Knibbe Automotive Repair

3/5
Location
Information
Reviews
Details

Products and Services

  • car repair,
Location
154 Crowfoot Way NW, Calgary, AB T3G 4M4
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday

Methods of Payment:

Ratings & Reviews - Knibbe Automotive Repair

How would you rate this business?
    Sort by:
    Language:
    Robcolt
    By

    Not All Parts Are Created Equal...

    Brakes are an integral component of vehicle safety. We went to Knibbe to have the brakes on our Dodge Grand Caravan checked because they were squealing. They said the brakes needed to be replaced and since the existing front rotors could not be machined, they replaced both of them and also installed new brake pads. It was ok for a while, and then started to shudder in the front end when the brakes were applied. The shuddering worsened very quickly over a short time. My wife returned to Knibbe; they checked the front brakes and said that there were “hot spots causing the pulsations, but the brakes wouldn’t fail”. They told my wife that it was “because of the way she drives”, and did nothing at all to correct the problem. The shuddering problem worsened, so this time I returned with my wife. After some discussion they eventually admitted that the rotors were defective and (somewhat reluctantly) agreed to replace them under warranty. Not long after, the shuddering problem in the front end returned and again it worsened very quickly. We have since had a very reputable shop check the front brakes and rotors. It was explained to us that the replacement rotors that were used are “white box” (no name) parts, that they are known to be cheap and inferior; hard spots in poor quality metal caused the shuddering. We were told that Knibbe is notorious for using white box parts. We were not aware of this; quality repairs require the use of quality parts. Our advice to others is to seek out a reputable automotive repair company and avoid the run around that we experienced with Knibbe. We are very disappointed with the quality of service and do not appreciate that my wife put her trust them and was misled.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP

    Business Reply December 17, 2014

    This review originally showed up on Google and was determined by them to be not legitimate and so we did not respond. The statements in the review are not accurate or correct. If the author of this review wishes to contact us, he is welcome to.

    Get an opinion about this business!

    Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

    Contact this business
    Close menu