Add a photo
Add a photo
Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Restaurant type

  • Steakhouse,

Cuisine type

  • Steakhouse,

Features

  • Restaurant With Bar,
  • Free Parking,
  • Bar Games / Trivia,
  • Big Screen TV / Satellite,
  • Restaurant With Delivery Services,
  • Events,
    • Full Dinner Menu,
    • Restaurant With Live Entertainment,
    • Lunch Menu,
    • Online Ordering,
  • more...
  • less...

Atmosphere

  • Casual,

Languages Spoken

  • English,
Location
339 York Blvd, Hamilton, ON L8R 2X9
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Verify with Merchant

Rates:

  • $11 To $25,

Methods of Payment:

Ratings & Reviews - Stonewalls Restaurant

How would you rate this business?
3.4/5
  • Excellent
  • Very good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible
12
9
6
11
2
    Sort by:
    Language:
    Restaurantica12
    By

    goodbye horseshoe....

    Okay, just following up on my review that I wrote just prior to going there for a work lunch yesterday. I haven't been to Stonewalls in about six weeks. Talk about a let down. The service was terrible, slower than molasses. If you know you have a party of 16 coming in, then staff accordingly. It should not take 20 minutes to bring a beverage to the table. I ordered the cesar salad (9.99) with chicken added for an extra $4.00. For $13.99 I would expect a substantial salad, instead I received a little salad that fit on a luncheon plate. The chicken breast was grilled without any seasoning whatsoever, completely bland. Most of the people around me ordered sandwiches for their lunch....and that's exactly what they got. A sandwich on a plate. Terrible presentation. It seems to me that the last time I went there for a lunch, a side salad came with the sandwiches, but I could be wrong. The experience was very disappointing overall. The price was outrageous for the meagre portion. It still has a great atmosphere, but they must be in $$ trouble and cutting corners on fthe food. Not the way to go if you want to survive. I may give this place one more chance and go for a dinner...that is if it's still open.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Not very good

    Went to this place last night and the pizza was pretty awful. Didn't feel too good afterward either. The room set-up is quite nice though, with lots of screens - great place to hold a campaign event.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Not a good first visit

    First, I must admit that it was a bad time to try a restaurant for the first time...during World Cup, but...I was totally unimpressed by just about everything. $12.00 for a glass of wine in a roadhouse is just too much to charge. My 3 guests and I ordered appetizers to share so we could get a taste of everything. All of them were just okay. Nothing stood out as something I would love to order again. One of the plates we ordered was the chicken nachos. My friend had been there before and commented on how small the order was in comparison to other times she had ordered them. The server said that they had run out and that was why the order was so small. We got charged full price all the same. You would think that if a server told you that you were getting half an oder that they would compensate you in some way. Not the case. Also, the music is so loud that we could hardly hear each other talking. I actually hated the whole experience somuch that I will not recommend it to anyone. Too bad because it has potential.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    very sad

    It's unfortunate that we gave this restaurant 3 tries (because we live in the area and are all about supporting local businesses).. because it's terrible. We can't say much about the food because the first time we went there was NO food available (only drinks.. which i think may be illegal for restaurants in Ontario?) the second time we ate off of the late night menu even though we were there around 10 on a friday.. the food was uninspired and over priced. The third and final time we arrived on a Friday night at 9:45 and offered a "late night" limited menu. REALLY? it's Friday night and the kitchen is nearly closed?? We ordered our drinks which were a special that night.. $3.50 a shot.. but were charged $5 each. We don't care about the money but why advertise a special and not honour it? When we asked the manager why we were charged the extra he accused us of "being sneaky" because we ordered a side of water with our vodka!? really? since when is ordering water "sneaky"?? This place is so disappointing and I'll be surprised if it lasts another month. Needless to say, we left and went to the Pheasant Plucker and had a great full dinner and wonderful service.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Outstandingly bad

    This place was terrible and a big disappointment. No beer on tap at a gastropub? Out of soup? Out of Perrier? No bread with the salad (I had to order their herb bread greaseball). The pizza was not good either - the crust was sweet, which suggests a mix. My $8 salad was pathetic. The coffee was old and left a bad taste in the mouth. And the food took much too long to come. The waitress did her best, but that wasn't enough to make for a decent experience. What a waste of money. And as someone else on here says, obviously no one cares about this place. Bad enough to make me write my very-first-ever restaurant review.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    August 11, 2020

    Our waitress was excellent, friendly and attentive. Food was delicious.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    August 9, 2020

    Thank you for being good about covid rules. Glad you’re open.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 5/5

    August 9, 2020

    Just wish I could pick the table I'd like

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 2/5

    August 9, 2020

    We were there shortly after restaurants were allowed to open. COVID protocols were observed and clearly followed. Stephen Oros was playing guitar the night we were there. Although there was no dancing or singing along allowed, we had a great time and the live music really enhanced the atmosphere. Food and service were very good. This is a great place.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    July 29, 2020

    Nice evening on the patio. Great service and food!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 25, 2020

    It was our first time stonewalls the service and food was great we will be going back and will tell our friends and family thank you

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 13, 2020

    Friendly and fast service! Lovely patio and yummy food as always!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 13, 2020

    Always love Stonewalls. Just delicious.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 9, 2020

    our sever did a great job in the heat

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 25, 2020

    The waitress was on the ball. Very nice.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    March 2, 2020

    Great spot for casual get together. Friendly staff, good grub and awesome entertainment

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    February 22, 2020

    My favorite venue in Hamilton!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 4/5

    January 29, 2020

    We had burger that were not cook red in the middle. They only had half a glass of pinot grigio wine ( a very common wine). Sorry to say it will be our last time there. You ruin my spouse birthday lunch. It was a good restaurant but this was the last time for us. The service was great!!!!. lucarno@bell.net

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 1/5

    Service: 4/5

    December 23, 2019

    The jambalaya was basically rice and tomatoes with a few shrimp and the burger was sloppy. We were there a few years ago and the food was fantastic. Last night we were not impressed. We will not return.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 1/5

    Service: 3/5

    December 21, 2019

    We loved the atmosphere and food was great. Wish it was just a little bit less expensive but overall wonderful time.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    December 20, 2019

    We had our Holiday Party at Stonewalls. We had the place to ourselves which allowed us to play a “Murder Mystery” game. Food and service was great.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    December 15, 2019

    Chicken wings and Caesar salad were excellent. Service was good.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 4/5

    November 17, 2019

    Service was great and the food was brought out quickly and hot

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 28, 2019

    Did not like the benches for watching the band. Only the people facing the stage got to view. No coat hangers or coat check. Had a good time though.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    October 27, 2019

    We had a fantastic time

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 20, 2019

    Thank you so much everything was great

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    August 31, 2019

    Great food, great atmosphere and nice, friendly staff!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 22, 2019

    came before a def leppard concert, limited menu but still very good. Will remember if need to come back prior to a concert.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    June 24, 2019

    We have hosted our biannual FOGG get together at Stonewalls for years and have never been disappointed. The staff was always courteous and attentive and the food and drinks were always excellent.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 15, 2019

    I don’t go to Stonewalls enough always great !!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 11, 2019

    The best venue in Hamilton!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 6, 2019

    Our first visit: Waitress Jaclyn was great and had many helpful suggestions. The 905 Band was exactly right for both couples and 20+ singles. We'd like to see them more often as well as other dance bands like Backroom 11, Brass Transit, the local version of Soul Session and Oakland Strokes. Hope to see you again soon, Stella.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 4/5

    May 5, 2019

    Saw The 905 band there last night, food was good. Despite not initially having our drinks in inventory, their response was exceptional and very much appreciated. You can't always prevent problems but how you handle it, and the customer, is the measure of success. Thank you we appreciated the way we were treated.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    April 14, 2019

    It was our first time there, we went to see Thorn and Rose's after shopping. Beautiful atmosphere, great sound, great food and portions for reasonable $$$. We'll be back 😊😊😊

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 4/5

    April 3, 2019

    Although I had reserved a month ago, for some reason they weren’t going to put our group together at one table, even though there was plenty of space. In the end they rearranged things & set us up at a nice table. Service was then very good. Burgers were very good but a few people ordered the curry chicken and it was not great.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 4/5

    Get an opinion about this business!

    Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

    Contact this business
    Close menu