Prohibition Gastrohouseopen

696 Queen St E, Toronto, ON M4M 1G9
Prohibition Gastro Pub & Oyster Bar is a casual restaurant located by Queen St. and Broadview Ave. in the Riverdale and Leslieville area of East Toronto. Prohibition specializes in bistro cuisine and features casual dining in a casual atmosphere.
  • SMS

Ratings & Reviews

Do you know this business?
Choose a rating
  • Food:
  • Atmosphere:
  • Service:
By

Great atmosphere,...

Great atmosphere, even better nachos!!

Are you the owner of this business? Respond to this comment.

By

great for drinks & oysters (check first before going for oysters, however, as oysters are not featured daily) and also for a casual yet delicious meal. the grilled cheese with the pulled pork is divine, burgers are fantastic as well (albeit on the pricier side as far as good burgers go..). service is very friendly and non intimidating. oyster shooters are also delish!

Are you the owner of this business? Respond to this comment.

By

After a long and unsuccessful spot to celebrate, we came upon Prohibition and were delightfully surprised! Great food, awesome service, welcoming and friendly atmosphere! Visited on a random weeknight, found the place rather busy, experimented with their great alcoholic beverage menu, ordered some food, and left satisfied!

Are you the owner of this business? Respond to this comment.

September 27, 2015

Decent beer selection. Crab dip and nicoise were great although I miss the older true nicoise! Two had mac and cheese and couldn't eat much it was too rich, overly so even for decadent m&c. Server was attentive and pleasant. Missed out on Jager this visit.

Ambiance 4/5

Service 5/5

Cuisine 4/5

September 14, 2015

Our server took excellent care of the group and the children. Thank you for a great experience.

Ambiance 5/5

Service 5/5

Cuisine 5/5

August 30, 2015

We had friends in town from Ottawa and Windsor. We chose Prohibition to start the day and their visit off right. Overall experience was an absolute delight. Been there before and will go again. Encouraging all our family and friends!

Ambiance 5/5

Service 5/5

Cuisine 5/5

July 24, 2015

Love the place. I already recommended to my friends at work.

Ambiance 5/5

Service 5/5

Cuisine 5/5

July 22, 2015

Summerlicious. Staff appeared a little rushed off their feet, and walked past a few times without noticing one of our party who was trying to get their attention with his hand up. Otherwise service was excellent - good smiles and banter and quick food delivery. Food was delicious and very flavourful for the most part, although the fish in the fish tacos was a little underspiced. Dessert portions were unexpectedly large which was a bonus! Good portion sizes overall and great value for money here.

Ambiance 4/5

Service 4/5

Cuisine 5/5

July 21, 2015

Great evening and staff. Thanks!

Ambiance 5/5

Service 5/5

Cuisine 4/5

July 19, 2015

great local place, if I lived in the area it would be my weekly spot.

Ambiance 5/5

Service 5/5

Cuisine 4/5

July 17, 2015

zOMG that ice cream was amazing. All the food was excellent and our waitress was very nice. Prohibition consistently does 'licious well.

Ambiance 5/5

Service 5/5

Cuisine 5/5

July 14, 2015

A very cool looking comfortable place that I would definitely come back! Food was delicious!

Ambiance 5/5

Service 5/5

Cuisine 5/5

July 5, 2015

Great service and the food was delicious one of the better meals I've had in a Toronto restaurant in a long time. I wish the portions were bigger : ) Thank you for a great evening with delicious food.

Ambiance 4/5

Service 5/5

Cuisine 5/5

Show more reviews

Opening Hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday

This merchant is featured in the following local lists

Half-price wine nights in Toronto’s east end

Half-price wine nights in Toronto’s east end

Nothing subtle about this Queen Street bosom for the besotted. The daily "hooch hour" may be a bit of a misnomer, seeing how it's held between 5 and 7 pm, as well as 10 and 11 pm every night, but we're too busy enjoying $5 glasses of wine to really care.

Canadian comfort: Satisfy your poutine cravings in Toronto

Canadian comfort: Satisfy your poutine cravings in Toronto

Three words: duck fat fries. We guarantee poutine fans will taste the difference with the crispy gourmet spuds at this Leslieville gastropub. The menu delivers three gourmet poutine varieties: chili cheese; redneck poutine, made with lamb confit, goat cheese, tater tots and truffle oil; and a Gastrohouse poutine made with duck confit. Want to pair your poutine with discounted booze? Visit during hooch hour (5 to 7 p.m. and 10 to 11 p.m. daily) to enjoy high-end liquor, house wines and draught beers for just $5.09.

Mac 'n' cheese must-tries in Toronto

Mac 'n' cheese must-tries in Toronto

Self-proclaimed and heralded by many as the best mac 'n' cheese in Toronto, Prohibition Gastrohouse uses a grocery list of ingredients including 10-year organic Canadian cheddar, l'ermite bleu, boschetto al tartufo, and black truffles. Riffing off the classic breadcrumb topping, this east-end spot opts to create a sinful jalapeño-cheddar biscuit crust. The dish is so well-known and requested that Prohibition conceded to including it on all four of its menus — including brunch.

Business Details

Methods of Payment

Rates

  • $11 To $25

Restaurant type

  • Bistro

Cuisine type

  • Canadian Cuisine

Dishes

  • Haute Poutine

Features

  • Restaurant With Wifi Internet
  • Restaurant With Bar

Atmosphere

  • Casual

Products and Services

  • Good For Groups