Add a photo
3.9/5
Rate this business
New Looking for instant booking?
You can now reserve online!
37 Elm St, Toronto, ON M5G 1H1
Get directions »
Open now 11:30 am - 2:30 pm4:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Methods of Payment:

Rates:

  • $11 To $25,

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday

Restaurant type

  • Steakhouse,
  • Fine Dining,

Cuisine type

  • Italian,
  • American Cuisine,

Dishes

  • Seafood,
  • Pasta,
  • Hamburger,
  • Pizza,

Features

  • Extensive Wine List,
  • Restaurant With Party Services,
  • Restaurant With Terrace,
  • Restaurant With Private Rooms,
  • Prix Fixe Menu,
  • Wheelchair-accessible Restaurant,

Atmosphere

  • Casual,
  • Romantic,

Products and Services

  • Italian Cuisine,

Languages Spoken

  • English,

Ratings & Reviews - Donatello Restaurant

How would you rate this business?
  • Atmosphere: 4/5
  • Food: 4.3/5
  • Service: 3.6/5
Sort by:
Language:
Restaurantica12
By

The glass of house wine was diluted with water...

The glass of house wine was diluted with water. The Minestrone soup was decent. A bit too salty. The lamb chops were fresh but were overdone. Asked for medium rare, came medium. The service was poor considering the price of the entire meal ($55). The waitress was polite but unhelpful. A party of 3 came after me but were seated first. Neither of us had a reservation.

Atmosphere: 3/5
Food: 3/5
Service: 2/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

Everything was delicious, my only criticism would...

Everything was delicious, my only criticism would be that it was WAY too salty. And that applies to salad as well as the main dishes/sauces.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
January 13, 2019

After reading other reviews we were expecting to have a very nice evening. That is exactly what we had. The ambiance is lovely...cozy and warm. The noise level was low enough to allow for a normal conversation. The service was first class...friendly, attentive, professional and efficient. An extensive wine list with reasonable prices. The food was tasty and the portions generous. We had tomato salads and calamari to start. As mains we had grilled shrimp which were prepared like scampi we used to enjoy in Montreal (less the garlic and butter). Other dishes were liguini vongole and grilled lamb chops cut from the rack...both excellent. For desert we shared a carrot cake and a spumoni ice cream (the real thing). Both were good. All in all a very enjoyable evening. Definitely worth a return visit.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

January 14, 2019

Continues to be a must destination for dinner when we come to Toronto.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 24, 2018

Had an excellent time. Service was wonderful and attendant. And the food was so delicious. Restaurant had a cozy and pretty atmosphere with a sophisticated feel. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 20, 2018

fantastic food, atmosphere and service!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 19, 2018

Our server Charles was excellent! Food delicious!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 19, 2018

Great food at reasonable price and outstanding service. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 16, 2018

This place is beyond amazing. I wish they were open today so I can order my spaghetti and shrimp for dinner again.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 17, 2018

It was a little too loud within the restaurant that it became hard to hear my colleague in front of me. Because it was really busy, the servers seemed to be all over the place and not take our order all at once, but rather, took a couple of orders then walked away and then eventually came back to take a couple of more orders from our table and so on. I found that a bit odd. The food, however, was delicious!

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 3/5

December 17, 2018

The service was outstanding. Thank you.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 15, 2018

Great service and meal. Accommodated special food request. Overall very enjoyable experience.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 15, 2018

Authentic Italian atmosphere with the most amazing food. Service always impeccable. Highly recommend-fresh pasta and great wine selection!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 15, 2018

Great food...great service as always.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 15, 2018

Great little restaurant. We go there every time we come to Toronto..We love it.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

December 13, 2018

Food and service was good. We booked online 2 hours in advance the restaurant had no record of it, after a short wait they accommodated us. Food and service was excellent, we will go again. Unlike Tre Ristorante in Peterborough where we ordered food online via YP over a month ago, still waiting.... for food, and apology.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

December 12, 2018

Great evening out excellent food and service

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 11, 2018

Excellent as always! We will be back

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 10, 2018

We Enjoyed the food and had a great time dining.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 10, 2018

Excellent food and service.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 8, 2018

Service was impeccable. Server / sommelier / wine manager was respectful, listened, offered choices, knew the menu choices (including specials) inside-out and backwards. Offered supurb sounding options and at the end of all that, the food was nothing short of fantastic. Wine suggestion hit the mark from a budget and taste perspective along with how it paired (with lamb). The team also managed to get us out to the theatre when we didn't properly plan enough time. Would have loved to have spent longer and next time we will. We will recommend Donatello highly and speak of this meal far into the future.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 7, 2018

Everything was superb. Can't wait to go back.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 7, 2018

Great location, great food. Caprese salad was to die for. Extensive wine list. Service was stellar!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

December 6, 2018

The food was terrific. Excellent tilapia and pasta of the day. Starter bread was warm. They forgot our appetizer but were very generous with a gratis tiramasu. A really nice first time there. Would definitely return!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 4, 2018

Quality of dishes served was very high.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

December 2, 2018

My second visit in a month....always after the theatre. Last time I commented on the great food but this time would like to commend the staff. Friendly and attentive but not hovering. When you say thank you to them they respond with "you're welcome" NOT "no problem" or "no worry" like in most restaurants. It's a very enjoyable spot to dine. Will be back next theatre night.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 2, 2018

The Team at Donatello’s never ceases to amaze! Some of the best Italian food ever, combined with amazing staff and this place is our favourite!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 1, 2018

Amazing service and food. I have recommended your restaurant to everyone I have spoken to since I left :). I will definitely return when I come back to the city.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 1, 2018

Fabulous food and ambiance. Attentive staff too

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 27, 2018

Literally the best Italian restaurant in Toronto. We eat here every time we are in town for a conference, and it never disappoints. Always great service and amazing food!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 27, 2018

Fabulous food! Excellent service. Thank you! We all had a wonderful time.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 26, 2018

Usually love this place. Ate there 3 days prior and everything was fine. Seems like the two tops are generally ignored in favor of larger parties. Evening started out OK, but as soon as other tables were seated forget it. Waited for main course for over 35 minutes while a table of 7 woman paid w individual checks, they had no alcohol and brought in their own birthday cake, but had excellent service. Two other sixes were also receiving their food without any delay. Finally we started asking what was going on and the food came right out. wrong and just bad. Yu could tell by how hot the plates were, and dried out the food was, that they were sitting under the heat lamps a long time I was looking forward for a year for the grilled lamb chops used to be a favorites, what came out was over cooked rack of lamb. Partner has veal marsella, same as the first night. this was dry tasting even though in a sauce that tasted like grain alcohol . They didn't charge for the food( good thing we couldn't eat it and didn't want to wait another 45 minutes) but the evening was ruined. If you are couple and want to eat there you better bring 4 friends other wise you will be ignored. Had cocktails and a very expensive bottle of wine unlike the others who were getting service while drinking waters and hot teas.

Ambiance: 2/5

Cuisine: 1/5

Service: 1/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Contact this business
Close menu
Subscribe to YP Newsletter