Add a photo

Ratings & Reviews - Stonewalls Restaurant

How would you rate this business?
    Sort by:
    Language:
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Below Average

    We went looking for a spot we haven't been to and chose Stonewall's. Probably not the best choice. Pasta was far over-cooked and horribly bland. For "lobster" mac & cheese, i actually expected to see some lobster in it.....i guess there was, but I didn't see it. Steak was simply OK, vegetables were so overdone they were mush and the fries were cold and limp Have to say I would not recommend this place. There is better dining out there

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    stonewalls - not bad, but unethical

    I wanted to say is that the service I had was not bad by any means, and the food was great. I just noticed the communication between the manager (I believe his name is dennis) and his wait staff. The point being? Total lack of communication. Dennis appeared to be agitated and annoyed with how busy it was and was talking to one of his employees near my table. If I were that employee, I would be extremely disrespected and would have quit my job on the spot. Poor girl. No one deserves to be talked to like that. And not only that, at least have the decency to talk to your employees away from your customers so a review like this wouldn’t be posted. I will never return to stonewalls because I know how the staff get treated because I witnessed it first handed. If you are frustrated with being busy, then imagine how the people working for you are feeling. They don’t need a grump boss breathing down their neck in front of everyone so they feel even worse.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    This place rocks!!!

    I Love going to stonewalls! It is a wonderful place! The staff is amaazing!! friendly and happy! the food was incredible.. I heard they got a new chef, in the past month or so, and you can definetly tell the difference in the food, it is so much better now. They have a new menu that is great. Every meal I get when I go there is deeelicious, and never fails to win my heart (and stomach) They also have saturday night bands every week, and Scott from Y108 does a live show on sundays and plays guitar live on the patio.. I would and have recommended this place to everyone I know! It's not always busy but it should be! great place!!

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Worst Dining Experience I Have Ever Had

    When we first arrived at Stonewalls I must admit I was impressed. It looked clean and warm and inviting. If only the service matched the decor. Our friends had arrived before us and as soon as we sat down quickly warned us that our waitress was in a terrible mood and that they'd been forced to wait forever for her to come back around after they had ordered. Our waitress came to the table looking extremely miserable and took our drink orders ( She did NOT ask for I.D from anyone at the table) . When she arrived with our drinks we asked if we could order food as well and she said " Do you mind waiting till I've cleared all this first?" in an extremely irritated manner. I have never felt like such a burden just placing an order. We then informed her that we were expecting more people and would it be okay if we moved to a bigger table and pulled some extra tables together. She sighed and made it seem like a major deal. Weird since more people means more money for her and for the restaurant. Anyways we moved and waited for our food to arrive. Then, suddenly, our waitress showed up at our table and said " No outside alcohol is allowed inside this restaurant!" and stormed off. Minutes later, an older man, I'm assuming either the manager or the owner, came to our large table and threatened to "throw each and every one of us" out of his restaurant. He did not address us in a polite or respectful manner at all. Everyone at our table seemed confused. He went on to say that our waitress had found an alcoholic beverage container under our first table. He did not even ask if it belonged to us, he just assumed and started yelling rudely about their strict liquor polices. Which is funny because we were a group of young people and we all ordered alcoholic drinks and none of us were asked to show I.D. He did not give us a chance to defend ourselves just abruptly walked away. Then our waitress came back to the table and demanded that we all "pay up immediately" since they have "another policy" that states that all meals must be cashed out before 9:30 pm, although we did not see anyone else in the restaurant being harassed into paying. Keep in mind we had still not even received our meal. It came to around $38 . I handed her my money. She did not look at me. She did not say thank you or do you need change. She grabbed it out of my hand and walked away. Then she returned stuck my change on the table and left. It was one member of our parties birthday that day and that was why we had decided to celebrate. When the waitress was asked about the free entree for birthday deal mentioned in the menu she said no because we did not have the coupon. We explained that we did not know that a coupon was needed and asked if there was anything the restaurant could do for us. She said no and walked away. We were a large group who spent a lot of money and they treated us like dirt. I have nothing much to say about the meal. We ordered the Rustico pizza and yam fries.It was nothing special and certainly not worth what they charged for it. Then as we were preparing to leave a hired comedian took over the front. He asked if there were any birthdays being celebrated that day. When we said yes he asked about gifts. Then he quickly turned the joke into a series of extremely inappropriate sex jokes. We all felt very uncomfortable. It was not what we were expecting from such a classy looking place. We quickly left. I will never return to Stonewalls. And if I am ever asked about it I will warn everyone about the horrible way they treat paying customers. The only reason I rated atmosphere and service a 1 out of 5 was because 0 was not an option.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Stonewalls is EXCELLENT

    I have attended Stonewalls multiple times and finally decided to post a comment. As a newer restaurant, I feel like people need to give them a chance. I had excellent customer service… my waitress waited on me hand and foot (filled my drink without asking, checked up on my table more than twice, gave me all options for a side dish). Although they have a very nice open concept kitchen with a huge wood oven to cook pizzas, I opted for the Stonewalls Burger. My god!!! It was delicious! Best burger I have ever eaten. Portion size is huge... you definitely get your moneys worth. Just a heads up: they have live music all the time and the bands are great!!!! I would recommend everyone going and finding out for themselves what Stonewalls is all about.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    December 11, 2018

    There was only one waitress working and she had a large party as well as our table. We waited a long time for her to take our order and then another wait to get the bill. Other than that it was a good experience with very good food.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 3/5

    November 26, 2018

    Our server was Zoey and she was terrific. She worked her butt off. We had a grsat time. Thank you to all the staff.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 24, 2018

    There was 5 of us for dinner and none of us had anything to complain about. Service and food was fabulous. Will definitely be coming back

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 20, 2018

    Excellent time at stonewalls Band paying tributeto u2 was amazing

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 11, 2018

    We had a great evening.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 27, 2018

    Suzi-Q is an attentive and hard-working GM with great poise and attentional to detail. Excellent hire by the Stonewall’s executive team. Our server, whose name escapes me, (I know she’s a science major at Mac hoping to go to med school), was perfect — friendly, funny and came around enough without being over-bearing. Freedom Train did what the always do, entertain the crowd and leave them wanting more. It was definitely a 5-star night!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 28, 2018

    Always have a great experience at Stonewalls.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 14, 2018

    Hi, I have been to your restaurant on other occasions and the food and service has been excellent. It s very rare for me to send an email regarding poor food and service. i made a reservation for a group of 10 at your establishment for 6 pn on Friday October 10th. You were very prompt to respond and confirm my reservation. We arrived promptly at 6 pm and the waitress took our drink and food order very quickly. The waitresses were polite and worked to the best of their ability. My issue was that we waited nearly one and half hours for the food to be brought to the table, which consisted of mainly soups, burgers and nachos. Some of the orders never made it to the table. This did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. You had an "event menu" which should have ensured that food was ready and served promptly. The quality of the food was good but, this did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. This experience has left me with doubt about ever returning.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 2/5

    Service: 3/5

    October 1, 2018

    Very attentive staff, everyone loved the atmosphere and the band was great as well!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 23, 2018

    Service was quick and attentive without being over the top - sometimes waitstaff hover too much. The meals were all very tasty and good medium sized portions.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 15, 2018

    We had a great meal served by a very friendly, efficient waitress who greeted us at the door. The live band playing later was awesome.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    For being so busy it was great food, fast service!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 11, 2018

    It was a great place to have dinner prior to the CCMA's. The bands were great!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Thank you!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Over all a very good experience. Got forgotten about at the start, but service was great after that. Found it very loud but we were right in front of the stage

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    September 2, 2018

    Best venue in Hamilton

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    August 5, 2018

    Really enjoyed the venue staff were nice! Service was rocking in the beginning but not so much later on throughout the night Would go back !!!! Party platter amazing !!!!!!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 2/5

    July 23, 2018

    Service and entertainment was great. However, the air conditioner was not working or is was hardly on, it was very uncomfortable, it was too hot!

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 3/5

    July 23, 2018

    food was amazing. Best burger and poutine combo !!! Service from waitress was amazing as well as Service from Dennis. The band was great and the athmosphere was amazing !

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 18, 2018

    We waited, on the patio, about 10-15 minutes before server came to us (with no menus) She Asked for our drink order, after she asked if the empty glasses on the table were ours. We said no, and asked for the menus. She left to get the menus, without taking the previous patrons glasss. We waited. We waited again, to place our orders. The food , did come In an appropriate time. Then we waited again, for her to ask how things were, if we needed anything ect. Then we waited, again, for our table to be cleared, and our bills. The food, no complaints! We all enjoyed the meal. The patio, perfect size, not crowded. The 2 of us that ordered the red sangrias, for the one drink we treated ourselves too, was very watered down. For four girlfriends, whom make a point of getting together once a month for dinner, we did enjoy ourselves, however, giving we do this only once a month; it is unfortunate that given the service, it did put a negative damper on our evening we planned. The server, maybe new? Having a rough day? Short staffed? She was friendly, she tried? We can all understand and appreciate that things happen, however, this just left us all with a not the best experience. Would we recommend Stonewalls? Maybe, If you have the time to wait.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    July 16, 2018

    The place was packed. Our waitress was excellent. Friendly, timely and good service

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 16, 2018

    Went with 9 friends to the Beatles show. Even though the place was packed, the service and staff were excellent.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 16, 2018

    This was our first visit to Stonewalls and we were extremely pleased with the courteous staff, the great food, our booth seats were awesome and the Liverpool band was fabulous. I'm certain we'll be back for another dinner/show sometime. Thanks.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 2, 2018

    Absolutely outstanding meal. One of the best we have had in a restaurant in ages. The caesar salad was phenomenal. Service was great. Wish we lived closer!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 2, 2018

    N/A

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 18, 2018

    The food here is always delicious. I went on Father’s Day with my family of eight, the service wasn’t good, the floor below our table had food on it from prior diners and we were all sweating because it was very hot inside and when I asked about making it cooler in there they said they couldn’t change it. Plus there was a live band and I couldn’t hear the people next to me. I didn’t expect there to be a band on Father’s Day. We went once before and the service was a lot better.

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    June 14, 2018

    We had a private retirement party and it was fabulous! The space was awesome and the food was delicious. Would recommend Stonewalls for any occasion.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 4, 2018

    The volume of music was too loud, but was gratefully adjusted at our requested. No complaints about that quick response and service! A live band was not what we were looking for on a Sunday evening.

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 14, 2018

    Device was great and food was delicious. Always enjoy Stonewalls .

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 13, 2018

    Service was excellent would of rather ordered off menu then set meals for the dinner and show price band was excellent but the sound man was average

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Get an opinion about this business!

    Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

    Contact this business
    Close menu
    Subscribe to YP Newsletter