Add a photo
Add a photo
Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Restaurant type

  • Fine Dining,
  • Lounge,

Cuisine type

  • Italian,
  • Contemporary / Eclectic,

Features

  • Restaurant With Live Entertainment,
  • Online Menu,

Atmosphere

  • Casual,
  • Upscale,

Languages Spoken

  • English,
Location
2409 Yonge St, Toronto, ON M4P 2E7
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Call For Details: Sunday.
Call For Details: Sunday.
Verify with Merchant

Rates:

  • $11 To $25,
  • $26 To $60,
  • > $60,

Methods of Payment:

  • Diners Club

Ratings & Reviews - Alleycatz Restaurant Lounge

How would you rate this business?
2.4/5
  • Excellent
  • Very good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible
1
3
1
3
5
  • Atmosphere:
  • Food:
  • Service:
Sort by:
Language:
ntb Creative
By

The food was excellent and your staff, Ryan and Kim, made my 50th birthday celebration that much better. They were so friendly and accommodating that they blended right in with my friends and family, Now that's rare! I always believe in ”giving credit where it's due” because so many are so quick to point out the negative, well, this is one positive review I'm happy to share. Thanx for making my 50th one of the best nights of my life! - Neal -

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
gurpreetkayr636220801936316000
By

Bad service and gratuity is already added to the bill.

I just went here today and probably won't be coming back anytime soon. We went for the winterlicious menu and the eggplant was great however the portion size was ridiculously small for the price we paid. The service was silly. I didn't see anyone come around like what is the gratuity for? Honestly not worth it guys. There are so many other restaurants on he winterlicious list and over the years I've been too many but have yet to be charged gratuity in my bill with only 4 people there? Ridiculous

Atmosphere: 1/5
Food: 2/5
Service: 1/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

Go for the Entertainment...

I would definitely go back for the live entertainment. Lady Kane is awesome! First off, the place is so dark I had trouble seeing what I was eating!! I went during Summerlicious and laughed at the portions. The chicken was good but the "served with sweet potato mash and veggies"....not even a tablespoon of either!!! The Ravioli option is 4 flat raviolis...that's it. My app of shrimp was 5 regular size shrimp. And the dessert was a small piece of tiramisu. Apparently they dont do separate bills and you HAVE to either pay all in cash or all on a credit card, Considering we had around 15 people, this was a nightmare! Especially when we needed to use the flashlight on a cell phone to read it properly. Not to mention that the automatic tip was on our bill which meant that apparently the server didn't have to do much. I got water when I arrived and had to finally flag her down after I had finished eating to get any more. I did notice the other end had refills all the time....of the ALCOHOLIC drinks. The bus boy that cleaned our table did more and was more helpful. To sum it up food tasted good but the portion size was laughable at the cost of $25. I really hope their normal menu is better. If you go, go for a fun night out...AFTER eating ;)

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Jbervoe
By

Good music...that's it.

Recently a group if friends and I had dinner at Ally Catz. The r eservation number was recorded wrong, so we had to squeeze additional people at the table; there were 5 or so errors made on our order; service wasn't fantastic; bread came after our entree; for quality, food was over priced. Great live music though.

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

Horrible Service

I've been to many restaurants before with less than fantastic service, but this place was bad that I signed up with this page and any page I could write a review on. The service was disappointing and the food was inedible. Our "server" started the night by providing us with dirty water glasses and seemed put out of her way when I asked her to replace it with a clean one and then rudely slammed the clean glass down when she returned. The risotto, which was ordered by a number of people in the party, was overcooked and when we told the server she simply said "that's risotto". One guest in the party almost broke his tooth on an olive pit that was in his pasta. We eventually spoke with the manager, who was also very rude. Considering our party size and the fact my friend was celebrating her birthday you would think he may want to offer us something for the lack of service and disgusting food. Needless to say that if the gratuity was not included in the bill she would not have received a single penny. There are many other jazz clubs in the city worth visiting and I would definitely steer clear of this place!!!

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
February 19, 2020

Perfect!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 19, 2020

9 years we booked Valentine’s Day at Alleycatz and had a great time and service so we booked it again for this year. Long story short it was definitely not the same great experience this year. Food was not as tasty considering it’s for a special day, we missed out on the live band which was advertised for Valentine’s Day because we were there at 7pm and still by 9:30pm they weren’t ready to go. What made it worst is that our waiter kept coming up to us every 3mins to see if we need anything else and then OFFERED our bill rather than us asking for it. Then the host showed up at our table asking us if we need anything and proceeded to clear our table which we found really weird. We were actually waiting for the live band to serenade us for this special day however we got the feeling that they wanted us to leave perhaps to seat other people. We finally left after they kept coming up to us asking if we need anything further. Not a great experience for the amount we paid.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 2/5

February 17, 2020

The glare from the incredibly bright TV screens reminded me of eating at home in front of my tv mindlessly. The waiter did not crack a smile or have any hint of character, i felt sorry for him...he may be depressed. The shrimp bisque tasted like it was fresh from a can...salty and bland. The eggplant dish was not edible. The band was very mediocre. They butchered a couple songs that should have been enjoyable. The bill for dinner for dinner for 2 $135. Too much for the quality.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 2/5

February 14, 2020

I've heard about this place for years and thought Winterlicious might be a nice time to check it out. Unfortunately, it wasn't an enjoyable experience so we won't be returning. The service wasn't great, I felt like they don't like the Winterlicious crowd very much. Our server was abrupt and not at all friendly. For food also wasn't great, the steak was terrible quality and the ravioli was very basic. I got cheese cake for desert and the slice was so thin that it couldn't even stand up straight. I expect smaller portions for winterlicious but we came out not very satisfied. There was an automatic tip added to the final bill. I guess they were expecting unhappy customers at Winterlicious!

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 1/5

February 12, 2020

All the guests were jammed into tables that were very close to one another, making conversation difficult. Portions were small and of mixed quality. Not a great winterlicious experience.

Ambiance: 2/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 4/5

February 13, 2020

My friend and I went to Alleycatz for a Winterlicious dinner - the restaurant itself was nice, empty, but we were told that it doesn't get busy until 9pm (we were there at 7pm). The food was average - they had a good Winterlicious menu but the portions were small. The service wasn't great considering we were 1 of 2 tables in the entire restaurant yet our food still took a while to come out, and the server never came in between courses to ask us how the food was or to refill our water.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 3/5

February 9, 2020

Our party is very disappointed as I called the restaurant to confirm our reservation and was told that they can’t find our reservation and they can not accommodate us. Our whole night was spiked as we are hosting visiting friends for Toronto winterlicious. Will never recommend this place. Even talked to the owner and said he can’t do anything as he did not talk to me at all.

Ambiance: 1/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 1/5

February 9, 2020

They said they would lose money serving people like me as I am physically unable to sit at a bar stool wirh my bad hip. They said they were physically unable to sest me or serve me. Then hung up the phone after they cancelled on me. Discrimination starring aleycatz Lovely bullies

Ambiance: 1/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 1/5

February 9, 2020

Great atmosphere and the food was delicious. The band did an excellent job.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 9, 2020

Had a reservation for 7 for Saturday Feb 8. Received a call in that morning from John who stated that due to Winterlicious they would not be able to honor my reservation, as they were fully booked. He stated we would have to be seated at the bar. I stated that that was ok we would book again after Winterlicious ended, as we really wanted a table. I was told “Well I guess you are shit out of luck” To say the least I was appalled as to how any one who owned a business would speak to a customer that way. I then told him that I had seen mixed reviews about the establishment in regards to gratituties being charged inappropriately, rudeness of staff etc, his answer to me was” then why did you book a reservation here then” I then told him because my husband loves jazz and he wanted to give it a chance maybe the reviews were wrong. Now I know the reviews were definitely not wrong! Rudest staff ever! When it’s coming from the top you know what to expect from front line staff

Ambiance: 1/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 1/5

February 6, 2020

Won't return. Food was mediocre at best. Service felt like they were trying to rush you out and didnt have time for you. Band was good.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 2/5

February 6, 2020

Great looking place, loved the vibe and the music. Service was basic what do you want, here it is. There was no follow up with how is it after served? We had to wave her down for sauce, hot sauce and pepper. Food was decent but nothing special. Toffee desert was the best part and the dance teacher was great, lots of spirit and was really personable we learned a couple new moves. Will eat before we come next time.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 3/5

February 5, 2020

I had been excited to try Alleycatz as I’d been aware of it for many years and the Winterlicious menu sounded appealing. I invited my lifelong friend to join me as she also thought the menu sounded great! Both my friend and I found the food to be just ok and our server to be cold and indifferent despite a relatively empty restaurant. She wasn’t very attentive, didn’t ask if we were enjoying our meals, or really bother. I requested separate bills, to which she replied that it would be easy to divide the bill. When we received our bill and noticed that gratuity was included (which should have been mentioned on the menu prior to ordering), the indifference to our experience made sense. I would have happily given a worthy tip of my own accord had the service been warmer.

Ambiance: 2/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 2/5

February 2, 2020

Really bad service and even worst food Music was heard to hear and not designed for being a jazz club

Ambiance: 1/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 1/5

February 2, 2020

Server was slow to take order, not very attentive during the evening

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 3/5

January 26, 2020

The service staff waited 30 minutes before asking for our drinks/food order. After ordering, the waiter arrived to our table two times with the wrong plates. Finally, after 1.5 hours, we received our main course. One of our friends who ordered a vegetarian dish was told, after all this time, that they ran out of ingredients for this dish. As well, the manager, John, was very rude on the phone when making the reservation- in answer to the question "When do you need to know the final guest number for our table?" he replied "It's all on the website I guess you didn't bother to look". He also inappropriately rubbed my back and grabbed my shoulders whilst in the middle of conversation with my friend, while she was complaining about the service. Our group of 7 was put in the back corner underneath a heater. It was too tight and uncomfortable. I would not recommend this restaurant. I will not be returning.

Ambiance: 1/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 1/5

January 12, 2020

Will definitely come back again. Good music, good service and the food was delicious.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 9, 2020

We loved the atmosphere of the place and the food was absolutely delicious! We didn't have time to stay for the live music but will definitely be returning soon to enjoy the music, food and service!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 17, 2019

Had a great (first) visit at Alleycatz! Service was great, from the bartender, host, waitress and Owner (nice, genuine dude by the way)! Food and menu offerings were on point with a great range to satisfy any pallet. If there was 1 callout we had (and this is coming from a Sticky Toffee connoisseur) please modify the serving to include vanilla ice cream instead of cream! See you again soon!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

December 15, 2019

Entertainment was awesome! Soulare!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 10, 2019

I was at the Toronto Blues Society Christmas party.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 1, 2019

Reservations were for 8 booked days in advance with a request to be by the door, we were seated at the very back left corner... we could barely move in our seats. We ordered our food and it did not get there til after 10pm with substitutions because they ran out of mash potato and sweet potato fries which we were not told til we received our plates. My friend ordered food to go when we placed our order and they never put it thru. They never offered an apology, discount, dessert nothing!! My salmon meal was so small I filled up on my friends fries. Very disappointed

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 1/5

November 25, 2019

we had a great time the live band was great dj did a good job, definitely a repeat

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

November 25, 2019

Our waiter Tyler was awesome! We really enjoyed the food, the service, the band and the dancing! Can’t wait to go again

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 16, 2019

Great fun with a live band and DJ

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 4/5

November 10, 2019

As usual fabulous food! Service and live entertainment! We had a blast!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

October 26, 2019

Great restaurant, good music. I would not do the Groupon coupon, because they have other daily specials that you can take advantage of. Overall great night out. Thanks!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 26, 2019

Excellent food. It was rather quiet for a Thursday night, but a very enjoyable experience.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 20, 2019

Our server was phenomenal!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 19, 2019

Alley Catz is a great place for dinner, drinks and either dancing to the music or just hanging out. We were two couples that wanted a night of good food and music. We got exactly that. The service is amazing and the menu is fabulous. We all loved starting out with the mussels and having drinks. The surf and turf was fabulous. The night was just perfect. Thank you Alley Catz!! We will be back for sure.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Appears in 7 Smart Lists

Editor’s Pick
Winterlicious 2017: $28 dinners

Winterlicious 2017: $28 dinners

The appropriately named Alleycatz gives music lovers and foodies plenty to cheer about: a menu with Mediterranean flair, a varied martini line-up and after-dinner entertainment in the form of salsa, karaoke and live bands playing ’40s dance music. On the Winterlicious menu: eggplant cannelloni with roasted spinach, ricotta and parmesan; giant wild mushroom ravioli; and dessert options like tuxedo truffle mousse cake and classic chocolate ice brownie.

View this Smart List
Contact this business
Close menu