Add a photo
Add a photo
Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Restaurant type

  • Steakhouse,

Cuisine type

  • Steakhouse,

Features

  • Restaurant With Bar,
  • Free Parking,
  • Bar Games / Trivia,
  • Big Screen TV / Satellite,
  • Restaurant With Delivery Services,
  • Events,
    • Full Dinner Menu,
    • Restaurant With Live Entertainment,
    • Lunch Menu,
    • Online Ordering,
  • more...
  • less...

Atmosphere

  • Casual,

Languages Spoken

  • English,
Location
339 York Blvd, Hamilton, ON L8R 2X9
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Verify with Merchant

Rates:

  • $11 To $25,

Methods of Payment:

Ratings & Reviews - Stonewalls Restaurant

How would you rate this business?
3.4/5
  • Excellent
  • Very good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible
12
9
6
11
2
    Sort by:
    Language:
    Restaurantica12
    By

    A for Effort!

    Well, clearly these people are trying very hard. I've watched some of the world cup there and it was fantastic - beer prices SUPER low, great TV's and hot waitresses - what more can you ask for. The night I had dinner I thought the menu - although not stellar, well put together. The steak was EXCELLENT. Buttery and tender and prepared ultra-rare...as I requested. Salad was good, wine good as well. I hear there pizzas are very good and you can see a big wood fired stone hearth and oven at the back. I will go back - I think the neighborhood needs a place like this, and with live music on the weekend it's a perfect fit. I think these reviewers below should give it another chance. I think with a little tweak of the menu, once this place hits it's stride it will be fantastic. The night I was there everyone seemed to be having a good time and the place was full.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Lots of Improvement is Needed!!

    This place is really going to have improve things if they want repeat customers. We arrived around 6:30 and my husband asked the hostess for a booth. She said that they only give the booths to larger parties and they were expecting a lot of diners to fill them up (never happened). We were give a high table in a high traffic area - awkward. We ordered our drinks which came quickly and were great. We ordered an appetizer and it took about 20 minutes to get that. It was dropped of f at our table without plates so I had to ask for those. Our dinner took at least 45 minutes before we finally got it. I ordered a steak sandwich and it was definitely below average. The steak was very tough and gristly. For $14, I would expect something a little better. My husband ordered a pulled pork sandwich and he said it was quite good. The server we had was very pleasant. You could see she was doing her best with her limited resources. The only complaint I would have about her is that she didn't stop by our table to ask how the meals were. Also HIGHLY annoying was the musical entertainment we had during dinner. I felt sorry for this man, playing his guitar and singing and not a single soul paying attention to him. He was good, but I just don't think people want music at dinner. They want to be able to talk and wind down. Maybe it would have been better to bring him on later at night when people are having drinks? We won't be returning here, which is unfortunate because we really want to support the downtown businesses.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    wow service was poor, food was poor....and they didnt care if we liked it or not..... since when is Keiths not a domestic beer....sign says 3.50 draft all day....oh...only domestic ...but not Keiths....(brewed in Canada last time I checked) There are many better ways to spend $100.00 on a Friday night... med. rare steak was well done and couldnt chew it...pizza was mediocre....I will never go back

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    This is the reason a construction company owner should not own a restaurant

    You have got to be kidding.... This place is gorgeous, but the service is horrible. I sat in the bar area for 10 minutes while the owner is walking arouond with no clue of what to do and a server who has no idea how to serve. I finally had to get up and ask one of the 2 bartenders working for a menu. Mind you there were only 2 other people in the whole restaurant. The food took forever to make. All i ordered was a pizza. I can't believe that this gorgeous restaurant with such a huge focus on the wood burning pizza oven uses premade frozen pizza dough. I hope this place gets better, because it's not looking to good so far

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    food very good

    Food was very good, but took a while. I give that up to being new. Was pretty silly to carpet a restaurnt though! Look forward to faster service.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    March 2, 2020

    Great spot for casual get together. Friendly staff, good grub and awesome entertainment

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    February 22, 2020

    My favorite venue in Hamilton!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 4/5

    January 29, 2020

    We had burger that were not cook red in the middle. They only had half a glass of pinot grigio wine ( a very common wine). Sorry to say it will be our last time there. You ruin my spouse birthday lunch. It was a good restaurant but this was the last time for us. The service was great!!!!. lucarno@bell.net

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 1/5

    Service: 4/5

    December 23, 2019

    The jambalaya was basically rice and tomatoes with a few shrimp and the burger was sloppy. We were there a few years ago and the food was fantastic. Last night we were not impressed. We will not return.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 1/5

    Service: 3/5

    December 21, 2019

    We loved the atmosphere and food was great. Wish it was just a little bit less expensive but overall wonderful time.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    December 20, 2019

    We had our Holiday Party at Stonewalls. We had the place to ourselves which allowed us to play a “Murder Mystery” game. Food and service was great.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    December 15, 2019

    Chicken wings and Caesar salad were excellent. Service was good.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 4/5

    November 17, 2019

    Service was great and the food was brought out quickly and hot

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 28, 2019

    Did not like the benches for watching the band. Only the people facing the stage got to view. No coat hangers or coat check. Had a good time though.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    October 27, 2019

    We had a fantastic time

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 20, 2019

    Thank you so much everything was great

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    August 31, 2019

    Great food, great atmosphere and nice, friendly staff!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 22, 2019

    came before a def leppard concert, limited menu but still very good. Will remember if need to come back prior to a concert.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    June 24, 2019

    We have hosted our biannual FOGG get together at Stonewalls for years and have never been disappointed. The staff was always courteous and attentive and the food and drinks were always excellent.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 15, 2019

    I don’t go to Stonewalls enough always great !!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 11, 2019

    The best venue in Hamilton!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 6, 2019

    Our first visit: Waitress Jaclyn was great and had many helpful suggestions. The 905 Band was exactly right for both couples and 20+ singles. We'd like to see them more often as well as other dance bands like Backroom 11, Brass Transit, the local version of Soul Session and Oakland Strokes. Hope to see you again soon, Stella.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 4/5

    May 5, 2019

    Saw The 905 band there last night, food was good. Despite not initially having our drinks in inventory, their response was exceptional and very much appreciated. You can't always prevent problems but how you handle it, and the customer, is the measure of success. Thank you we appreciated the way we were treated.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    April 14, 2019

    It was our first time there, we went to see Thorn and Rose's after shopping. Beautiful atmosphere, great sound, great food and portions for reasonable $$$. We'll be back 😊😊😊

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 4/5

    April 3, 2019

    Although I had reserved a month ago, for some reason they weren’t going to put our group together at one table, even though there was plenty of space. In the end they rearranged things & set us up at a nice table. Service was then very good. Burgers were very good but a few people ordered the curry chicken and it was not great.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 4/5

    March 31, 2019

    This is my favourite Hamilton venue for live music. Always a great, friendly staff!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    March 30, 2019

    Our server Hannah was amazing!! She was very attentive and always smiling. We had a very large group and she really made sure we were taken care of ! The bar staff on the other hand were not that great. They were quite rude and you had to literally beg to get served! I know it’s always crazy when FT plays though. I love coming to your place though and will always return!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    March 28, 2019

    We were there to celebrate my son’s 19th birthday....reservation was for 6:45 not 5:45. Zach our server was amazing! He was extremely attentive with a great attitude and client service. He was awesome and definitely contributed to the success of our party!! Food was decent...some found wings weren’t cooked enough (skin was not crispy). Everyone was impressed with the band Checkwrboard Floors...we just wished they played later/longer! Overall we had a great time and will definitely be back! Thanks again to Zach!!

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 5/5

    March 10, 2019

    Great food. Great service

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    March 6, 2019

    Great place good food good service and a live music

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    February 3, 2019

    Best burger I ever had at a restaurant.

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    January 19, 2019

    great service despite an unusually large crowd!. Servers worked hard to ensure waits were kept to minimum.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    January 13, 2019

    We Had a Great Time Here Last Night! Loved the Food! The Music was Awesome!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    January 2, 2019

    Attended the New Years Eve event with 18 friends and my wife .The meal was excellent , lots of choices , and the Prime Rib was superb. The Bar staff did a fantastic job serving what I would say was a full house . All the Ladies behind the bar were quick to serve you and always with a smile . We never waited more that 3-4 minutes for a drink . At midnight they served everyone a toast with the waitress ensuring that all of our group got a glass. The remaining staff cleared the tables of dishes and glasses throughout the evening . The band with Brian Mello rocked the place all night with a wide selection of songs that were sure to please everyone in attendance . This was our first time attending Stonewalls but it won't be our last . A tip of the hat to the owners of this establishment , they did a great job of ensuring all their guests had an evening to remember . I rate this experience a 10 out of 10 on all measures . We have over the years attended all in New Years Events , paid a lot more , and never got the experience like we did at Stonewalls . Stonewalls knocked it out of the park !!! - WELL DONE

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    December 22, 2018

    Food was decadent .... very sweet server!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    Get an opinion about this business!

    Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

    Contact this business
    Close menu