How would you rate this business?
430 Acadia Dr SE, Calgary, AB T2J 0B2
Get directions »
open now 7:00 am - 6:00 pm

Methods of Payment:

  • American Express
  • Mastercard
  • Visa
  • Interac
  • Cash
  • Cheque
At Active Learning we view ourselves in partnership with the parent in the learning process. We want you to be excited about your child's education, as you are the one who first introduced them to their love of learning.

Here is a list of schools that we service for our Kindergarten and Out of School Care programs: Acadia Elementary, Andrew Sibbald School, David Thompson School, École Sam Livingston, École St. Cecilia, FFCA Elementary Southeast Elementary Campus (Alice M Curtis School), FFCA Middle South Middle School (Andrew Davison School), Lake Bonavista School, Le Roi Daniels School, Maple Ridge School, St. Matthews School, Willow Park School. more...

Opening Hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday

Products and Services

  • 2 Day Intermediate,
  • 3 Day Intermediate,
  • 6 Programs Offered,
  • Advanced,
  • Before & After Care,
  • Beginner,
    • Kindergarten Child Care,
    • Kindergartens,
    • Pre-school Nurserie,
    • Pre-School Programs (Nurseries),
  • more...
  • less...

Brands Carried

  • Melissa & Doug,
  • Play-Doh,
  • Playskool,
  • Scholastic,

Specialties

  • Early Childhood Education,

Languages Spoken

  • English,

Ratings & Reviews - Active Learning Programs Ltd

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
    Sort by:
    Language:
    jmst8211
    By

    My son, soon to be six, loves the program. He has been there since he was 3 and I saw a lot of progress during the preschool program. Now in the after school program, I love it, with so much variety such as music, yoga, dance and great trips that he enjoys. This year we also did some of the summer camps again he really enjoyed them. His grandmother also enjoyed as a volunteer for a few trips. They really try to make it a fun and educational experience for the kids.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    ABugsLife
    By

    My 4 yr old son has been attending Active Learning for two years and I have been very happy with the program. I feel the teachers have an excellent understanding of age appropriate learning. I am happy with how he is being introduced to French and feel he will be well prepared for Kindergarten. I have never experienced any unprofessional or inappropriate language/actions toward anyone (parents/children). I have been on several field trips with all of the staff and see how much the kids love them

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    samkalanchey050261
    By

    BEWARE - I would not recommend this facility to anyone. The owner is aggressive, abrupt and unprofessional and I do not trust him to be alone with my child. Furthermore, the child to staff ratio is not up to licensing standards and nothing has been done about it. There are far better places in the city to take your kid(s) - DO NOT pick this one.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    kcskcs
    By

    The owner is incredibly rude and unapproachable. The withdrawal policy is a greedy trap to prevent you from leaving their mediocre preschool program. They do not actually provide the programming they advertise, especially the "French immersion" aspect. Don't waste your money here.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us

    Merchant Reply May 8, 2017

    The Immersion is at their developmental level. When you gave your notice we were sorry to inform you that 3 Days notice was insufficient as to the binding contract that you signed. Your daughter always had a wonderful time but when we switched from our temp to permanent location it was too much change for a 2 year old and we do appreciate that. With that being said you do not have the right to scream and call me a litany of nasty names because I held you to the terms of the agreement.

    Eva K
    By

    My Granddaughter is in Active Learning Program the second year.I started volunteering for the school last year. I have 11 years experience in childhood education. Based on my personal experience, I can tell, the children are safe, loved.The environment is relaxed. They have a chance to learn french language, music, drama. I would highly recommend to parents who's children educational and emotional development are priorities.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    Brighid
    By

    Negative experience; I do not recommend.

    The interview was encouraging, but when our daughter started attending it was a very negative experience. From a complete lack of security, to inattentive "teachers", rough, unsupervised kids, and being expected to leave our child with a man who was not an instructor--this place is a disaster. Very money focused, they don't seem to be concerned with the kids themselves. We've experienced both ends of the scale with daycares and dayhome, and this was the worst yet.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us

    Merchant Reply May 8, 2017

    You interviewed with the very man you are complaining about who is a qualified ECE staff member, which is extremely sexist. I do happen to know that you were on a wait list for a program that was more convenient to your home. When a spot came available you cancelled within hours of the semester beginning. As plans can change I waived the 2 months penalty that you owed but did not refund your deposit. I compromised and you threatened legal action.

    OurFamily1
    By

    My child went to ...

    My child went to Active Learning. I would go and drop them off or pick them up and it was always incredibly disorganized, loud and unstructured. Gym time was again, unstructured so it allowed for children being left out playing alone without any teacher interaction or inclusion. It felt like I was basically paying for substandard babysitting. I had incredibly high hopes for this school but it did not meet any expectations at all. My child will attend another school next year.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us

    Merchant Reply May 8, 2017

    The instructor who favoured Gym time was let go as we agree physical activity should not take precedence over academic development. Since our location move we now have a dedicated Music & Movement Studio that is used in a structured and guided fashion and is always relevant to the curriculum being instructed at that time.

    Daryl-Anne F
    By

    My son LOVES Acti...

    My son LOVES Active Learning and looks forward to it daily. He is in the beginner class and adores his teacher. All the other teachers there make an effort to know who he is and when I pop in to watch I can see that they care for the students a great deal. Everyone is very friendly and it is a warm environment. My son has made many friends and loves his time in the gym. This program helped him learn to count, colours, shapes and French words before he was even 2 years old. Highly recommended!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    Suzanne W
    By

    Both my children ...

    Both my children have been through this programme and have had a wonderful experience. Language and music are taught really well with an emphasis on activity. My children started skating through this preschool and have done so well at school with this strong base behind them. They have shown great interest in music and their language and math skills are easily way in advance of their peer group. Try this programme out, you won't be disappointed.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    eliane S
    By

    My 7 year old dau...

    My 7 year old daughter really loves going to Active Learning everyday before and after school. She loves the teachers and playing with all her friends. The school is a very great school and the teachers are very good with all the children. They take the time to listen and understand the children and their needs. My 7 year old says she love riding bus to school and going on field trips at least once a month. She cries every time I pick her up because she never wants to leave.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    Grandma
    By

    My granddaughter ...

    My granddaughter enjoys her time spent at Active Learning Programs. When I pick her up daily she is enthusiastic about what she learned and made and loves to share the latest songs and French words she has learned. The teachers are always cheerful. I recommend this company. Grandma Jean

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    OliviaSk
    By

    To clarify the re...

    To clarify the review below, Active Learning received full payment PLUS subsidy in the first two months of the year. They refused to apply the over payment in those months to future payments stating that they will apply the "credit" in summer months towards summer care.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us

    Merchant Reply April 17, 2015

    As was explained to you several times you are required to pay the full amount until subsidy is approved and remitted by the province. No one stated that the money would be applied as a credit for summer months. Please keep the flat out falsehoods to a minimum. You were told any overages would be refunded.

    LivSki
    By

    Greedy owners and mediocre child care

    Active Learning was the worst before and after school care we have ever used. They do charge a non-refundable "deposit" that is theirs to keep if your child leaves before June. If you use subsidy, they charge ON TOP of what subsidy pays and tell you they will "refund" this difference sometime in the summer. After hearing that, we left. All they care about is money, the child care is mediocre at best, caregivers change over every few months. We switched and never looked back. Beware and stay away

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    Ennika J
    By

    Active Learning i...

    Active Learning is AMAZING. My 2 year old son loves going to school everyday. He is not only able to count in French and English, knows his alphabet by sight and sound and can tell the french and english name of colours but he also told me about the planets in our solar system. The teachers there are so caring!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    Noha O
    By

    When you try to g...

    When you try to get your kids out of this place for any change of plans that can happen to anyone they rip you off soo much money it costed me $2000 to get off their after school program no program is worth it especially that all other programs don't have this policy & actually the program my kids are in right now is soo much better & without registration fees or even the need to give them notice so I don't recommend it at all

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    Erin M
    By

    We did not re-enr...

    We did not re-enroll this year. I had to pull my daughter out a few months early due to a change in our childcare arrangements and ended up losing almost $600. They said this is a standard policy but my daughters new pre-school does not have such a policy. We enrolled in a Montessori program in our neighborhood and found it to be a better value, and more enjoyable for our little one. Its a good school but the deposit policy is terrible. Not going back this year.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
    Contact this merchant
    Close menu
    Subscribe to YP Newsletter