place needs some recognition, because the food is excellent. I have driven past this place a million times and thought that we should finally give it a try. From the exterior it looks like a regular pub or roadhouse but it actually is so much more, who would have known that Safari has a Wine Spectator Award for it's unbelievable wine list. We had a bottle of Seghesio Zinfandel 2007, this wine is impossible to find and there it was along with a bunch of other iconic wines, total sleeper! All 4 of us agreed that the quality of the food is comparable to any of the "top rated" restaurants in the city but at half the price. I truly was impressed and will be back, just sorry it took us so long to try it.

    Business owner? Respond
    Restaurantica12
    By

    What A Find!

    My boyfriend and I went here on a co-worker's suggestion, and we were not disappointed. The decor was really cute, what with faux-animal fur covers on the seats, brown bricks and indigenous-inspired artwork. While the service was a little off that day (I blame it on the bustling patio), I wasn't completely thrown off. The food was DELICIOUS. My biggest complaint might have to be the wait time. We both ordered wraps and salad and the wait was approx 35 minutes. A little ridiculous, but thankfully drinks and conversation were flowing. I would definitely head back there.

    Business owner? Respond
    August 21, 2016

    Thanks!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    July 25, 2016

    It seemed a little hectic but the food was tasty. Summerlicious menu. Dessert was too sweet.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Service: 3/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    July 24, 2016

    Excellent summerliciouc dinner. Definitely will return.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    July 23, 2016

    Had the mussels - great sauce but mussels overcooked - just got back from France where each time I had them the cook was perfect. Desser tart pastry too thick. Steak with fries was great.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Service: 3/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    July 16, 2016

    Very pleased overall. Food and portions wee excellent. Will be going back to this restaurant.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    June 30, 2016

    Service was fast and smart. Rachelle was amazing. Although there was another event happening next to us it did not seem to bother anyone in our crowd. The noise level was very loud and you had to shout to be heard. A good time was had by all.It was the right crowd matched with the right venue.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    June 27, 2016

    We had a group reservation for 35 Moms celebrating their kids graduation. All the feedback was very positive. Alexandra was a super nice and efficient server. Jen was great tending bar and the food was excellent as it always is at Safari. That's why we booked there - good food and good service ! A great event had by all! Thanks so much.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    June 26, 2016

    Made a reservation for 11 people. Was asked to confirm the reservation in advance and did. Arrived at the restaurant and my group was sent up and down the stairs twice before being sent back up a third time where we were tucked away into a dark corner because our reservation was somehow missed. Service was almost non-existent because of the large birthday party that took the staff's attention away from our group. Not the most memorable experience for my brother's bachelor party dinner! Thankfully the food was delicious.

    Ambiance: 1/5

    Service: 1/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    June 6, 2016

    Safari was great! Didn't know what to expect going in. I had read reviews prior to going and there was a mix. I am glad I went though, we had Jackie as our waitress and she was just super friendly and super helpful. I had read reviews about the chicken wrap and knew I had to try it. It was sooo delicious. I couldn't put it down. I will definitely recommend to others to try that along with the Sweet Potatoe fries!! The ambiance is very casual. However it is perfect for a summer patio to dress up a bit, it's the perfect spot for a date or even a bunch of friends hanging out. I definitely will be going back!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    June 3, 2016

    We came as a group of about 50 After a work conference. Couldn't have made a better choice! The staff was incredible and made sure that everything was perfect. Highly recommended!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    May 29, 2016

    Overall, we had a great hockey party for our 8 year olds. Food was plentiful and very tasty. Pong ppng and pool tables were a hit. Only issue was the room temperature - need to improve a/c significantly.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    May 25, 2016

    Friendly and fast (but not rushed). Food was tasty and as advertised.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    May 12, 2016

    We enjoyed a beautiful birthday dinner for my son. The food was delicious and the portions were generous! The service was outstanding and the staff were friendly. We will definitely be back to sit on the gorgeous patio!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    March 12, 2016

    Delicious, fantastic service from Greg! :)

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    March 6, 2016

    Very accomodating to us.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    February 29, 2016

    Disappointed with the food. Chicken Chipotle Chowder had very little chicken and almost no chipotle... it was mostly potatoes and lacked flavour. The seafood pasta was advertised as having a Provencal sauce but it was really more like plain tomato sauce, again lacking in flavour. The rest of the meal was okay but nothing to write home about. This will not be a go-to place for us unless it's convenient for reasons of geography or the fact that it takes reservations. Oh, also, having to walk up a long flight of stairs through a private party to access the washrooms was not a comfortable experience.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Service: 4/5

    Cuisine: 2/5

    February 21, 2016

    The service was great. The gentleman that helped us seemed to be the only one working but he had everything under control. Overall we had a good time. The food could be better. Food was okay.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    January 24, 2016

    I would have appreciated not having to ask for a refill of coffee.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Service: 3/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    December 21, 2015

    In all, Safari is a great place to eat and have fun and our group enjoyed being there...its a pity the pool tables and table tennis were all booked up. I am sure we will be back for another celebration. Thanks for the great service!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    December 17, 2015

    My colleagues thought the Venue was great as well as the service and food. In addition,having the pool tables/ping pong table available was great. Thank you Happy Holidays

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    December 14, 2015

    We had our staff holiday party in the main dining room and everyone enjoyed themselves. The food was great and Greg our server was fabulous. My only complaint was that we were too close to the front door and our preference would have been to be upstairs so we could all have chatted together (we were at two tables). Thanks for a wonderful evening!!

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    December 14, 2015

    Thank you so much for the wonderful experience! We appreciate the food and hospitality.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    December 14, 2015

    We had our first company Christmas Party at Safari Bar & Grill. The playfulness of the Pool Tables upstairs was a great way to unwind and have some giggles. Then we went downstairs for an amazing dinner. The staff and the food were amazing and I would highly recommend Safari.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    November 30, 2015

    The Safari team was very helpful in the planning of our event. Food and service on day of event was excellent.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    November 22, 2015

    We always enjoy the Safari

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    November 15, 2015

    Had to wait 30 minutes for party to arrive. Servers were attentive - brought bread and water while we waited and provided immediate service once everyone arrived. Food ( tacos and burgers ) was tasty and nicely plated. Never rushed even though we stayed through shift change.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    September 3, 2015

    Great patio seats great service and food was awesome

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    August 27, 2015

    Excellent all around: we had to await a friend's arrival, asked for bread and a glass of wine, which all came in a timely fashion. Great wine, warm bread, hummous spread. Service was friendly and efficient. Lovely casual atmosphere. Excellent food. Well priced.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    August 24, 2015

    Lauren, our server, was so accommodating! Amazing, efficient service. With a big smile. We had little ones with us and she was on top of everything we needed, and more!

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Show more reviews

    Opening Hours

    Monday
    Tuesday
    Wednesday
    Thursday
    Friday
    Saturday
    Sunday
    Closed For Renovations (2015-03-11)

    Appears in 3 local lists

    Summerlicious 2016 in Toronto: Let's get you seated!

    Summerlicious 2016 in Toronto: Let's get you seated!

    $18 Lunch | $28 Dinner American, Continental

    $18 Lunch spots to visit during Toronto's Summerlicious 2016

    $18 Lunch spots to visit during Toronto's Summerlicious 2016

    One of the most anticipated foodie events in TO, Summerlicious kicks off July 8. Restaurants offer three-course lunch and dinner menus in various price brackets for the two weeks of the festival. It's an affordable way to sample a spot you've had your eye on, or test out the newcomers on the scene. Here are the drool-worthy $18 lunch menus that will be on offer.  [Feature image: Bymark; courtesy of the City of Toronto]

    $28 dinner spots to visit for Toronto's 2016 Summerlicious

    $28 dinner spots to visit for Toronto's 2016 Summerlicious

    Summerlicious returns to Toronto July 8, running its smorgasbord of food-loving fun until July 24. If there's a restaurant you've had your eye on, this is the opportunity to give it a try. Restaurants tout three-course dinner in various price brackets for the two weeks of the festival. Here are the $28 spots! [Feature image: Ruth’s Chris Steak House; courtesy of the City of Toronto]

    Business Details

    Methods of Payment

    Rates

    • $11 To $25

    Restaurant type

    • Bar

    Cuisine type

    • American Cuisine
    • Italian

    Dishes

    • Vegetarian
    • Pasta
    • Pizza

    Features

    • Restaurant With Wifi Internet
    • Restaurant With Terrace

    Atmosphere

    • Trendy
    • Casual

    Products and Services

    • Open Sunday
    • Pool Table
    • Event
    • Big Screen Tv
    • Satellite Tv