Meet the owner

Granville Island was once an island; actually, truth be told, it was a sandbar. So it seems appropriate that one of the city’s most popular eateries pays homage to Granville Island’s geographic past. Nestled under the Granville Street Bridge, The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant celebrates its industrial and fishing roots with an interior that is designed for warmth and casual elegance.

Part of the Sequoia Company of Restaurants, The Sandbar seats 350 guests across three levels in what was once a manufacturing building. The ground floor is home to an intimate sushi bar. Upstairs, the main dining room features nautical decor accents that offer a nod to West Coast style. “Suspended above the main bar is Kivi, a 24-foot salmon troller hand built by Allan Farrell, (one of the West Coast’s finest craftsman of wooden boats),” explains general manager John Hawkins. The second floor is also home to a private dining room (adjacent to a wine cellar that boasts a collection of more than 1000+ bottles), and a low-lit lounge. At night, the Teredo Lounge transforms into a trendy piano bar with an intimate vibe and live music. The third-floor heated patio, open year-round, is perhaps the most sought-after space in the restaurant. “At night under the stars, you can capture the most stunning cityscapes on the patio,” adds Hawkins.

Read the story of The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

Ratings & Reviews - The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
  • Atmosphere: 4.3/5
  • Food: 3.6/5
  • Service: 3.6/5
Sort by:
Language:
Kailah K
By

Great location for a special occasion!

Recently had a family event here and it was great! We had a dedicated server to our party, which was great - it meant we never got ignored. The seafood here is very fresh and tastes wonderful! The fresh sheet has a great selection - highly recommend the sable fish (black cod) it was very good. The wine list is somewhat limited, but they have picked some of the best wines from BC, which is nice. The rooftop deck is one of the best in Vancouver! Just amazing to sit up there and watch the boats go by... highly recommend Sandbar for locals and tourists alike!

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

This restaurant is one of my favourite destinations on a sunny day. I prefer outside seating, which positions you directly below Granville Bridge. Great view, great food. Service is always friendly. We ordered: Eggs Benny bacon, toasted english muffin, hollandaise, roasted potatoes $12 Wild Salmon Burger grilled $15 The only dish which disappointed us was the red beat salad. It used to be my top item on their menu. Not sure what happened, however, portion was extremely small and taste was off.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
Restaurantica12
By

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the...

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the Granville bridge and overlooking the vista of blue, but the food is only average. Funny: all five of us, when given our menus, said the same thing: 'This is hard to look at!' They really should hire a good graphic artist and give it a makeover. Someone that charges more $ but does good work. Ask for a table upstairs.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact us
June 24, 2017

Very good! I like it.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 23, 2017

Great!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 22, 2017

great service and food. lovely night on the patio!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 22, 2017

A nice venue for tourists, but the food is mediocre -- nothing special.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 4/5

June 18, 2017

Very noisy restaurant ; helpful courteous service; my friends enjoyed the chicken main course; my halibut with capers was excellent.

Ambiance: 2/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

June 18, 2017

This is our go to restaurant when we have tickets to a show at Granville island. This time we pre-ordered as we were short on time. Our server was fantastic! She was on it. Food was served promptly when we arrived, with drinks following shortly after. This was her first day and she nailed it! She handled our exuberant table like a pro. An asset to the Sandbar!!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 18, 2017

Server was great and the food was delicious. High markup on your wine!

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

June 16, 2017

Our waitress was very very hood and understood our desire to have a relaxing Neal. The food was wonderful

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 10, 2017

A very special way to spend our last night in Vancouver before returning home from a wonderful vacation on the West Coast. Ryan was great! We actually had him serve us on our trip last year as well. We will return for sure.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 10, 2017

Very enjoyable evening with excellent service and tasty meals. Tables were not crowded and noise level was low enough to not be noticed. Nice ambience

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 10, 2017

Great seats on the patio. Food was great

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 9, 2017

Amazing service by 2 waiters and the manager even came by to say hello!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 7, 2017

Loved everything except I thought there was going to be live music starting at 8. Left after 8:30 no misic.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

June 7, 2017

We keep coming back to the Sandbar when we attend shows on Granville Island for good reason - they do not disappoint.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 6, 2017

What a lovely location. It was our first visit to the Sandbar but it will not be our last. The food was great and our server, Greg was excellent. We will be back, whenever we visit Vancouver.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 4, 2017

Everyone was very happy with the entire dinner. Made for a great 60th birthday, trying something new. Food got 5 stars (especially from the birthday girl). Thanks for everything!!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 3, 2017

Excellent service and friendly staff at the sandbar, it was a pleasure to dine here.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 2, 2017

Great evening great servicr

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

May 31, 2017

Love this place! Best food, best service and best atmosphere!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 31, 2017

Everyone was kind and understanding and flexible with my reservation and service.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 28, 2017

The patio is fabulous the food was amazing and the service was excellent. A perfect night!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 27, 2017

Was noisy inside, but the service was above par and the food was great.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 25, 2017

Very busy restaurant so had a bit of a wait to get served but not a problem as we had time! Food was well presented and very enjoyable. Not somewhere for a quite meal as it was very noisy and made conversation difficult - but loved it!!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

May 20, 2017

Fantastic meal with attentive service. Our waiter Lane was great! Always love the Sandbar for special times.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 19, 2017

Our server was very sweet however we waited almost 1 1/2 hours for our food. We were going to a 7:30 show. They brought our food with the bill at 7:20. The manager was aware and did not apologize or try to compensate us in any way. As we all left our less than half eaten meals on the table at 7:25 he thanked us and told us to enjoy the show.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 1/5

May 16, 2017

Sandbar is a fabulous place, Lane our server was fantastic and the food was delicious! Thank you!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 16, 2017

Everything good price on crab a little high

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 15, 2017

Excellent as always! Our server was especially fantastic!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 13, 2017

Attentive server, excellent arctic char. A great meal!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 12, 2017

Our waiter was great at getting our orders iand the food out to us in plenty of time to have a relaxing dinner before the play. No rushing! Food selection was delicious.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Appears in 9 Smart Lists

Editor’s Pick
The best restaurants in Vancouver to have a meal with a view

The best restaurants in Vancouver to have a meal with a view

This upscale bistro’s stunning wood patio offers picturesque views of Granville Island and False Creek, where cute and colourful passenger ferries mingle with paddleboarders, kayakers and sailboats. You’ll also enjoy fine seafood, excellent service and a selection of imported and local wines in a casual, relaxed setting.

View this Smart List
9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

9 great Vancouver restaurants for out-of-towners

Granville Island is the tourist hotspot in Vancouver; easy accessible from downtown, the bustling destination offers art galleries, boutique shopping, paddle boarding and kayaking adventures, and an expansive public market. So, why not combine your tour of the island with a visit to its most popular bistro? An upscale but still affordable restaurant, Sandbar offers stunning views of English Bay plus authentic seafood dishes like mussels, clams and prawns, all tasty and as fresh as can be.

View this Smart List
Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Ask for the right table on The Sandbar’s stunning wood patio, and you’ll get a great view of the fireworks from Granville Island. You’ll also enjoy fine seafood, excellent service, and imported and local wines in a casual, relaxed setting that lends itself to the other kind of fireworks – summer romance.

View this Smart List
Contact this merchant
Close menu
New!
×

Discover YP Dine! Your next great dining experience is just a tap away.

Subscribe to YP Newsletter