Add a photo
Add a photo
Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Restaurant type

  • Italian,
  • Pizza,
  • Comfort Food,

Cuisine type

  • Italian,

Dishes

  • Pizza,
  • Pasta,
  • Salad,

Features

  • Patio,

Atmosphere

  • Casual,

Products and Services

  • Big Screen TV,
  • Satellite,
  • Breakfast,
  • Casual Dining,
  • Family Dining,
  • Gluten Free Options,
    • Group Functions,
    • Sports Hangout,
    • Take Out,
    • Delivery,
    • Patio,
    • WiFi,
    • Little Italy Pizza,
  • more...
  • less...

Languages Spoken

  • English,

Getting There

  • College Street,
  • Little Italy,
Location
594 College St, Toronto, ON M6G 1B3
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Verify with Merchant

Rates:

  • Affordable (Under $10),

Methods of Payment:

  • Travellers Cheques

Meet the owner

Making Italian food at home is fun with all the creativity you can put into it. You can mix practically anything into a pasta sauce so long as it tastes good to you. Even better than doing this at home is giving your executive orders to kitchen staff while eating out. You can sit back and sip your wine while you wait for your customised pizza or dish of pasta to arrive piping hot in front of you. “We call it the three P's menu,” says Café Diplomatico owner Rocco Mastrangelo Jr. “You get to pick your own noodle and sauce, your own pizza toppings and your own panini filling down to the last onion.”

Rocco’s dad and Uncle Paul started this three-generation family business when they opened in the spring of 1968. Rocco stepped in after university when he figured that it was a good fit. “I love working with people, I’ve always been a foodie and College Street was just starting to become trendy then.”

The brothers named the spot Café Diplomatico to welcome homesick Italians who were looking for a political debate over coffee as well as to show non-Italians that they were welcome.

Read the story of Cafe Diplomatico

Ratings & Reviews - Cafe Diplomatico

How would you rate this business?
  • Atmosphere:
  • Food:
  • Service:
Sort by:
Language:
spac3298
By

Always a great experience coming to the Diplomatico. you'd think that Nonna was in the kitchen the food is so delicious and authentic but close enough the chef their Malic serves up his own signature style on a plate each and every time we come in.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 5/5
Service: 5/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
khaled
By

Great coffee, love the vibes

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
ariachole
By

One of my favorit...

One of my favorite breakfast places! Staff is always nice and on point.

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

Not welcome

We went here after hearing so much about it as its promoted everywhere when it comes to television and newspapers during sports seasons when everyone comes to here to celebrate and watch eagerly. However I did not find anything special about this place. In fact we had a very uncomfortable stay here for our coffee's that we wanted to get out as soon as possible. Although nothing in terms of service or food was neglectful the atmosphere was not very accommodating.

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

I love this place

It just gives me great pleasure to be in little Italy. I love their deep fried calzone. I know it is deep fried, but I am doing my best to gain some weight because I am very thin. The service is great here.

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
October 27, 2019

Vacation weekend in Toronto. Found this place in Little Italy neighborhood. Had a great dinner with a great bowl of steaming hot pasta, good bread, and a couple glasses of wine. Went back for lunch two days later. 😀

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 25, 2019

We had a special event -- celebrating the memory of my Dad -- and even though quite a few more people came than I had accounted for, the staff were helpful and warm to everyone. I wished the cafe had been a little less noisy but it is a very friendly family business and I am very happy we chose to bring all the different aspects of our family's social lives together for an informal night at The Dip. My father would have enjoyed it very much. I'm grateful to Tina and the staff for a special night.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

October 15, 2019

Amazing experience as always. I drive a long way to eat at the Dip. Friendly service, delicious food and great value.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 18, 2019

Great food and restaurant.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 6, 2019

The staff were very welcoming to our family. We really enjoyed our visit.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 5, 2019

Always enjoy going to the Dip. Great value.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

July 26, 2019

Understand it’s busy at lunch. But service needed improvement We were I ignored upon arrival never asked if we made a reservation and we were told to just find a seat. Food was delicious. !!!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 3/5

July 26, 2019

Came in for birthday dinner with the family. Received dessert on the house. So sweet.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 14, 2019

Wonderful evening with fantastic service from both the manager and the waitress.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 9, 2019

Great gnocchi. Veal just ok and small portion

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 3/5

May 5, 2019

Pizza was amazing! They handled our large group with easy!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

April 21, 2019

Always great service, and you can't beat the price. Love that they serve tatertots.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 26, 2019

Amazing! Great experience, food was light and flavorful

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 17, 2019

was a fabulous birthday celebration for my friend's 88th birthday! Food is always good, service very friendly. Was so crowded at one point it got very loud.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 8, 2019

It was a pleasure to have a causal dining experience at Café Diplomatico. I have enjoyed sharing the warm dining atmosphere with family and friends. My most recent visit was to catch-up with a former colleague, share life experiences and warm wishes for the future. I consider Café Diplomatico, a family restaurant, located in the heart of little Italy. A place where everyone knows your name and where you can take in a leafs game or watch a summer movie on the patio.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 21, 2019

great service & food as usual.....

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 11, 2019

Always great value

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 11, 2019

Terrific February menu and excellent service

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 25, 2018

Really good vibe around the whole restaurant. Really nice patio. Good experience all together. Must go!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

May 14, 2018

We were there for Mother’s Day. The restaurant was very busy. The staff was amazing and attentive... super friendly and very accommodating to our large group of 12. We all had a variety of foods from the menu and everyone loved their dishes. First time there and would absolutely go back again.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 16, 2018

Terrific pizza, an excellent house wine (Rioja) and great service (Kyle).

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 15, 2018

Service was great. Coffee was delicious! Food was good except for tater tots on my plate. So not nice with an adult breakfast! Tater tots are for kids. Come on Cafe Diplomatico, how about home fries or even fruit. The bacon was not good either. Cheaping out with frozen and half fake bacon.....would not return for breakfast.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 5/5

January 7, 2018

Great as always.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 15, 2017

like the atmosphere, great prices, have visited here a few times in past 30 years....

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 31, 2017

Great patio and atmosphere but nothing spectacular about the food.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 3/5

August 17, 2017

We had a great meal at Cafe Diplomatico with my family for the last night of their trip over here. Our server was super attentive to the children and really knowledgable about all we asked him There was a lovely atmosphere on the patio and the food was excellent. Nothing fancy but good honest Italian cooking. I look forward to the next time!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 7, 2017

Excellent evening- food and drinks- celebrated my husbands 60th Birthday. A annual birthday tradition- always Fantastic!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

May 2, 2017

This was my third visit to this restaurant and the experience was always amazing.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

April 28, 2017

Always wonderful (simple, good food, relaxing)

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

April 24, 2017

We always come here when we have to celebrate a family birthday or even just to eat out. Love the patio and inside atmosphere and the service is great always friendly and professional.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Appears in 3 Smart Lists

Editor’s Pick
Best Restaurants to Watch the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Toronto

Best Restaurants to Watch the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Toronto

Café Diplomatico is celebrating the World Cup big time. Kicking off the games on June 12th, Sportsnet 590 The Fan will be live on location with Norm Rumack from 11 am-3 pm. Then from June 13-17, they’re extending their patio by 250 seats! In between, they’ve got two Sony 4K 80” TVs with a chance to win a Sony 4K 40” TV, celebrations for Puma Day, Amsterdam Day & Sony Day, and a Final Game Street Party on Sunday July 13 from noon to midnight.

View this Smart List
Best Restaurants for Patios in Toronto

Best Restaurants for Patios in Toronto

Once patio season hits, you don’t always want to be squirrelled away from the action. And truly there is no better people-watching spot and feeling like you’re a part of an event, than Café Diplimatico. It’s busy and kind of crowded, but in a fun, festive way. You might go with one or two friends, but by the end of your stay, you’ll have talked to all the tables around you. It’s just that kind of place.

View this Smart List
Where to catch the game in Toronto

Where to catch the game in Toronto

Die-hard soccer fans flock to this Little Italy café and bar for the big weekend game, the spot being steeped in its reputation as one of the primo places to catch the action in the city. The patio is always buzzing and it’s heated! The menu has some of your sports bar favourites and all kinds of pizza (it is, after all, a pizzeria). An unpretentious atmosphere and family-oriented ownership have made this place a go-to café since 1968.

View this Smart List
Contact this business
Close menu