Add a photo

Ratings & Reviews - Stonewalls Restaurant

How would you rate this business?
    Sort by:
    Language:
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Now, here's a place that appreciated our Business!

    After our last experience at another restaurant where we couldn't get a server to bring us a drink we left and came to Stonewalls. Our server Stacy, was amazing, attentive, and informative. This was our first time here and we asked her a bunch of questions and she took the time to answer our questions and tell us about everything that Stonewalls has to offer. She informed us about the features of the day and drink specials. Our food was really really good and the fries, OMG, they were awesome! The atmosphere is very modern and has a nice classy feel to it. We'll be back, and Thanks Stacy for the great service, we found our new hang out!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    So good!

    When Stonewalls originally opened in my neighbourhood I start counting down the days until they would inevitably have to close down. I thought the decor and the upper-end menu would not match the area's tastes. I am so pleased I was wrong! For me, Stonewalls has been fantastic. There is something for everyone on the menu and all of it has been good to very good, no matter what time of the day I go. There is often something going on at night (poker, trivia, live music) and there is a solid crowd 25-55 years old, never rowdy and the dress code seems to be business casual for most patrons. Their service is courteous and they take the time to get to know you and what you want. They are willing to work with dietary restrictions and make recommendations. The owner circulates regularly and knows all of their regular clientele. The decor is very nice: stone walls, well-light bar, large tables, many TVS... It is all very new, modern and fresh looking. They have a stage and a dance floor for weekend nights, big tables, lots of seating and I'm happy to bring both my friends AND clients to Stonewalls. I've liked everything I've ordered. In particular, they make a great cobb salad, pot roast grilled cheese, beer battered brie, artichoke dip and their fries are among the better ones I've had. It blows my mind that their are bad reviews on this restaurant, it's totally different from everything else downtown in an amazing way. Don't let them throw you off, this place is well above average and doesn't deserve any negative hype.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Great Experience

    Must say i really enjoyed my time at stonewalls, went for a birthday party and they already had the reservation set up to accommodate us all. Staff are all very friendly and work together. The food was super fast for the number of ppl we had. Love the location and decorations. Everything was great. Thanks again Stonewalls. P.S. love all the entertainment and updates in the view!!!!!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    I have been looking for somewhere like Stonewalls in Hamilton for a long time. I haven't found anywhere where under one roof you can find amazing live music, delicious food and a fun and friendly staff. We were there to see Tomi Swick on a Tuesday night and we had a blast. I have a lot of dietary needs and my server was very accomodating and spoke with the chef about what would be suitable for me. I ended up getting the cobb salad and the catch of the day which was very fresh. The cobb salad was the best I have ever had. I will definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and can't wait to go back for more music soon!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Pleasantly Surprised!

    My friend invited us out for dinner and not having heard about Stonewalls I thought I would read some reviews about it prior to going. After I did this I called my friend back and asked if we could go some where else. The reviews were mostly bad to say the least. My friend said he has never heard any reviews about Stonewalls but goes there all the time and its been great each time. So I relented and off to Stonewalls we go. From the out side it was okay and wasn't sure what to think, but as soon as I walked in and saw the warm decor and the size of it, I was relieved, its beautiful inside. I thought this is a place I can see my self coming to for a great night out. But, I was concerned about the food after all the reviews I read so still not sure. We were greeted very warmly by Jennifer at the door who also served us. She is so nice and friendly and what a smile. She took us to a booth, now that is a booth, lol. It easily fit all six of us and one of my friends is on the rather hmm large size and we all fit very comfortably in the booth. We got the menu and we all decided to order some apps to share. We ordered the calamari, Beer Battered Brie, and Irish Nachos. I wasn't expecting much after reading all the reviews and was in a little bit of a sour mood because of it and ready to be the first to have something go wrong so I could say to my friend "I told you so". I tried the calamari first, and wow, is all I can say. After everything I read the last thing I was expecting was tasting the best darn calamari I have ever had. What a nice surprise. I had the Irish Nachos next and they had a nice kick to them and where nice and crispy with a ton of cheese on them. I tried the beer battered brie next and really enjoyed the fresh berries on top, really nice, but the big winner of the apps was without a doubt was the calamari that was served with 3 sauces. Go try it yourself, its amazing! It was Prime Rib night so that had me sold as soon as I heard that and my girl friend had the Malibu Coconut Rum Chicken Pasta dish (anyway to get more booze in her, lol) My prime Rib was perfectly cooked, I am not big on peppers in my veggies but the rest was really tasty. The pasta was cooked al dente, and my g/f loved it. For me, I like it the way I grew up with it in my non-Italian family, over cooked! My rather large sized friend who goes to Stonewalls often had the Stonewalls burger and he talked about it so much after dinner I thought it should be nominated for an Oscar or something. I didn't taste it but man, it sure did look good. I cant remember any of the other dishes our other friends had but every one really enjoyed their food and had a wonderful time. And it was my friend who said to me "I told you so". I am glad I was proved wrong, Stonewalls is the place to be for great food and a pleasant atmosphere. For me, this has taught me a big lesson. Give every place a chance and don't believe everything you read. I do have one regret, I wish I had a bigger stomach. Desert looked amazing but had no room for it, guess that means another trip down to Stonewalls, lol. On our way out a grey haired man (Manager?) was standing at the front entrance and asked us how everything was. I told him I almost didnt come to Stonewalls because of all the negative reviews I read and was pleasantly surprised to have great food and an amazing server. He said "Yes, we get that all the time". He very candidly stated they have had some bad nights but with the new chef on staff have been slowly changing the perception of Stonewalls one customer at a time. He also said, if you have a great experience do you rush home and write a review about it? Most people don't, but if you have a bad one, you go out of your way to tell every one. Truer words have never been spoken. On the way home I talked to my girl friend about his words and made a point of making a commitment to writing this review. Sorry for not rushing home and doing it right away, but after all

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    December 11, 2018

    There was only one waitress working and she had a large party as well as our table. We waited a long time for her to take our order and then another wait to get the bill. Other than that it was a good experience with very good food.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 3/5

    November 26, 2018

    Our server was Zoey and she was terrific. She worked her butt off. We had a grsat time. Thank you to all the staff.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 24, 2018

    There was 5 of us for dinner and none of us had anything to complain about. Service and food was fabulous. Will definitely be coming back

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 20, 2018

    Excellent time at stonewalls Band paying tributeto u2 was amazing

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 11, 2018

    We had a great evening.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 27, 2018

    Suzi-Q is an attentive and hard-working GM with great poise and attentional to detail. Excellent hire by the Stonewall’s executive team. Our server, whose name escapes me, (I know she’s a science major at Mac hoping to go to med school), was perfect — friendly, funny and came around enough without being over-bearing. Freedom Train did what the always do, entertain the crowd and leave them wanting more. It was definitely a 5-star night!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 28, 2018

    Always have a great experience at Stonewalls.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 14, 2018

    Hi, I have been to your restaurant on other occasions and the food and service has been excellent. It s very rare for me to send an email regarding poor food and service. i made a reservation for a group of 10 at your establishment for 6 pn on Friday October 10th. You were very prompt to respond and confirm my reservation. We arrived promptly at 6 pm and the waitress took our drink and food order very quickly. The waitresses were polite and worked to the best of their ability. My issue was that we waited nearly one and half hours for the food to be brought to the table, which consisted of mainly soups, burgers and nachos. Some of the orders never made it to the table. This did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. You had an "event menu" which should have ensured that food was ready and served promptly. The quality of the food was good but, this did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. This experience has left me with doubt about ever returning.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 2/5

    Service: 3/5

    October 1, 2018

    Very attentive staff, everyone loved the atmosphere and the band was great as well!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 23, 2018

    Service was quick and attentive without being over the top - sometimes waitstaff hover too much. The meals were all very tasty and good medium sized portions.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 15, 2018

    We had a great meal served by a very friendly, efficient waitress who greeted us at the door. The live band playing later was awesome.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    For being so busy it was great food, fast service!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Thank you!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Over all a very good experience. Got forgotten about at the start, but service was great after that. Found it very loud but we were right in front of the stage

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    September 11, 2018

    It was a great place to have dinner prior to the CCMA's. The bands were great!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 2, 2018

    Best venue in Hamilton

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    August 5, 2018

    Really enjoyed the venue staff were nice! Service was rocking in the beginning but not so much later on throughout the night Would go back !!!! Party platter amazing !!!!!!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 2/5

    July 23, 2018

    food was amazing. Best burger and poutine combo !!! Service from waitress was amazing as well as Service from Dennis. The band was great and the athmosphere was amazing !

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 23, 2018

    Service and entertainment was great. However, the air conditioner was not working or is was hardly on, it was very uncomfortable, it was too hot!

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 3/5

    July 18, 2018

    We waited, on the patio, about 10-15 minutes before server came to us (with no menus) She Asked for our drink order, after she asked if the empty glasses on the table were ours. We said no, and asked for the menus. She left to get the menus, without taking the previous patrons glasss. We waited. We waited again, to place our orders. The food , did come In an appropriate time. Then we waited again, for her to ask how things were, if we needed anything ect. Then we waited, again, for our table to be cleared, and our bills. The food, no complaints! We all enjoyed the meal. The patio, perfect size, not crowded. The 2 of us that ordered the red sangrias, for the one drink we treated ourselves too, was very watered down. For four girlfriends, whom make a point of getting together once a month for dinner, we did enjoy ourselves, however, giving we do this only once a month; it is unfortunate that given the service, it did put a negative damper on our evening we planned. The server, maybe new? Having a rough day? Short staffed? She was friendly, she tried? We can all understand and appreciate that things happen, however, this just left us all with a not the best experience. Would we recommend Stonewalls? Maybe, If you have the time to wait.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    July 16, 2018

    The place was packed. Our waitress was excellent. Friendly, timely and good service

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 16, 2018

    This was our first visit to Stonewalls and we were extremely pleased with the courteous staff, the great food, our booth seats were awesome and the Liverpool band was fabulous. I'm certain we'll be back for another dinner/show sometime. Thanks.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 16, 2018

    Went with 9 friends to the Beatles show. Even though the place was packed, the service and staff were excellent.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 2, 2018

    Absolutely outstanding meal. One of the best we have had in a restaurant in ages. The caesar salad was phenomenal. Service was great. Wish we lived closer!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 2, 2018

    N/A

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 18, 2018

    The food here is always delicious. I went on Father’s Day with my family of eight, the service wasn’t good, the floor below our table had food on it from prior diners and we were all sweating because it was very hot inside and when I asked about making it cooler in there they said they couldn’t change it. Plus there was a live band and I couldn’t hear the people next to me. I didn’t expect there to be a band on Father’s Day. We went once before and the service was a lot better.

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    June 14, 2018

    We had a private retirement party and it was fabulous! The space was awesome and the food was delicious. Would recommend Stonewalls for any occasion.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 4, 2018

    The volume of music was too loud, but was gratefully adjusted at our requested. No complaints about that quick response and service! A live band was not what we were looking for on a Sunday evening.

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 14, 2018

    Device was great and food was delicious. Always enjoy Stonewalls .

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 13, 2018

    Service was excellent would of rather ordered off menu then set meals for the dinner and show price band was excellent but the sound man was average

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Get an opinion about this business!

    Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

    Contact this business
    Close menu
    Subscribe to YP Newsletter