Add a photo
Add a photo
Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Restaurant type

  • Bar,

Cuisine type

  • American Cuisine,
  • Italian,

Dishes

  • Vegetarian Cuisine,
  • Pasta,
  • Pizza,

Features

  • Restaurant With Wifi Internet,
  • Restaurant With Terrace,

Atmosphere

  • Trendy,
  • Casual,

Products and Services

  • Open Sunday,
  • Pool Table,
  • Event,
  • Big Screen Tv,
  • Satellite Tv,

Languages Spoken

  • English,
Location
1749 Avenue Rd, North York, ON M5M 3Y8
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Closed For Renovations (2015-03-11)
Closed For Renovations (2015-03-11)
Verify with Merchant

Rates:

  • $11 To $25,

Methods of Payment:

Ratings & Reviews - Safari Bar and Grill

How would you rate this business?
4/5
  • Excellent
  • Very good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible
7
3
2
1
1
  • Atmosphere:
  • Food:
  • Service:
Sort by:
Language:
Restaurantica12
By

HORRIBLE PLACE

This place was horrible. The food was disgusting and the waitress charged me for a drink that I returned without drinking. At the end of the night, they had my credit card on a tab and they returned it back to the WRONG person. How can you give it to the wrong person! When I asked if I could be refunded the amount or be given a discount because of the hassle I had to go through to get a new credit card, I was told by the Manager that he couldn't help me at all. The manager was horrible and walked away without helping. BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE - DO NOT GO THERE. They do NOT know how to run a business and be helpful to customers after they make mistakes.

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

Winterlicious 2012

We've been to Safari numerous times in the past, and have yet to be surprised that this place hasn't received all the accolade it deserves. My fiance and I went for dinner tonight and ordered the following items from the Winterlicious menu: Appetizers: Butternut Squash Soup & Vegetable Spring Rolls Entrees: Char-Broiled Beef Medallions with Potatoes and Spinach (x2) Dessert: Apple Streudel and Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Sandwich The food was, as usual, exceptional. I wasn't too crazy about the soup (it needed a little bit of salt) but the balsamic reduction and leeks definitely upgraded it. My fiance's rolls were good, but he was put off by the cilantro (not a huge fan). The entrees were amazing and we basically cleaned our plates. As were the desserts. Our server was amazing and the atmosphere and staff were friendly and warm, which has been the custom. They also make awesome drinks (order the Caesar!) and their wine list is pretty stellar. GO GO GO!

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

Delicious food!

Had the coconut curry with my cousin here for dinner yesterday – it was awesome! I didn’t expect it to be so delicious but they did a really good job on it. I added the chicken for a few dollars extra and it went really well with the dish. My cousin chose the prime steak burger and she really enjoyed it. Great location and our server was pretty friendly also. Well done!

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

The USDA is PRIME!

Me and the wife went to Safari after a 2 year absence after our twins were born. We persuaded the outlaws to look after our bandits cause we definitely needed a night out! Wanting to stay close to home, we went to Safari which was a regular hang out for me prior to starting our family. place looks the same, like a comfortable sweatshirt, could use a little updating, but still is friendly and local as ever. I had the New York Steak and it was awesome, as good as any high end steak house in the City, my wife went with the chicken wrap and said that it was as good as she remembered and our friends had the fish special and pizza, both enjoyed their meals. We went upstairs after to play pool and ran into a bunch of neighbourhood friends, had a great time, drank too much! Still a great place, was nice to see it busy and going strong.

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

Winterlicious 2011

We have visited Safari after a friend highly recommended it, and were entirely thrilled with the experience. Much to our delight, we discovered that they were also taking part in Winterlicious 2011. We booked a table only a few hours before dinnertime (on Superbowl Sunday no less) and were greeted warmly and given our own table for two in a nice quiet corner, with softly lit candles around us. Our waitress was very warm and friendly and took care of us for the short time we were there (only an hour and a half). Our Caesars were DELICIOUS! We ordered the plum tomato salad and the Caesar salad as our starters, which were fairly nice. The real delight came with the entrees (steak and chicken supreme) ... OH. MY. GOODNESS. They were amazing. Goat cheese + chicken = HEAVEN! We ate everything on our plates. The dessert was amazing as well : ice cream and homemade butter tart. The ambience is amazing. I love, love, LOVE this place!!!

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
February 23, 2020

Another great afternoon upstairs at Safari! Food was great, atmosphere was great. The staff at Safari are the best! Everyone makes you feel welcome and ensures you have what you need. Thank you!!!!!!!!!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 24, 2020

Fantastic service.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 23, 2019

Excelent spot for our annual Staff party! Staff loved it! The food is excellent and great quality for the price. Staff super friendly and professional. We will be back again!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 15, 2019

Group of 13 for birthday get together. Everyone enjoyed their meal. Service was great.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 12, 2019

Market is awesome thank you

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 12, 2019

Playing pool with a friend. Service was great and the spicy beef nachos were super good. Definitely our go to spot to hang out for a few drinks and play some pool!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 9, 2019

Fantastic team at Safari, they went over and above to ensure that everyone had a great time. Food was excellent! Feedback from staff was A+, can't wait until Next Year! Thank you for everything!!!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 27, 2019

We attended Safari for some after work drinks as an office and our server was lovely. She was very friendly and accommodating for such a large group!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 25, 2019

Our server Robert knocked himself out looking after us. He was on duty alone due to a colleague not being able to be there at the last minute. He worked on high speed making sure everyone in the restaurant was well looked after. His amazing efforts were greatly appreciated.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 17, 2019

We have been to Safari before to celebrate the end of the season, and it has always been a good time. Great atmosphere with ping pong and pool tables, which the players aged 14-17 really enjoyed. Good food, too and the service was excellent.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

November 13, 2019

Had a great time at our 2nd annual US Thanksgiving Dinner at Safari. I ordered the turkey dinner with all the fixings ahead of time and it was delicious. It was great to have the ping pong and pool tables.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

November 3, 2019

We had a wonderful time for my husband’s 50th birthday. We had great service and the food was excellent.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 9, 2019

There were 7 of us and one server when about 6 mothers and their toddlers arrived along with several other smaller groups. Despite being somewhat overwhelmed, our server was excellent. Fortunately Dan's wife arrived to help out with the larger than expected crowd. Safari is without a doubt our favorite. Every time our friends from BC are in town, they request we go to Safari.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 6, 2019

great guy serving whole upper area by himself, truly did his best to accommodate all guests

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

October 7, 2019

Always a great evening at Safari. Our favourite neighbourhood spot. Thank you.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

September 23, 2019

We had a staff party at Safari this year for the first time and boy were we blown away! The pricing for large groups is very reasonable for the amount of food you get, the food quality was excellent and staff was helpful and prompt when handling orders and concerns. Our only complaint was one of the other group in the space not respecting our half of the reservation for pool and ping-pong tables, but ultimately even this was not a big problem. Music was great and our staff had a lot of fun! Thank you!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 11, 2019

We hosted our engagement party at Safari’s and it was fantastic. Good atmosphere, awesome food selection and great service. Maria was amazing to work with and we would highly recommend Safari to anyone looking to host a large party.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 7, 2019

A delightful discovery. Safari is a place I've driven past for many years, but never stopped in at. Yesterday three of us met for lunch - friends not having seen each other for about 18 months - and it was great. Very quiet, but very attentive service from our server. She was happy to respond to our request to adjust the air conditioning and was very helpful in us making small adjustments to our orders. Then, to discover beautiful snooker tables upstairs, that made it certain that we'll return.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 6, 2019

A very pleasurable experience! We hadn't been there in a long time even though we used to live across the street. The food was tasty and plentiful and the atmosphere on the patio lovely. Our waitress was also perfect. We'll be back.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 29, 2019

Exactly right for the casual retirement party (of 15 people) we had wanted. The staff upstairs (Maria & Fuchsia) were open to our requests, made some interesting drinks, were friendly, etc. Food was very good for snacking, desserts were excellent and we managed to use the projector as well. Thank you for everything!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 28, 2019

I had my birthday there. It was a great venue. Everyone had a great time.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 13, 2019

Excellent service. Nice staff. Good time was had

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 3, 2019

Slow night for the restaurant, did a good job, reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. No problems

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

June 26, 2019

Super friendly staff but seemed a bit overwhelmed with the amount of patrons on patio on a sunny Sunday evening. Food took quite a while to come out and when it did, it wasn't at all what was expected or discussed. We specifically asked about a flavour of wings and were assured it wasn't what we thought. Well, it was. Again, super friendly but food took extremely long to come out. Try the mussels in the provencal sauce, they are delish. Will def be back for another try.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

June 14, 2019

The Grade 8 Graduation party was a success thanks to your team!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 9, 2019

Safari fully delivered. Everything was prepared for our party with no fuss and effort. My hubby had a great bday party. Thank you

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

June 3, 2019

Had 22 family and friends on second floor party area. Service and food were excellent, staff were very attentive.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 29, 2019

Great party, though we ran out of food. Great wait staff. Too many outsiders not in both parties kept entering.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

May 26, 2019

We enjoyed our evening at Safari Great atmosphere & location. Lots of fun watching the Raptors win the Eastern Conference.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

May 13, 2019

too much noise and not aware of buffet menu in order to accommodate guests for Mother’s day. it took a while to get the food. However this is a good spot and didn’t dissapoint.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 5/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Appears in 6 Smart Lists

Editor’s Pick
Winterlicious 2017: Let's get you seated

Winterlicious 2017: Let's get you seated

$18 Lunch | $28 Dinner American, continental

View this Smart List
Winterlicious 2017: $28 dinners

Winterlicious 2017: $28 dinners

Besides the ground floor restaurant, Safari boasts a second floor billiard room and lounge, and North Toronto’s largest heated outdoor patio. It serves a unique blend of great food, wine and speciality beers in a warm and inviting environment. Everything is made in-house using the freshest available local ingredients. Winterlicious menu options include grilled steak crostinis with braised mushrooms, grilled onion and a red wine-peppercorn pan jus; grilled Ontario chicken breast medallions; and a white chocolate and raspberry butter tart.

View this Smart List
Winterlicious 2017: $18 lunches

Winterlicious 2017: $18 lunches

Safari takes pride in offering a unique blend of great food, wine and specialty beers in a warm and inviting environment in North Toronto. Every item on the menu, including all signature sauces, dressings and desserts, is prepared in-house using fresh local ingredients. Safari is comprised of a main floor restaurant, second floor billiard room and lounge, and is home to one of the city’s largest heated outdoor patios. Their Winterlicious lunch menu includes roasted butternut squash and apple soup, a chicken wrap, a market fish tempura taco wrap, vegetarian penne al forno, and peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream.

View this Smart List
Contact this business
Close menu