Add a photo

Ratings & Reviews - Stonewalls Restaurant

How would you rate this business?
    Sort by:
    Language:
    AlKasi
    By

    DON'T COME HERE !!!

    We paid $100 for New Year's Eve - didn't get a table. I called them, and the receptionist was very defensive, rude, and definitely not sympathetic to me as a customer. She tried to justify the $25 for the band that I was playing . I told her that I went to Baltimore House for FREE on New Year's Eve!! You know what she said? "You should've stayed there". Before I got hung up on with , the receptionist jolted "200 people had fun, clearly not you ". Don't come here, this place is terrible

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    went there

    When I went I left feeling like i didn't get my moneys worth. And the service was bad. Food not bad but pricey. I ordered wings and beers bill was about 90

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    My Concert Stopover Place!

    We were going to the Motley Crue concert at Copps and happened by Stonewalls Restaurant. Wow, what a nice surprise! We weren’t expecting much just, something to tie us over until we got back to Kitchener. They were really busy and found us room at the bar. The bar was very classy with granite counter tops and a couple of really nice bartenders. Our food came in good time considering how busy they were and every one really enjoyed their food and time spent there. My Stonewalls burger was delicious and fries were obviously done fresh in house, nice and crispy! We had mega martinis in huge martini glasses and it made for some really cool pictures. Next time I go to a concert at Copps I know where I am going. Stonewalls!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Totally amazing!

    After reading the reviews online I almost didn't come here. It makes me wonder if some people have a vendetta against this place?? The weather was cool when we went so we didnt sit on the patio, but we had a quick look at it and it looks really nice. Nice flowers, tables, umbrellas etc, it looks very inviting and we will come back to enjoy it as soon as we can. The wait staff was very friendly and welcomed us to Stonewalls upon our arrival. Our server (Shelby) told us all about the new menu (apparently it was just out a few days) and informed us about the up coming events. I'm really looking forward to coming back for the live music. Our server told us how we could find the up coming bands under events on their web page and gave us a business card for Ellie with their web site on it. We had a nice little chat with Shelby and was very pleased to have her as our server. She should get a raise she made our night. I didn't think I was ever going to get my wife to leave she was having so much fun. After looking at the menu I found so many things I wanted to try I didn't know where to start. Shelby recommend a few of their new items to try and we chose the pulled pork sliders to start with. It came with 3 different sauces served on a pretzel bun and we found them very tasty and presented well. For our main course I had my Old time favorite fish and chips and my wife had surf and turf ravioli. The fish and chips was one of the best I have had, crispy, nice golden brown and Shelby made sure we knew we were eating award winning Gold medal fries which she did not lead us wrong, they were delicious and well deserving of many medals in my opinion. My wife said the surf and turf ravioli was like having a party in her mouth (that sort of scares me) but I could tell she was really enjoying it so I had to try it. I don't know about having a party in my mouth but it was very good. Its to hard to make at home fresh so if you are up for some amazing pasta then give this a go. All the portions are big and we ended up taking enough home for lunch the next day. Ellie came to our table and asked us how everything went as we were looking at our bill. We shared with her how we hear their ads on Y108 all the time so thought about giving it a try but almost didn't come from all the bad reviews we had read online before coming out for dinner. I could tell she really cares about Stonewalls and learned from her its not a chain like we thought. Its a family run business, her and her brother (Darren I think) trying to make a nice warm place, for regular people to come eat, hang out and have fun. We were happy to hear they cater to a older clientele on the weekends for entertainment and will surely come back to try out the dance floor. All in all, we were very pleasantly pleased with our first experience with Stonewalls. Our server Shelby, the food, the warm cozy atmosphere, everything was bang on. Either they have really stepped up their game from all these bad reviews we have read about or maybe there is something going on behind the scenes that is suspect. I don't know, I am just glad my wife said "Don't believe everything you read online" actually I think she said newspapers, but you get the idea, and came for a very enjoyable evening. Give them a try, I believe you will have a wonderful evening just like we did. And if you want a great server, ask for Shelby or Ellie.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Best Food and Service

    I don't know what restaurant all these bad reviews ate at, but I've sampled almost everything there is to offer on this menu. Not only is everything homemade, fresh and delicious, but unique. They have a unique twist on calamari which we were told my our server is done on-site by there Chef. There is always a unique soup every time I have gone. Something I have never even heard of at any other restaurant, such as 'Dill Pickle Soup', 'Chicken Caesar Salad soup' and 'Pepperoni Pizza Soup' They sometimes have fresh mussels on the weekends which are delicious! The burgers are the best I have had anywhere, not to mention creative. The fries are also home made and hand cut. All I can say is I have been here several times and have yet to have a bad meal. Although it is busy every time I have gone, they can definetly use with putting more service staff on. A lot of times when I am in there, there is only one server on, bar tending as well as scurrying from table to table. Why a place the size of this would only have one server working and no bartender at all at anytime is ludacris.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    December 11, 2018

    There was only one waitress working and she had a large party as well as our table. We waited a long time for her to take our order and then another wait to get the bill. Other than that it was a good experience with very good food.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 3/5

    November 26, 2018

    Our server was Zoey and she was terrific. She worked her butt off. We had a grsat time. Thank you to all the staff.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 24, 2018

    There was 5 of us for dinner and none of us had anything to complain about. Service and food was fabulous. Will definitely be coming back

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 20, 2018

    Excellent time at stonewalls Band paying tributeto u2 was amazing

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 11, 2018

    We had a great evening.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 27, 2018

    Suzi-Q is an attentive and hard-working GM with great poise and attentional to detail. Excellent hire by the Stonewall’s executive team. Our server, whose name escapes me, (I know she’s a science major at Mac hoping to go to med school), was perfect — friendly, funny and came around enough without being over-bearing. Freedom Train did what the always do, entertain the crowd and leave them wanting more. It was definitely a 5-star night!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 28, 2018

    Always have a great experience at Stonewalls.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 14, 2018

    Hi, I have been to your restaurant on other occasions and the food and service has been excellent. It s very rare for me to send an email regarding poor food and service. i made a reservation for a group of 10 at your establishment for 6 pn on Friday October 10th. You were very prompt to respond and confirm my reservation. We arrived promptly at 6 pm and the waitress took our drink and food order very quickly. The waitresses were polite and worked to the best of their ability. My issue was that we waited nearly one and half hours for the food to be brought to the table, which consisted of mainly soups, burgers and nachos. Some of the orders never made it to the table. This did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. You had an "event menu" which should have ensured that food was ready and served promptly. The quality of the food was good but, this did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. This experience has left me with doubt about ever returning.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 2/5

    Service: 3/5

    October 1, 2018

    Very attentive staff, everyone loved the atmosphere and the band was great as well!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 23, 2018

    Service was quick and attentive without being over the top - sometimes waitstaff hover too much. The meals were all very tasty and good medium sized portions.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 15, 2018

    We had a great meal served by a very friendly, efficient waitress who greeted us at the door. The live band playing later was awesome.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    For being so busy it was great food, fast service!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Thank you!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Over all a very good experience. Got forgotten about at the start, but service was great after that. Found it very loud but we were right in front of the stage

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    September 11, 2018

    It was a great place to have dinner prior to the CCMA's. The bands were great!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 2, 2018

    Best venue in Hamilton

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    August 5, 2018

    Really enjoyed the venue staff were nice! Service was rocking in the beginning but not so much later on throughout the night Would go back !!!! Party platter amazing !!!!!!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 2/5

    July 23, 2018

    food was amazing. Best burger and poutine combo !!! Service from waitress was amazing as well as Service from Dennis. The band was great and the athmosphere was amazing !

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 23, 2018

    Service and entertainment was great. However, the air conditioner was not working or is was hardly on, it was very uncomfortable, it was too hot!

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 3/5

    July 18, 2018

    We waited, on the patio, about 10-15 minutes before server came to us (with no menus) She Asked for our drink order, after she asked if the empty glasses on the table were ours. We said no, and asked for the menus. She left to get the menus, without taking the previous patrons glasss. We waited. We waited again, to place our orders. The food , did come In an appropriate time. Then we waited again, for her to ask how things were, if we needed anything ect. Then we waited, again, for our table to be cleared, and our bills. The food, no complaints! We all enjoyed the meal. The patio, perfect size, not crowded. The 2 of us that ordered the red sangrias, for the one drink we treated ourselves too, was very watered down. For four girlfriends, whom make a point of getting together once a month for dinner, we did enjoy ourselves, however, giving we do this only once a month; it is unfortunate that given the service, it did put a negative damper on our evening we planned. The server, maybe new? Having a rough day? Short staffed? She was friendly, she tried? We can all understand and appreciate that things happen, however, this just left us all with a not the best experience. Would we recommend Stonewalls? Maybe, If you have the time to wait.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    July 16, 2018

    The place was packed. Our waitress was excellent. Friendly, timely and good service

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 16, 2018

    This was our first visit to Stonewalls and we were extremely pleased with the courteous staff, the great food, our booth seats were awesome and the Liverpool band was fabulous. I'm certain we'll be back for another dinner/show sometime. Thanks.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 16, 2018

    Went with 9 friends to the Beatles show. Even though the place was packed, the service and staff were excellent.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 2, 2018

    Absolutely outstanding meal. One of the best we have had in a restaurant in ages. The caesar salad was phenomenal. Service was great. Wish we lived closer!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 2, 2018

    N/A

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 18, 2018

    The food here is always delicious. I went on Father’s Day with my family of eight, the service wasn’t good, the floor below our table had food on it from prior diners and we were all sweating because it was very hot inside and when I asked about making it cooler in there they said they couldn’t change it. Plus there was a live band and I couldn’t hear the people next to me. I didn’t expect there to be a band on Father’s Day. We went once before and the service was a lot better.

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    June 14, 2018

    We had a private retirement party and it was fabulous! The space was awesome and the food was delicious. Would recommend Stonewalls for any occasion.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 4, 2018

    The volume of music was too loud, but was gratefully adjusted at our requested. No complaints about that quick response and service! A live band was not what we were looking for on a Sunday evening.

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 14, 2018

    Device was great and food was delicious. Always enjoy Stonewalls .

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 13, 2018

    Service was excellent would of rather ordered off menu then set meals for the dinner and show price band was excellent but the sound man was average

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Get an opinion about this business!

    Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

    Contact this business
    Close menu
    Subscribe to YP Newsletter