Add a photo

Ratings & Reviews - Stonewalls Restaurant

How would you rate this business?
    Sort by:
    Language:
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Needs Improvement

    Dined twice in this restaurant for a party hosted by employer. Atmosphere is great, however, the food needs to be improved particularly the seafood menu. Most of my co-workers and I were not red meat lovers and opted the seafood. We were disappointed with the fish that was served. It was tasteless. Also ordered the appetizer for the seafood and there was hardly anything on the plate because it shrunk. In addition, serving time was too long. I don't know if it was a scheme so that we constantly have to order lots of appetizers and increase our bill. But it was unacceptable wait time of 45mins to an hour! Because they have a large seating capacity to accomodate. I suggest they have to increase their kitchen staff and equipment to cater to larger crowds especially special occasions and holidays. They should have a guarantee that if serving time is over 45mins to an hour- food is on the house!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Worst service EVER

    A group of friends had planned for weeks for go for dinner & drinks to Stonewalls....Started off bad from the getgo! There was something ...not right in the Ladies Room, I informed our server & she let us know that someone had had an accident & she was going back in there....our table was really dirty....we had to ask for a cloth....which never came. The wait time of drinks was ridiculous! the place wasnt even half full at dinner hour! My meal was terrible & I refused to have them do it again because I had complained & my friends would've been long done before I recieved mine! She let me know that I wasnt being charged for the dinner I didnt eat! Thank you Captain Obvious! Our dirty glasses, cans & bottles piled up! Absolutelky the worst service ever....she passed our table several times without acknowledging us at all.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Not a Happy Diner

    Today was my birthday and my other half told me he was taking me to dinner at Stonewalls because he had heard good things about it. I always like to start off reviews by providing the positive first, so we'll start there. We walked in the door and were seated immediately. The place is spacious and clean. Our food, when it arrived, was good. When I asked for coffee, she brewed a new pot as she didn't know how old the current one was. (Though I probably would have not informed my diner of this fact) On to the next... We were seated and then left for over 5 minutes before even being asked for a drink order. It took another 10 minutes to get our drinks. Understandable if she was bringing my freshly brewed coffee...but this was not the case. She was only bringing our sodas. We placed our food order, but at no time did she write anything down. Forty-five minutes passed before we were acknowledged again. And I mean this literally. She passed our table several times without a word. I moved my empty coffee cup and soda glass (I had drained them both) to the edge of the table for her attention, I tried to make eye contact...each time she averted her gaze and kept going. Now, I'll admit that management played a huge role because they were busy and had two people working to cover the patio, the bar, the poker tournament and all the tables. Unacceptable. However, I worked hospitality for over 10 years and would NEVER have left my patrons sitting there unattended for that long. The only thing she needed to do to make it right was to stop back and let us know that she was busy, the kitchen was backed up and appreciated our patience. This should have happened after the first 15min. Or even right at the start. Anyway, our server finally stopped after 45 minutes had passed to say she was sorry for the wait and our food would be right out. It still took another 10 minutes before we saw it. At this point, we had been there for over an hour and were starving. Thus, I had to choose not to make an issue over my burger because I wasn't waiting for another hour. When ordering, I specifically asked for the cheese to be omitted from my burger. This is a preference for me, but nobody there knew that. This could have been some sort of dietary restriction or allergy. When my burger arrived, I discovered that half the bun had been scraped away with remenants of melted cheese still clinging to the sides. I sucked it up, pulled the chunks of cheese off what remained of the bun and ate it anyway. If I had been allergic and hadn't been so disillusioned that I thought to check first, it could have been a disaster. The burger itself was good, though, and Hubby's steak was good, even though it was medium rare and he had asked for well. The burger was messy eating as it took all of about 30 seconds for the thin slip of bun that was left to rip open and drop my burger onto my plate. Our plates were empty and Hubby decided he wanted a slice of cake. I was too upset by then to even consider it and tried to talk him out of it. He would not be discouraged, however, and we sat with empty plates for another 13 minutes (yes, by this time I had actually started timing it) before she came and took his dessert order. After this, it was another 17 minutes for a cold slice of cake and a bowl of vanilla ice cream. When she delivered it, I asked for the bill at the same time. 11 minutes until the bill with an 'I discounted you 15% for the wait'. I don't know how long it took her to pick up the bill because as soon as the money was in the folder, I was out the door. I've never been so upset about a dinner out before, but I'll tolerate bad food before I'll tolerate bad service and this service was terrible. It all could have been avoided by a little honesty and communication at the onset so we could have made an informed decision on whether we wanted to wait or not.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    NEW MENU-NEW PATIO!!!

    Baseball Steak-blue, great Cabernet, sunny patio! Freakin' AWESOME. Y-108 playin' cool rock out onto York blvrd. Live music is great. Patio sunny. Menu reasonable and great tasting...and all the waitresses are...HOT!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    JacD

    One of the worst experiences ever for us. The food took forever to arrive. The fish and chips were the worst my husband has ever had. The fish and batter were tasteless and the fries were cold. they even screwed up the coleslaw. My pasta dish tasted bland and it was probably stale. The appetizers we had were probably all originally frozen and had little taste. Our server was pleasant but seemed more interested in chatting with her fellow servers than waiting on her tables. The other servers were of the same mindset. Not sure if the one guy was the owner or manager but he seemed more interested in flirting with the staff than running a restaurant. Couldn't figure out if this was a restaurant or dating service. The sound system is also mediocre. They have a nice atmosphere there with the fireplace and leather seats ..... But once you taste the food you know the truth. Get a new chef , manager and waitstaff and keep the ambience. The desserts were stale as well

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    February 3, 2019

    Best burger I ever had at a restaurant.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    January 18, 2019

    We waited almost an hour and a half for our food and were late to the event we were attending that night in Hamilton. The food was great when we finally got it, but we didn’t appreciate the wait or our servers poor attitude.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    January 19, 2019

    great service despite an unusually large crowd!. Servers worked hard to ensure waits were kept to minimum.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    January 13, 2019

    We Had a Great Time Here Last Night! Loved the Food! The Music was Awesome!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    January 2, 2019

    Attended the New Years Eve event with 18 friends and my wife .The meal was excellent , lots of choices , and the Prime Rib was superb. The Bar staff did a fantastic job serving what I would say was a full house . All the Ladies behind the bar were quick to serve you and always with a smile . We never waited more that 3-4 minutes for a drink . At midnight they served everyone a toast with the waitress ensuring that all of our group got a glass. The remaining staff cleared the tables of dishes and glasses throughout the evening . The band with Brian Mello rocked the place all night with a wide selection of songs that were sure to please everyone in attendance . This was our first time attending Stonewalls but it won't be our last . A tip of the hat to the owners of this establishment , they did a great job of ensuring all their guests had an evening to remember . I rate this experience a 10 out of 10 on all measures . We have over the years attended all in New Years Events , paid a lot more , and never got the experience like we did at Stonewalls . Stonewalls knocked it out of the park !!! - WELL DONE

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    December 22, 2018

    Food was decadent .... very sweet server!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    December 22, 2018

    Suzzi looked after everything and was amazing great experience service and the 2 girls working and servicing everyone was also great Thank you

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    December 18, 2018

    Wow, Suzi and team so amazing. Food was really great and super good draught beer and bloody ceasar. Will be back for holiday party next year.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    December 17, 2018

    Band was awesome - Liverpool ! Hope they come back again!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    December 11, 2018

    There was only one waitress working and she had a large party as well as our table. We waited a long time for her to take our order and then another wait to get the bill. Other than that it was a good experience with very good food.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 3/5

    November 26, 2018

    Our server was Zoey and she was terrific. She worked her butt off. We had a grsat time. Thank you to all the staff.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 24, 2018

    There was 5 of us for dinner and none of us had anything to complain about. Service and food was fabulous. Will definitely be coming back

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 20, 2018

    Excellent time at stonewalls Band paying tributeto u2 was amazing

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 11, 2018

    We had a great evening.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 27, 2018

    Suzi-Q is an attentive and hard-working GM with great poise and attentional to detail. Excellent hire by the Stonewall’s executive team. Our server, whose name escapes me, (I know she’s a science major at Mac hoping to go to med school), was perfect — friendly, funny and came around enough without being over-bearing. Freedom Train did what the always do, entertain the crowd and leave them wanting more. It was definitely a 5-star night!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 28, 2018

    Always have a great experience at Stonewalls.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 14, 2018

    Hi, I have been to your restaurant on other occasions and the food and service has been excellent. It s very rare for me to send an email regarding poor food and service. i made a reservation for a group of 10 at your establishment for 6 pn on Friday October 10th. You were very prompt to respond and confirm my reservation. We arrived promptly at 6 pm and the waitress took our drink and food order very quickly. The waitresses were polite and worked to the best of their ability. My issue was that we waited nearly one and half hours for the food to be brought to the table, which consisted of mainly soups, burgers and nachos. Some of the orders never made it to the table. This did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. You had an "event menu" which should have ensured that food was ready and served promptly. The quality of the food was good but, this did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. This experience has left me with doubt about ever returning.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 2/5

    Service: 3/5

    October 1, 2018

    Very attentive staff, everyone loved the atmosphere and the band was great as well!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 23, 2018

    Service was quick and attentive without being over the top - sometimes waitstaff hover too much. The meals were all very tasty and good medium sized portions.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 15, 2018

    We had a great meal served by a very friendly, efficient waitress who greeted us at the door. The live band playing later was awesome.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    For being so busy it was great food, fast service!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 11, 2018

    It was a great place to have dinner prior to the CCMA's. The bands were great!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Thank you!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Over all a very good experience. Got forgotten about at the start, but service was great after that. Found it very loud but we were right in front of the stage

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    September 2, 2018

    Best venue in Hamilton

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    August 5, 2018

    Really enjoyed the venue staff were nice! Service was rocking in the beginning but not so much later on throughout the night Would go back !!!! Party platter amazing !!!!!!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 2/5

    July 23, 2018

    Service and entertainment was great. However, the air conditioner was not working or is was hardly on, it was very uncomfortable, it was too hot!

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 3/5

    July 23, 2018

    food was amazing. Best burger and poutine combo !!! Service from waitress was amazing as well as Service from Dennis. The band was great and the athmosphere was amazing !

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 18, 2018

    We waited, on the patio, about 10-15 minutes before server came to us (with no menus) She Asked for our drink order, after she asked if the empty glasses on the table were ours. We said no, and asked for the menus. She left to get the menus, without taking the previous patrons glasss. We waited. We waited again, to place our orders. The food , did come In an appropriate time. Then we waited again, for her to ask how things were, if we needed anything ect. Then we waited, again, for our table to be cleared, and our bills. The food, no complaints! We all enjoyed the meal. The patio, perfect size, not crowded. The 2 of us that ordered the red sangrias, for the one drink we treated ourselves too, was very watered down. For four girlfriends, whom make a point of getting together once a month for dinner, we did enjoy ourselves, however, giving we do this only once a month; it is unfortunate that given the service, it did put a negative damper on our evening we planned. The server, maybe new? Having a rough day? Short staffed? She was friendly, she tried? We can all understand and appreciate that things happen, however, this just left us all with a not the best experience. Would we recommend Stonewalls? Maybe, If you have the time to wait.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    July 16, 2018

    The place was packed. Our waitress was excellent. Friendly, timely and good service

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Get an opinion about this business!

    Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

    Contact this business
    Close menu
    Subscribe to YP Newsletter