Meet the owner

Granville Island was once an island; actually, truth be told, it was a sandbar. So it seems appropriate that one of the city’s most popular eateries pays homage to Granville Island’s geographic past. Nestled under the Granville Street Bridge, The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant celebrates its industrial and fishing roots with an interior that is designed for warmth and casual elegance.

Part of the Sequoia Company of Restaurants, The Sandbar seats 350 guests across three levels in what was once a manufacturing building. The ground floor is home to an intimate sushi bar. Upstairs, the main dining room features nautical decor accents that offer a nod to West Coast style. “Suspended above the main bar is Kivi, a 24-foot salmon troller hand built by Allan Farrell, (one of the West Coast’s finest craftsman of wooden boats),” explains general manager John Hawkins. The second floor is also home to a private dining room (adjacent to a wine cellar that boasts a collection of more than 1000+ bottles), and a low-lit lounge. At night, the Teredo Lounge transforms into a trendy piano bar with an intimate vibe and live music. The third-floor heated patio, open year-round, is perhaps the most sought-after space in the restaurant. “At night under the stars, you can capture the most stunning cityscapes on the patio,” adds Hawkins.

Read the story of The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

Ratings & Reviews - The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this merchant? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

How would you rate this business?
  • Atmosphere: 4.3/5
  • Food: 3.6/5
  • Service: 3.6/5
Sort by:
Language:
Kailah K
By

Great location for a special occasion!

Recently had a family event here and it was great! We had a dedicated server to our party, which was great - it meant we never got ignored. The seafood here is very fresh and tastes wonderful! The fresh sheet has a great selection - highly recommend the sable fish (black cod) it was very good. The wine list is somewhat limited, but they have picked some of the best wines from BC, which is nice. The rooftop deck is one of the best in Vancouver! Just amazing to sit up there and watch the boats go by... highly recommend Sandbar for locals and tourists alike!

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

This restaurant is one of my favourite destinations on a sunny day. I prefer outside seating, which positions you directly below Granville Bridge. Great view, great food. Service is always friendly. We ordered: Eggs Benny bacon, toasted english muffin, hollandaise, roasted potatoes $12 Wild Salmon Burger grilled $15 The only dish which disappointed us was the red beat salad. It used to be my top item on their menu. Not sure what happened, however, portion was extremely small and taste was off.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the...

Sandbar is in a fabulous location, under the Granville bridge and overlooking the vista of blue, but the food is only average. Funny: all five of us, when given our menus, said the same thing: 'This is hard to look at!' They really should hire a good graphic artist and give it a makeover. Someone that charges more $ but does good work. Ask for a table upstairs.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
November 22, 2017

We went to Sandbar for dinner and were seated at a table near the window overlooking the harbor. The food and service were excellent.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 20, 2017

We brought 2 Italian wine merchants for dinner. They were very pleased with everything from the service to the food to the view. I want to make special mention to our server who I understand was new. His attentiveness, attitude and manners were spot on.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 21, 2017

Service was very quick and attentive. It was very loud in the restaurant and we had trouble speaking across the table The fish was excellent and cooked perfectly. The dessert had zero flavour

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

November 19, 2017

Always Great

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 20, 2017

This restaurant is consistently excellent having eaten there many times.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 18, 2017

Grant was our waiter and was absolutely fantastic It was our staff Christmas party and he took such good care of us! We will be back Food was amazing

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 15, 2017

I've been going to Sandbar for my birthday every year for 4 years and each year they never seem to disappoint me. Their service is awesome and the wait staff are amazing, super friendly and very attentive. The food is always fresh and very delicious. Their patio is the best place to enjoy my meal during summer and winter! I am making Sandbar a tradition for my birthday and I can't wait for my next dining experience there.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 12, 2017

Atmosphere/lighting is a bit dark but the food and service were fantastic!! Would definitely recommend.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

November 11, 2017

We stay at Granville Island Hotel, and we most always go to Sandbar for dinner! Does not disappoint. This time I had some oysters on half-shell, could not be better! Then had card special Baked Halibut with pistachio creme sauce with fixings, along with a lager from Okanogan. Cheers

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 11, 2017

Always a great experience will always come back

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 10, 2017

Awesome table by the windows and under the Grsnville street bridge. Food was amazing as was the relaxed friendly atmosphere. We've been before and will definitely return!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 9, 2017

Noisy. Difficult to converse over dinner.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 4/5

November 6, 2017

Loved the Sable fish.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 3, 2017

the ambience was great, the staff was nice and food was delicious. we will be going back to the restaurant!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

November 3, 2017

Server Barry was excellent--helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

November 4, 2017

Great service; delicious seafood, we had the sable fish dinner, mussels, crab cakes, seafood hot pot and the crab artichoke dip. Topped off with the desert platter and a bottle of Burrowing owl. Very enjoyable night out!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

November 2, 2017

we'll be back

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 2, 2017

Always consistent great place

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

October 31, 2017

Amazing food, view, and night time ambiance.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 29, 2017

When I am in Vancouver and craving seafood, this is my go to establishment. I wanted to give my boyfriend an authentic local BC experience. He ordered the lemon butter salmon and was thrilled that this was the best salmon he has ever had. Thanks for a great night.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 3/5

October 29, 2017

We were very appreciative of the service we received when we found a piece of plastic in one of the pan fried oysters we had ordered for our appetizer. We were given a whole new order and were not charged for them. The manager also came up to us and apologized very sincerely for the unfortunate incident. This is first class service provided by a very professional staff! Thank you!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

October 30, 2017

All four of us had our seafoods cooked to perfection!

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

October 29, 2017

The Sandbar.....our "go to" restaurant when we want something a little more special. We love bringing friends to The Sandbar...a short walk from our home....a gorgeous vista of our city....the lively vibes of Granville Island.....and a delicious meal with great service at The Sandbar. Thx!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 23, 2017

Service was impersonal but adequate. The hard surfaces wood and glass bounce the noise around -it was hard to hear conversation around the table but this is a problem in many restaurants.

Ambiance: 2/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 2/5

October 22, 2017

Daniella made the evening. She was more than great. We look forward to our next visit to the Sandbar.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 22, 2017

The food and service was excellent. Perfect place for dinner before the theatre!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 23, 2017

Jessyca was great!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 21, 2017

The food has always been amazing at the Sandbar but I had the fish taco's for the first time. The corn tortilla outside fell apart while trying to eat it (they even had to double it up in the first place) and the inside was "ok" but not fabulous. The other things I've had there have been very good, but I'll be giving the fish tacos a pass next time.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 5/5

October 21, 2017

Very loud somewhat raucous, but the food and service was good.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 20, 2017

I found the halibut a bit mushy -- like it had been on ice for too long.. I expected it to be extremely fresh. The coconut rice was overdone and a bit boring.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 5/5

Appears in 10 Smart Lists

Editor’s Pick
Where to eat during the Vancouver Fringe Festival

Where to eat during the Vancouver Fringe Festival

The cedar plank salmon at The Sandbar is a must-try for seafood lovers, whether you’re a Vancouver native or simply in town for the weekend. The signature dish sees B.C. salmon prepared with brown sugar and soy sauce and served with fragrant rice and seasonal vegetables. In addition to flavourful seafood dishes, this Granville Island eatery offers friendly, attentive service and an energetic atmosphere with live music seven nights a week. Furthermore, the indoor-outdoor upstairs dining room offers incredible views of Vancouver’s scenic waterways and mountains from underneath the Granville Bridge. Dine during sunset for a truly remarkable backdrop.

View this Smart List
Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Where to eat and drink during the Celebration of Light

Ask for the right table on The Sandbar’s stunning wood patio, and you’ll get a great view of the fireworks from Granville Island. You’ll also enjoy fine seafood, excellent service, and imported and local wines in a casual, relaxed setting that lends itself to the other kind of fireworks – summer romance.

View this Smart List
Vancouver’s best rooftop patios

Vancouver’s best rooftop patios

Nestled under the Granville Street Bridge on Granville Island, The Sandbar patio offers stunning views of the Burrard Bridge and False Creek. The menu features a wide selection of sustainably harvested Ocean Wise seafood, including an extensive daily fresh menu. The Sandbar’s sightlines truly show off Vancouver at its best – especially at sunset.

View this Smart List
Contact this merchant
Close menu
Subscribe to YP Newsletter