Location
Information
Reviews
Details

Languages Spoken

  • English,
Location
59 Oswego St, Victoria, BC V8V 2A7
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Verify with Merchant

Methods of Payment:

Ratings & Reviews - Flue Guru

How would you rate this business?
3.6/5
  • Excellent
  • Very good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible
4
0
0
0
2
    Sort by:
    Language:
    mrvicYP
    By

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR...

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME CALLING THIS FELLA!! TOTAL WASTE OF TIME AND ENERGY.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP

    Business Reply December 18, 2015

    Due to the very hazardous nature of wood burning equipment we do not install appliances without proper permits from local building departments

    Cory B
    By

    Dean showed up th...

    Dean showed up the next morning after I called him about my bricks falling off the roof from my recording studio ( I was afraid the mailman , paperboy and girl scout cookie salesgirl would get hit. I had to run out gave him the green light right away and when I came home the chimney was temporarily secured ( phew ) within the next day it had been completely rebuilt , mostly using what was there with some new improvements, which was good because I did have water damage before. Very Happy!!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    VanessavS
    By

    Dean and his asso...

    Dean and his associate Roland just installed a wonderful wood stove into an existing chimney, restored chimney top, re-pointed, copper flashing on top, rain cap, installed a liner, which Dean explained is necessary for new code. 10 years ago Dean installed 2 wood stoves. Glad I asked D. questions, as building/repairing chimneys collides often w. what one thinks is common sense. He knows his "stuff", answers questions. Highly recommended years++ exper.,red seal qualific. His work is excellent!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    RSmedley
    By

    Excellent work!

    I have had Dean do two jobs for me - my fireplace chimney last fall and my furnace chimney last week. He provided excellent service at a very reasonable price. He was quick to respond to my requests, gave me a full and clear report of the work that needed to be done along with an estimate and, once I'd given the go ahead, did the job quickly. Dean was recommended by a neighbour who had a couple of quotes on a job and found his prices to be much lower. I would definitely recommend him!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Timwilt
    By

    Botched Chimney Repair

    For your own sake please hire a reputable company to come repair your chimney. Don't waste your time with Dean Brandhagen. I called him to repair a chimney that's collapsing and he attempted to pass a sloppy patch job as a full on chimney repair. There were still loose bricks on the top 2 rows of the chimney that were covered up by sheet metal. I caught him and when confronted all he had to say was "Okay, get someone else to do it then.." take his advice, get somebody else to do it for you.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP

    Business Reply March 18, 2015

    First of all, let me thank this client for bringing up his concerns in a public forum - I believe that YP is a great community and I just love receiving customer comments, even negative ones because they give me a chance to further educate my prospective customers. Nothing catches your eye faster than that one lonely star. So having caught your eye... A detailed review like this is an especially good opportunity to explain the intricate ins and outs of successful, long lasting, cost effective chimney repairs. If you are reading this review you probably have a chimney problem yourself - so read on... Well, here is the big problem with chimney tops - they always crack and let eroding water in because the chimney top is the place where hot always meets cold, and when hot meets cold in masonry or concrete - cracks appear. But you don't have to believe me - just drive along any street and look up at the chimney tops and you will see an abundance of ugly cracks everywhere.. Fact 1: These cracked chimneys were all built by the best efforts of very talented bricklayers and masons - who when they come to repair these cracked up chimneys - still believe that stronger is better - and they try to correct it by making it even stronger. Which is actually counter productive in most cases or at the very least extremely expensive. Little known side fact : The building code for masonry chimney construction is very strange and includes a number of expansion and slip features that very few masons incorporate into their projects because they are simply unaware of the need for them - and have probably never read a building code. I repair many chimneys every year and have yet to come across one that was built correctly according to Canada's National and BC building code. Fact 2: Chimney repairs become especially confusing when working on a 100 year old chimney that was made with lime and sand as mortar. No cement. The thought process is to make it stronger and harder. When actually some flex in the mortar does not hurt and is recommended. My Solution: In answer to this chimney cracking problem, over time... we developed a simple and reasonably priced solution by adding our custom structurally constructed sheet metal Crown Flashing with riveted corners and excellent drip edges designed to shed water while allowing the chimney to expand and contract with its heat cool cycles. This Crown Flashing system is actually structural and was developed in conjunction with a well trained and experienced copper-smith who had much experience in working on extremely high end projects and restorations of castles and heritage projects. ( Drip edges are specified in the building code but rarely are built into a masonry chimney. ) Our metal Crown Flashing product itself is a 26 gauge 35 year plus - rated product which comes in several colours, in fact it's the same material roofers use to flash all the other areas of the roof. Our Crown Flashing covers up a deteriorating chimney crown in a reasonably priced and functional way and adds at least 35 years to the chimney structure all for a very moderate price. PS: Regular Mason Contractors don't like these crown flashings because it violates some unwritten idea that everything has to be hard - unmovable concrete. Local masons also don't like it because their chimney repair methods and prices do not compete with my simple solution. Oh by the way - I am a Red Seal Journeyman Brick Mason qualified to work in all Canadian Provinces and 52 United States. As well as being WETT Certified as a Canada wide wood heat professional. To recap, our masonry chimney Crown Flashing repair methods allow for cold hot cycles with expansion and contraction, are a maintenance free long term solution and are extremely cost effective. Call for an evaluation and price quote. Usually the price of my repair adds at least double in value to,the curb appeal,of your home. |

    afcarlso
    By

    Wood Stove/Chimney Liner Installation

    Dean took on a couple of jobs at my house and did a great job of both. One involved installing a liner in my ceramic flue - a job made more difficult by there being a dog-leg in the routing of the liner. I wanted a steel liner because it is a tall chimney and never drew very well. Being ceramic, it didn't warm up or hold the heat very well resulting in poor draft, lots of smoke and creosote build up. Attached to this chimney is a huge wood stove that I can heat my whole house with, so I really wanted it to work well. I'd had quotes from other installers, but none appeared ready or able to do the work; one simply didn't return calls. Dean did it on budget and on time. The stove works great now, good draw, no smoke and I'm finally able to use the re-burner on it, which will mean cleaner burns and fewer chminey sweeps. He also repaired and installed a Vermont Castings stove I had acquired from my in-laws when they went to natural gas. Even though it was a great stove and code compliant, other installers tried to sell me a new steel stove rather than fix and install this unit. Dean also removed a double wall steel chimney that was not code compliant and installed a new double wall unit and connected the stove. Again, on budget and on time - I couldn't be happier with the stove and with the workmanship of the install. Dean and his helper are hands-on professionals, courteous and knowledgeable. I'd recommend Dean Brandhagen Chimney Services to anyone...I guess I already have :)

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP

    Get an opinion about this business!

    Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

    Contact this business
    Close menu