Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Cuisine type

  • Iranian,
  • Middle-eastern,
  • Persian,

Dishes

  • Paneer,
  • Joujeh Kaboob,
  • Burger,
  • Koobideh,
  • Ghormeh Sabzi,
  • Saffron Rice,

Features

  • Restaurant With Live Entertainment,
  • Restaurant With Wifi Internet,
  • Wheelchair-accessible Restaurant,
  • Street Parking,
  • Take-out,
  • Restaurant With Delivery Services,
    • Full Bar,
    • Restaurant With Catering Services,
  • more...
  • less...

Atmosphere

  • Casual,

Products and Services

  • Offbeat,

Languages Spoken

  • English,
  • Persian,
Location
777 Queen St W, Toronto, ON M6J 1G1
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Verify with Merchant

Rates:

  • $11 To $25,

Methods of Payment:

Meet the owner

Banu kabob and vodka bar is a delicious journey that begins from the moment you visit its website and continues when you enter the restaurant at their Queen St. West location in Toronto. Here you are transported to 1970s Iran, when the country was abuzz with culture, cosmopolitanism, the pop-art of Andy Warhol and vodka.

Samira Mohyeddin, a seasoned restaurateur, shares banu with her younger brother Amir — chef extraordinaire — and older sister Salome, who manages kad banu, their Iranian café just 10 minutes away. Before entering the restaurant business, Samira was a student of modern Middle Eastern history and Gender Studies at the University of Toronto, while Amir was in chef’s school at George Brown College.

“One day, in 2005, I was cycling past this space, when I saw that it was up for sale. This was my sign that it was time to fulfill my dream of presenting Iranian food and culture to Toronto in a way that had not been done before,” says Samira. The siblings opened banu as an homage, not just to the 70s Iranian culture and nightlife, but also to their beautiful mother, Zarrin. In Farsi, banu means lady or dame of culture, respect and distinction.

Read the story of Banu Restaurant Iranian

Ratings & Reviews - Banu Restaurant Iranian

How would you rate this business?
December 4, 2019

Waiter was extremely helpful with our selection of food as we were neophytes to this cuisine. Our various courses were absolutely delicious, filled with subtle flavors & uses of fresh herbs. A very memorable experience. Thank you Banu!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 17, 2019

Best Iranian food in town, highly recommended

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 12, 2019

Exquisitely presented and outstandingly delicious. Waiter was very attentive and professional.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 12, 2019

Banu is a Queen West gem.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 14, 2019

Wonderful menu, great food, would come back often — and in fact, already have.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

July 12, 2019

Brought friends visiting from Washington, D.C. They enjoyed the food and the cocktails we ordered.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

July 10, 2019

Great restaurant. Kababs were outstanding.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 10, 2019

Banu is one of my favourite restaurants in the city. Everything is grilled to perfection, the flavors are poppin’, the vibe is so welcoming, the sekanjiban is refreshing, and it’s a beautiful space.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 7, 2019

Fantastic meal and extremely friendly staff. We will be going back in the future !

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 6, 2019

Amazing as always! My cousins were in town for lunch and had never had Iranian food before - the waiter was really great and answering questions and describing the menu. I was glad to have had a chance to introduce them to one of my favourite restaurants in Toronto!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 30, 2019

Fantastic!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 2, 2019

The suggestions made to round out our meal were perfect. We had just enough attention from the staff and the food was a beautiful combination of flavours. If you are considering Banu, go!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 28, 2019

We had a great time at Banu and would indeed recommend this restaurant to anyone willing to explore their tastebuds with really flavourful food.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

May 27, 2019

Friendly, knowledgeable service and delicious food.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 22, 2019

We had amazing food and the service was superb, they even accommodated is with taking the remainder of food to travel well.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 20, 2019

Best Persian restaurant in town

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 10, 2019

Such a great time! Amazing food. Highly recommend the Torsh - best I’ve had in Toronto!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 27, 2019

Delicious food, friendly, professional service and a lovely ambiance. A plus that you can have an easy conversation, without shouting over blaring music. Highly recommended!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 2, 2019

Really delicious food, I especially recommend the Zaban (Cow’s Tongue) appetizer dish! We had that with the Fam Jam (which is a bit of everything, few different meats (chicken, beef 2 ways) yogurt dip, saffron rice, cucumber/tomato salad with bread, toasted saffron? And fresh basil and mint) also so good and worked out perfect for 5 people! They have a great chef/cooks here, all the favours are so good

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 17, 2019

They were not very flexible with specific dietary requests. I didn't want rice, but they didn't really have an alternative of similar value. They offered to add more basil and roasted tomato but no salad or peppers were offered. Otherwise excellent all around.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 3/5

February 4, 2019

Excellent food and great service

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 4, 2019

Desserts were a weird sweetness...the eggplant dish was way to smokey. The main course (sirloin kebabs) was delish!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 4/5

February 4, 2019

The server looked a little busy but the food was amazing!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 2, 2019

Warm atmosphere with very delicious food! The cocktails were amazing. Everything was so fresh.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 31, 2019

Great restaurant, nice low-key vibe and knowledgeable servers. Would recommend.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 28, 2019

Very friendly service. Delicious food and cocktails!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 26, 2019

Very authentic flavors!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 13, 2019

Best restaurant in Toronto.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 9, 2019

The service and food was fantastic! I've been to Banu many times and each time is an absolute pleasure.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 26, 2018

The food is simple but delicious. I live in the neighborhood so have been here several times over the years. In every visit the service has been friendly and efficient and the food has been fantastic. It's where I always take visiting friends or family when I want a tasty meal that i know they will enjoy. The potato salad, shirazi salad and eggplant dip are amazing starters served with crispy pita type bread. The short rib and beef tenderloin in pomegranate molases is our current favourite go to. The prawns and chicken skewers are also quite good. They can be individual plates but the most fun is sharing platters of the food so everyone can taste a little bit of everything. So good! You won't be sorry if you visit.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Appears in 10 Smart Lists

Editor’s Pick
Contact this business
Close menu