Jake's Grill & Oyster House

3.9/5
Add a photo
Add a photo
Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Restaurant type

  • Fine Dining,
  • Lounge,

Cuisine type

  • American Cuisine,
  • Canadian,

Dishes

  • Grill,
  • Seafood,
  • Fish & Chips,
  • Steak,
  • Vegetarian Cuisine,
  • Hamburger,

Features

  • Restaurant With Terrace,
  • Extensive Wine List,
  • Wheelchair-accessible Restaurant,
  • Restaurant With Catering Services,
  • Happy Hour,
  • Restaurant With Wifi Internet,
    • Restaurant With Parking,
  • more...
  • less...

Atmosphere

  • Casual,

Products and Services

  • Seafood Restaurant,

Languages Spoken

  • English,
Location
950 Walker's Line, Burlington, ON L7N 2G2
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Verify with Merchant

Rates:

  • $26 To $60,
  • $11 To $25,

Methods of Payment:

Ratings & Reviews - Jake's Grill & Oyster House

How would you rate this business?
3.9/5
  • Excellent
  • Very good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible
3
1
2
1
0
  • Atmosphere:
  • Food:
  • Service:
Sort by:
Language:
Restaurantica12
By

Went here based on the good reviews here and was not disappointed, the food and service was great, will definitely be back.

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

MMMM good!

We go to Jake's regularly - in the summertime, i thoroughly enjoy the back patio...which i think has been a kept secret for years! I have tried everything on the menu at some point so when i go there it is very difficult to choose. This time around, we did the appetizers thing and i had a dinner salad - thank god as i was so full! If you like crab go for the crab stuffed wontons and cajun calamari! Service is always good, people are friendly - definitely worth checking out for those of you who are curious!

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
February 26, 2020

Delicious.... ..

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 24, 2020

Great service, tasty food and perfect portions. Definitely will recommend to friends and be coming back.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 23, 2020

Dining at Jake's was a birthday treat for me from my wife. Service was perfect as always and we love the friendly, casual ambiance. We ordered fresh oysters and chowder cups for starters along with fish & shrimp tacos from the Big Oyster Hour menu - these were all super delicious as expected. We got talking to a guy sitting by himself at the adjacent table in our corner, who turned out to be an Olympic swim coach from Quebec on the road visiting his athletes across Canada. Coach Michel is a super nice guy who had stopped into Jake's for the first time, as a travel break between Brantford and Markham, and sampled the chowder. He has travelled all over Canada and many other countries, and said it was the best he's ever had second only to a specialty chowder restaurant outside Halifax. As a shared main we decided on the special mussels in white wine sauce, and while the mussels were very good I thought the sauce was much less robust than expected (my wife had no such complaints). This is the first time in over a dozen meals at Jake's that I have rated anything less than 5 stars. I would have wanted to rate this visit 4-1/2 stars. But Jake's is still our fave go-to! We'll be back asap to try something else!! Also, just because I mentioned to the staff it was my birthday, they surprised me with a "Vesuvius" special dessert - hot brownie-style cake served in a bowl with ice cream, whipped cream and fresh strawberry on the side, and featuring a lit sparkler, all on the house. It was absolutely delicious. How great is that! We are planning to bring our family to Jake's for a family food fest. We know they'll love it :)

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 23, 2020

My friends and I had a great lunch, service was excellent and we were not rushed. Planning to go back soon to try more items on their menu.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 23, 2020

One of our favourite restaurants. Great food and great ambiance.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 23, 2020

Foods great. Need to put Strongbow on the drum menu. Cider flavour drinks are to sweet. Our server was great and the food came out fast. It was not necessary for the host to advise us when the next reservation was coming in. It was a little offensive. It someone is staying longer then expected, just as if they would mind being moved to the bar and give them starter for their troubles

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 24, 2020

Always a great time at Jake's!!!!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 22, 2020

Just hands down amazing

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 20, 2020

Live outside Burlington now but keep coming back to Jake's for the delicious food and conscience service.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

February 20, 2020

My friend loved the pickerel. I thought the ribs should have been a little bigger, but they were good.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 18, 2020

As always, excellent service, quality food and friendly atmosphere!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 18, 2020

Taste of Burlington menu was amazing!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 18, 2020

Have lived in Burlington for 10 years. Have been to Jakes many times. Always enjoy the experience.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

February 18, 2020

Always good food and service.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 17, 2020

It was excellent. The fish was incredible and the service was amazing. Really enjoyed Jake's.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 18, 2020

The interior is a bit dated but had an energetic vibe. The service was a bit slow and she could have been a bit more attentive. There were times when our drinks were empty and we had to flag someone down to get our server. It got busier later on as we were leaving but not that busy for our server not to check in. The food was amazing.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 3/5

February 17, 2020

Amazing place. Will come back soon...

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 17, 2020

There were 4 of us that went for dinner and none of us had ever been to Jake’s before. Even though the restaurant was very busy (day after valentines), the service was fantastic, the food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Will definitely be back again.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 17, 2020

The decor is a bit outdated and tired looking but we were seated by the fireplace and the food and service was very good.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 16, 2020

My Husband and I split the two perfectly cooked medium-rare Beef Tenderloin Medallions. I added a 1/2lb of succulent King Crab whereas Brad selected to treat his pallet with an order of Scallop Risotto. I don't know about everyone else but when I'm Dinning out, I like to try a bit of everything on my plate then I eat all the Vegetables so if there are leftovers, they'll be the Protein parts. Well, Jake's Vegetables were raw. Our excellent server, Alana did ask if I would like a fresh order but the Main Course was almost finished and I had already decided to take them home to cook longer. I found the $$$ to be more like $$$$ which to me is pretty high for the Attire.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 16, 2020

The menu is diverse and the food is divine! Our server was helpful and very friendly. We love it there!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 15, 2020

Food was delicious. Our waiter was polite and thorough. No pressure. Fantastic evening. Thank you so much!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 16, 2020

Our server was very pleasant & helpful - makes the dinner even better !

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 12, 2020

The special was very good. Our guests were impressed with the food and service

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 11, 2020

Stephanie was amazing!

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 10, 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner ... Jake's never disappoints!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

February 9, 2020

Consistently good good and service.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

February 9, 2020

Went to jakes for lobster dinner- the food and service did not disappoint!!! The restaurant was quite busy being Saturday and with the lobster promotion however the meal and service were both terrific.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 9, 2020

Service and food was excellent. However, we had appetizers, lobsters, drinks and special coffees....courses and service was rushed. Our bills were paid and we continued to sip on our drinks. And then one of the waiters (not ours) told us “we are reminding you that there is a time limit on the table”. Not only we were shocked by this as we were unaware of time limit, but we had intentions of ordering more drinks. Our waitress was no where to be found...this should have been handled better.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 2, 2020

11 of us went for birthday dinner. Staff was very friendly & attentive. Food was great but a little pricey. All had a good time.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Contact this business
Close menu