Add a photo

Ratings & Reviews - Stonewalls Restaurant

How would you rate this business?
    Sort by:
    Language:
    Restaurantica12
    By

    goodbye horseshoe....

    Okay, just following up on my review that I wrote just prior to going there for a work lunch yesterday. I haven't been to Stonewalls in about six weeks. Talk about a let down. The service was terrible, slower than molasses. If you know you have a party of 16 coming in, then staff accordingly. It should not take 20 minutes to bring a beverage to the table. I ordered the cesar salad (9.99) with chicken added for an extra $4.00. For $13.99 I would expect a substantial salad, instead I received a little salad that fit on a luncheon plate. The chicken breast was grilled without any seasoning whatsoever, completely bland. Most of the people around me ordered sandwiches for their lunch....and that's exactly what they got. A sandwich on a plate. Terrible presentation. It seems to me that the last time I went there for a lunch, a side salad came with the sandwiches, but I could be wrong. The experience was very disappointing overall. The price was outrageous for the meagre portion. It still has a great atmosphere, but they must be in $$ trouble and cutting corners on fthe food. Not the way to go if you want to survive. I may give this place one more chance and go for a dinner...that is if it's still open.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Not very good

    Went to this place last night and the pizza was pretty awful. Didn't feel too good afterward either. The room set-up is quite nice though, with lots of screens - great place to hold a campaign event.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Not a good first visit

    First, I must admit that it was a bad time to try a restaurant for the first time...during World Cup, but...I was totally unimpressed by just about everything. $12.00 for a glass of wine in a roadhouse is just too much to charge. My 3 guests and I ordered appetizers to share so we could get a taste of everything. All of them were just okay. Nothing stood out as something I would love to order again. One of the plates we ordered was the chicken nachos. My friend had been there before and commented on how small the order was in comparison to other times she had ordered them. The server said that they had run out and that was why the order was so small. We got charged full price all the same. You would think that if a server told you that you were getting half an oder that they would compensate you in some way. Not the case. Also, the music is so loud that we could hardly hear each other talking. I actually hated the whole experience somuch that I will not recommend it to anyone. Too bad because it has potential.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    very sad

    It's unfortunate that we gave this restaurant 3 tries (because we live in the area and are all about supporting local businesses).. because it's terrible. We can't say much about the food because the first time we went there was NO food available (only drinks.. which i think may be illegal for restaurants in Ontario?) the second time we ate off of the late night menu even though we were there around 10 on a friday.. the food was uninspired and over priced. The third and final time we arrived on a Friday night at 9:45 and offered a "late night" limited menu. REALLY? it's Friday night and the kitchen is nearly closed?? We ordered our drinks which were a special that night.. $3.50 a shot.. but were charged $5 each. We don't care about the money but why advertise a special and not honour it? When we asked the manager why we were charged the extra he accused us of "being sneaky" because we ordered a side of water with our vodka!? really? since when is ordering water "sneaky"?? This place is so disappointing and I'll be surprised if it lasts another month. Needless to say, we left and went to the Pheasant Plucker and had a great full dinner and wonderful service.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Outstandingly bad

    This place was terrible and a big disappointment. No beer on tap at a gastropub? Out of soup? Out of Perrier? No bread with the salad (I had to order their herb bread greaseball). The pizza was not good either - the crust was sweet, which suggests a mix. My $8 salad was pathetic. The coffee was old and left a bad taste in the mouth. And the food took much too long to come. The waitress did her best, but that wasn't enough to make for a decent experience. What a waste of money. And as someone else on here says, obviously no one cares about this place. Bad enough to make me write my very-first-ever restaurant review.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    December 11, 2018

    There was only one waitress working and she had a large party as well as our table. We waited a long time for her to take our order and then another wait to get the bill. Other than that it was a good experience with very good food.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 3/5

    November 26, 2018

    Our server was Zoey and she was terrific. She worked her butt off. We had a grsat time. Thank you to all the staff.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 24, 2018

    There was 5 of us for dinner and none of us had anything to complain about. Service and food was fabulous. Will definitely be coming back

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 20, 2018

    Excellent time at stonewalls Band paying tributeto u2 was amazing

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 11, 2018

    We had a great evening.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 27, 2018

    Suzi-Q is an attentive and hard-working GM with great poise and attentional to detail. Excellent hire by the Stonewall’s executive team. Our server, whose name escapes me, (I know she’s a science major at Mac hoping to go to med school), was perfect — friendly, funny and came around enough without being over-bearing. Freedom Train did what the always do, entertain the crowd and leave them wanting more. It was definitely a 5-star night!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 28, 2018

    Always have a great experience at Stonewalls.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 14, 2018

    Hi, I have been to your restaurant on other occasions and the food and service has been excellent. It s very rare for me to send an email regarding poor food and service. i made a reservation for a group of 10 at your establishment for 6 pn on Friday October 10th. You were very prompt to respond and confirm my reservation. We arrived promptly at 6 pm and the waitress took our drink and food order very quickly. The waitresses were polite and worked to the best of their ability. My issue was that we waited nearly one and half hours for the food to be brought to the table, which consisted of mainly soups, burgers and nachos. Some of the orders never made it to the table. This did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. You had an "event menu" which should have ensured that food was ready and served promptly. The quality of the food was good but, this did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. This experience has left me with doubt about ever returning.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 2/5

    Service: 3/5

    October 1, 2018

    Very attentive staff, everyone loved the atmosphere and the band was great as well!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 23, 2018

    Service was quick and attentive without being over the top - sometimes waitstaff hover too much. The meals were all very tasty and good medium sized portions.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 15, 2018

    We had a great meal served by a very friendly, efficient waitress who greeted us at the door. The live band playing later was awesome.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    For being so busy it was great food, fast service!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 11, 2018

    It was a great place to have dinner prior to the CCMA's. The bands were great!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Thank you!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Over all a very good experience. Got forgotten about at the start, but service was great after that. Found it very loud but we were right in front of the stage

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    September 2, 2018

    Best venue in Hamilton

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    August 5, 2018

    Really enjoyed the venue staff were nice! Service was rocking in the beginning but not so much later on throughout the night Would go back !!!! Party platter amazing !!!!!!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 2/5

    July 23, 2018

    Service and entertainment was great. However, the air conditioner was not working or is was hardly on, it was very uncomfortable, it was too hot!

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 3/5

    July 23, 2018

    food was amazing. Best burger and poutine combo !!! Service from waitress was amazing as well as Service from Dennis. The band was great and the athmosphere was amazing !

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 18, 2018

    We waited, on the patio, about 10-15 minutes before server came to us (with no menus) She Asked for our drink order, after she asked if the empty glasses on the table were ours. We said no, and asked for the menus. She left to get the menus, without taking the previous patrons glasss. We waited. We waited again, to place our orders. The food , did come In an appropriate time. Then we waited again, for her to ask how things were, if we needed anything ect. Then we waited, again, for our table to be cleared, and our bills. The food, no complaints! We all enjoyed the meal. The patio, perfect size, not crowded. The 2 of us that ordered the red sangrias, for the one drink we treated ourselves too, was very watered down. For four girlfriends, whom make a point of getting together once a month for dinner, we did enjoy ourselves, however, giving we do this only once a month; it is unfortunate that given the service, it did put a negative damper on our evening we planned. The server, maybe new? Having a rough day? Short staffed? She was friendly, she tried? We can all understand and appreciate that things happen, however, this just left us all with a not the best experience. Would we recommend Stonewalls? Maybe, If you have the time to wait.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    July 16, 2018

    The place was packed. Our waitress was excellent. Friendly, timely and good service

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 16, 2018

    Went with 9 friends to the Beatles show. Even though the place was packed, the service and staff were excellent.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 16, 2018

    This was our first visit to Stonewalls and we were extremely pleased with the courteous staff, the great food, our booth seats were awesome and the Liverpool band was fabulous. I'm certain we'll be back for another dinner/show sometime. Thanks.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 2, 2018

    Absolutely outstanding meal. One of the best we have had in a restaurant in ages. The caesar salad was phenomenal. Service was great. Wish we lived closer!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 2, 2018

    N/A

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 18, 2018

    The food here is always delicious. I went on Father’s Day with my family of eight, the service wasn’t good, the floor below our table had food on it from prior diners and we were all sweating because it was very hot inside and when I asked about making it cooler in there they said they couldn’t change it. Plus there was a live band and I couldn’t hear the people next to me. I didn’t expect there to be a band on Father’s Day. We went once before and the service was a lot better.

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    June 14, 2018

    We had a private retirement party and it was fabulous! The space was awesome and the food was delicious. Would recommend Stonewalls for any occasion.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 4, 2018

    The volume of music was too loud, but was gratefully adjusted at our requested. No complaints about that quick response and service! A live band was not what we were looking for on a Sunday evening.

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 14, 2018

    Device was great and food was delicious. Always enjoy Stonewalls .

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 13, 2018

    Service was excellent would of rather ordered off menu then set meals for the dinner and show price band was excellent but the sound man was average

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Get an opinion about this business!

    Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

    Contact this business
    Close menu
    Subscribe to YP Newsletter