Marlowe Restaurant & Wine Bar

4.3/5
Add a photo
Add a photo
Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Restaurant type

  • Steakhouse,
  • Fine Dining,
  • Lounge,

Cuisine type

  • International,
  • Italian,

Dishes

  • Seafood,
  • Vegan,
  • Dessert,

Features

  • Restaurant With Party Services,
  • Prix Fixe Menu,
  • Restaurant With Parking,
  • Restaurant With Private Rooms,
  • Restaurant With Live Entertainment,
  • Restaurant With Catering Services,

Atmosphere

  • Trendy,
  • Casual,

Products and Services

  • Live Music,

Languages Spoken

  • English,
Location
155 York Boulevard, Richmond Hill, ON L4B 3B4
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Call For Details: Sunday.
Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday

Rates:

  • $11 To $25,

Methods of Payment:

Ratings & Reviews - Marlowe Restaurant & Wine Bar

How would you rate this business?
  • Atmosphere:
  • Food:
  • Service:
Sort by:
Language:
eaterman
By

Great restaurant in Richmond Hill

Been coming here for years. Excellent food, service and very beautiful people. At nights it turns into to a nightclub.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 5/5
Service: 5/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
August 19, 2019

We had a nice time and enjoyed ourselves. The service was good. They did however run out of the wine we requested and the beet salad whuch was supposed to contain ricotta cheese actually was replaced by cottage cheese. Our server was very attentive .

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 18, 2019

Our reservation was at 7pm. We didn't get served until 7:31pm. The lamb had way too much cinnamon. Service was poor and food.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 1/5

August 17, 2019

The service was extremely slow even after we informed our server we were in a rush. He took 15 mins before taking our order. Also, the serving size of the meal was very small for the price. The salad entree was too small for an entree size. Very tasty though!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 2/5

July 11, 2019

This was our second visut to Marlowe's. The food is great & the service was amazing. We came back because of Jenna. She made excellent food & wine suggestions and made us all feel very welcome.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 30, 2019

Food was very good. Service was great. Very friendly atmosphere. Will come again.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 13, 2019

3 out of 4 dishes were served wrong or cold

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 3/5

May 11, 2019

friendly service and good food

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 8, 2019

All good , very nice place

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

March 22, 2019

Waitress seemed annoyed that we had a groupon for a 4 course meal and wanted to know what we wanted right away instead of asking us if we've decided or if we needed more time to decide on what we wanted. We were seated at the bar area next to a big group of people having after work drinks even though the dining room is virtually empty. We ran out of wine and water after the appetizers. She didn't check in on us until we were almost done with the 3rd course. I had to get the pepper shaker from another table. They were not busy either. The waitresses and bartenders were all just chatting at the bar majority of the time. She also brought out the bill while we were having dessert when we didn't ask for it. So I paid for it because it's fine with me if they didn't want further income from drinks. She also checked the receipt to see if I tipped her before handing it to me. If I can give a negative number of stars for the service, I would. I would never recommend this place to anyone. You'd have a better time at any of the other restaurants in the area.

Ambiance: 1/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 1/5

March 4, 2019

Amazing wedding shower. The staff were very helpful and attended to all our needs. Food was excellent, portions very big. thanks Marlowe Staff

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 1, 2019

Jenna was our waitress. She was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. She suggested I try the Lamb. Delicious! She suggested a wine to pair with it. Delicious! My wife loved the Chilean SeaBassI hardly made a decision and it was a meal and experience to remember. Thanks Jenna!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 25, 2019

Everything was fantastic, the meal, service and live entertainment. I would recommend Marlowe's.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 23, 2019

After we were sitted for 15 minute. nobody came to serve us. I have to go and request to be serve. And it was quiet with very lilttke guest. The food were overall warm and not hot . And it were over cook , very dry. Very disappointed .

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 1/5

February 15, 2019

We were very pleased with the server he was very pleasant also was pleased with the food .We will DEFINITELY come.back.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 15, 2019

Would recommend it to friends and family.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 15, 2019

I really enjoy how relaxed I feel at Marlowe's. The service and food are consistently great.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 9, 2019

Server was great, food was okay. Had the winterlicous special (salmon)

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 5/5

February 9, 2019

Celebrating my daughter's birthday , we all enjoyed ourselves. Service was prompt and friendly.Food was very good. I had the soy ginger hoisin salmon, arugula beet salad and the cheesecake for desert. All were delicious.Highly recommend this restaurant.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 6, 2019

Marlowe doesn't let down... It's been there for quite some time and food is very good and especially in such a competitive area. It is showing signs of age but still wins me over. Problem is with this day and age of eating out Marlowe seems a throwback style of "restauranting" and although a good thing to me... I'm betting not many want that at all. It's not cheap, it doesn't bash you over the head with pounding music and flashy lights. Staff there is fine.. Corporate functions pulled the staff away more often than not.. But they did recover and were accessible when really needed. Try the winterlicious menu when offered.. Even though they are not official participants.. It's was a good enough value that it was comparable to the winterlicious restaurants. The online reservation experience was very good. Changes were needed and the response was very quick. Psst.. Consider upgrading the tea pots... They belong in a diner... .

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

January 26, 2019

slow services. We didn't finished our dinner and we had to move to any table because the next customer was there.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 1/5

January 13, 2019

Dining experience this time was much better than the last time (fall 2018). Meatballs were juicy - pairing them with side of toast was thoughtful. Caesar salad was mixed well, the lack of goopy Caesar dressing was appreciated. Lamb shank with grilled vegetables was delicious. Cheesecake and fresh coffee were a perfect ending to the meal. Well done. Also appreciated the friendly reservation reminder ahead of time. Will be returning again very soon.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 8, 2018

Met some friends for dinner on a Thursday night. Around 7:30 they started live music and we had to spend the evening yelling just to hear eachother. If you want a quiet or regular conversation, pick another place. On top of that we hit a shift change, first server was great, replacement was like a robot.

Ambiance: 2/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 3/5

December 3, 2018

Went for our work Christmas party (party of 14), the ambiance is always good, but the food is underwhelming, every time I go (always, not by choice). I ordered the Chicken Piccata, expecting, a breaded cutlet with a butter, lemon, caper sauce. I got a small, salted, dry baked chicken leg, bland roasted potatoes and typical sautéed vegetables. My co-workers and I had to drench our chicken in hot sauce to give it flavour and moisture. Our mouths were on fire by the time we were through. We paid for something we did not get. Didn't even bother complaining because I totally expected it.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 4/5

December 2, 2018

I loved it, our Server Paul was awesome and was able to meet all my requests, including sharing of desserts. Thank you so much.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 16, 2018

Food are good except the steak is a bit overcooked. Service are good as well.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

October 29, 2018

The team did their utmost to make our event run as smoothly as possible. The service was great and the booking process was easy. Would use them again!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

October 15, 2018

Fabulous venue fabulous event fabulous staff couldn’t have asked for a better day all around

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 13, 2018

Terrible service, until they brought the bill and suddenly became very friendly. The restaurant was out of the first 3 wines I tried to order and the food was very disappointing.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 1/5

October 10, 2018

The steak was a bit vein-y and chewy and the overall steak entree portion was small. Salad, bruschetta, new york cheesecake and coffee were good.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

October 5, 2018

I heard such great comments about this place so we went there for dinner and salsa night. My horrible experience started with getting a wine glass that had lipstick on it so the waiter took it to the bar poured my wine into a glass and washed out the wine glass and threw my wine back in. So now I’m drinking soapy contaminated wine. But I didn’t let that bother me. Then we ordered our dinner after our appetizers of oysters and bruschetta bread. Only to have mussels that were bad on our seafood risotto plate. When we told our waitress she said nothing to us but just took our plates away. So by that point we really did not want to stick around for dessert coffee or dancing so we asked for the bill. We asked if there was going to be something done for our dinner and she first said no then left and came back and said that the manager took off 10%. But when I looked at the bill I told her it was not done and she confirmed it was. We paid the bill but once we added it all up realized nothing was done so my husband wnet to speak to the manager who informed that he had not taken anything off. We really didn’t care if we got the 10% off it was the fact that she lied to our faces. We were with another couple as well and felt the same. The manager gave us attitude about it so we left upset. Upon arriving home we started feeling sick and could not leave the bathroom for hours. We called the other couple who also had the same issues. We are still not feeling well and this is going on the 2nd day. Needless to say we will never be returning to that location. In all my years of going out to eat we have never experienced the rudeness and lying that the staff have shown us there.

Ambiance: 2/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 1/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Contact this business
Close menu