Add a photo

Ratings & Reviews - Stonewalls Restaurant

How would you rate this business?
    Sort by:
    Language:
    Restaurantica12
    By

    A for Effort!

    Well, clearly these people are trying very hard. I've watched some of the world cup there and it was fantastic - beer prices SUPER low, great TV's and hot waitresses - what more can you ask for. The night I had dinner I thought the menu - although not stellar, well put together. The steak was EXCELLENT. Buttery and tender and prepared ultra-rare...as I requested. Salad was good, wine good as well. I hear there pizzas are very good and you can see a big wood fired stone hearth and oven at the back. I will go back - I think the neighborhood needs a place like this, and with live music on the weekend it's a perfect fit. I think these reviewers below should give it another chance. I think with a little tweak of the menu, once this place hits it's stride it will be fantastic. The night I was there everyone seemed to be having a good time and the place was full.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    Lots of Improvement is Needed!!

    This place is really going to have improve things if they want repeat customers. We arrived around 6:30 and my husband asked the hostess for a booth. She said that they only give the booths to larger parties and they were expecting a lot of diners to fill them up (never happened). We were give a high table in a high traffic area - awkward. We ordered our drinks which came quickly and were great. We ordered an appetizer and it took about 20 minutes to get that. It was dropped of f at our table without plates so I had to ask for those. Our dinner took at least 45 minutes before we finally got it. I ordered a steak sandwich and it was definitely below average. The steak was very tough and gristly. For $14, I would expect something a little better. My husband ordered a pulled pork sandwich and he said it was quite good. The server we had was very pleasant. You could see she was doing her best with her limited resources. The only complaint I would have about her is that she didn't stop by our table to ask how the meals were. Also HIGHLY annoying was the musical entertainment we had during dinner. I felt sorry for this man, playing his guitar and singing and not a single soul paying attention to him. He was good, but I just don't think people want music at dinner. They want to be able to talk and wind down. Maybe it would have been better to bring him on later at night when people are having drinks? We won't be returning here, which is unfortunate because we really want to support the downtown businesses.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    wow service was poor, food was poor....and they didnt care if we liked it or not..... since when is Keiths not a domestic beer....sign says 3.50 draft all day....oh...only domestic ...but not Keiths....(brewed in Canada last time I checked) There are many better ways to spend $100.00 on a Friday night... med. rare steak was well done and couldnt chew it...pizza was mediocre....I will never go back

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    This is the reason a construction company owner should not own a restaurant

    You have got to be kidding.... This place is gorgeous, but the service is horrible. I sat in the bar area for 10 minutes while the owner is walking arouond with no clue of what to do and a server who has no idea how to serve. I finally had to get up and ask one of the 2 bartenders working for a menu. Mind you there were only 2 other people in the whole restaurant. The food took forever to make. All i ordered was a pizza. I can't believe that this gorgeous restaurant with such a huge focus on the wood burning pizza oven uses premade frozen pizza dough. I hope this place gets better, because it's not looking to good so far

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    Restaurantica12
    By

    food very good

    Food was very good, but took a while. I give that up to being new. Was pretty silly to carpet a restaurnt though! Look forward to faster service.

    Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
    December 11, 2018

    There was only one waitress working and she had a large party as well as our table. We waited a long time for her to take our order and then another wait to get the bill. Other than that it was a good experience with very good food.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 3/5

    November 26, 2018

    Our server was Zoey and she was terrific. She worked her butt off. We had a grsat time. Thank you to all the staff.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 24, 2018

    There was 5 of us for dinner and none of us had anything to complain about. Service and food was fabulous. Will definitely be coming back

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 20, 2018

    Excellent time at stonewalls Band paying tributeto u2 was amazing

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    November 11, 2018

    We had a great evening.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 27, 2018

    Suzi-Q is an attentive and hard-working GM with great poise and attentional to detail. Excellent hire by the Stonewall’s executive team. Our server, whose name escapes me, (I know she’s a science major at Mac hoping to go to med school), was perfect — friendly, funny and came around enough without being over-bearing. Freedom Train did what the always do, entertain the crowd and leave them wanting more. It was definitely a 5-star night!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 28, 2018

    Always have a great experience at Stonewalls.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    October 14, 2018

    Hi, I have been to your restaurant on other occasions and the food and service has been excellent. It s very rare for me to send an email regarding poor food and service. i made a reservation for a group of 10 at your establishment for 6 pn on Friday October 10th. You were very prompt to respond and confirm my reservation. We arrived promptly at 6 pm and the waitress took our drink and food order very quickly. The waitresses were polite and worked to the best of their ability. My issue was that we waited nearly one and half hours for the food to be brought to the table, which consisted of mainly soups, burgers and nachos. Some of the orders never made it to the table. This did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. You had an "event menu" which should have ensured that food was ready and served promptly. The quality of the food was good but, this did not leave sufficient time for many of us to finish our food as we had a performance to attend. This experience has left me with doubt about ever returning.

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 2/5

    Service: 3/5

    October 1, 2018

    Very attentive staff, everyone loved the atmosphere and the band was great as well!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 23, 2018

    Service was quick and attentive without being over the top - sometimes waitstaff hover too much. The meals were all very tasty and good medium sized portions.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 15, 2018

    We had a great meal served by a very friendly, efficient waitress who greeted us at the door. The live band playing later was awesome.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    For being so busy it was great food, fast service!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 11, 2018

    It was a great place to have dinner prior to the CCMA's. The bands were great!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Thank you!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    September 10, 2018

    Over all a very good experience. Got forgotten about at the start, but service was great after that. Found it very loud but we were right in front of the stage

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 4/5

    September 2, 2018

    Best venue in Hamilton

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    August 5, 2018

    Really enjoyed the venue staff were nice! Service was rocking in the beginning but not so much later on throughout the night Would go back !!!! Party platter amazing !!!!!!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 2/5

    July 23, 2018

    Service and entertainment was great. However, the air conditioner was not working or is was hardly on, it was very uncomfortable, it was too hot!

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 3/5

    Service: 3/5

    July 23, 2018

    food was amazing. Best burger and poutine combo !!! Service from waitress was amazing as well as Service from Dennis. The band was great and the athmosphere was amazing !

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 18, 2018

    We waited, on the patio, about 10-15 minutes before server came to us (with no menus) She Asked for our drink order, after she asked if the empty glasses on the table were ours. We said no, and asked for the menus. She left to get the menus, without taking the previous patrons glasss. We waited. We waited again, to place our orders. The food , did come In an appropriate time. Then we waited again, for her to ask how things were, if we needed anything ect. Then we waited, again, for our table to be cleared, and our bills. The food, no complaints! We all enjoyed the meal. The patio, perfect size, not crowded. The 2 of us that ordered the red sangrias, for the one drink we treated ourselves too, was very watered down. For four girlfriends, whom make a point of getting together once a month for dinner, we did enjoy ourselves, however, giving we do this only once a month; it is unfortunate that given the service, it did put a negative damper on our evening we planned. The server, maybe new? Having a rough day? Short staffed? She was friendly, she tried? We can all understand and appreciate that things happen, however, this just left us all with a not the best experience. Would we recommend Stonewalls? Maybe, If you have the time to wait.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    July 16, 2018

    The place was packed. Our waitress was excellent. Friendly, timely and good service

    Ambiance: 4/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 16, 2018

    Went with 9 friends to the Beatles show. Even though the place was packed, the service and staff were excellent.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 16, 2018

    This was our first visit to Stonewalls and we were extremely pleased with the courteous staff, the great food, our booth seats were awesome and the Liverpool band was fabulous. I'm certain we'll be back for another dinner/show sometime. Thanks.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 2, 2018

    Absolutely outstanding meal. One of the best we have had in a restaurant in ages. The caesar salad was phenomenal. Service was great. Wish we lived closer!!!!

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    July 2, 2018

    N/A

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 18, 2018

    The food here is always delicious. I went on Father’s Day with my family of eight, the service wasn’t good, the floor below our table had food on it from prior diners and we were all sweating because it was very hot inside and when I asked about making it cooler in there they said they couldn’t change it. Plus there was a live band and I couldn’t hear the people next to me. I didn’t expect there to be a band on Father’s Day. We went once before and the service was a lot better.

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 1/5

    June 14, 2018

    We had a private retirement party and it was fabulous! The space was awesome and the food was delicious. Would recommend Stonewalls for any occasion.

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    June 4, 2018

    The volume of music was too loud, but was gratefully adjusted at our requested. No complaints about that quick response and service! A live band was not what we were looking for on a Sunday evening.

    Ambiance: 2/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 14, 2018

    Device was great and food was delicious. Always enjoy Stonewalls .

    Ambiance: 3/5

    Cuisine: 5/5

    Service: 5/5

    May 13, 2018

    Service was excellent would of rather ordered off menu then set meals for the dinner and show price band was excellent but the sound man was average

    Ambiance: 5/5

    Cuisine: 4/5

    Service: 5/5

    Get an opinion about this business!

    Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

    Contact this business
    Close menu
    Subscribe to YP Newsletter