Add a photo
Add a photo
Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Restaurant type

  • Pub,

Cuisine type

  • Asian,
  • Japanese,
  • Californian,

Dishes

  • Tapas,
  • Sushi,
  • Seafood,
  • Breakfast,
  • Vegan,

Features

  • Oyster Bar,
  • Bring Your Own Wine,

Atmosphere

  • Casual,

Products and Services

  • Cuisine Contemporaine,

Languages Spoken

  • English,
Location
602 College St, Toronto, ON M6G 1B4
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Verify with Merchant

Rates:

  • $11 To $25,
  • $26 To $60,

Methods of Payment:

Ratings & Reviews - Hapa Izakaya

How would you rate this business?
5/5
  • Excellent
  • Very good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible
3
0
0
0
0
  • Atmosphere:
  • Food:
  • Service:
Sort by:
Language:
User368385
By

Amazing service amzing food

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
AngelaC364291
By

Great food and amazing staff. The barkeepers are great talk mates and are highly knowledgeable about the food and drinks

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
November 15, 2021

Excellent food and atmosphere! A gem in Toronto

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 8, 2021

Great service and the hosts are very accommodating

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 16, 2021

Great food, great service!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 25, 2021

Best place! Good food, good vibe - service is amazing!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 23, 2021

Shrimp appetizer wasn’t crispy enough. Everything else was great. Server was friendly & professional. Would go back.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

July 4, 2021

Hapa is my favorite place in the world. Thanks for the great service and ambiance.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 2, 2021

So happy we discovered Hapa - we didn’t know it and went solely on the reviews which were spot on. Thanks for making our Canada Day date night a fun one. We’ll see you again soon!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 27, 2021

Drinks, food, music and staff were all amazing! It was a great return to patios after a long closure from COVID-19 and Hapa ensured we all had a fantastic time. Tables were well spaced and reservations were easy. Thank you Hapa!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

June 28, 2021

5 stars across the board!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 27, 2020

Great place, Food, drinks, service, music.. all on point

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 3, 2020

Excellent as always. Must try the ishakaya bowl and firecracker roll.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 31, 2020

Food as always was excellent. The sidewalk patio had a very European vibe. Service was efficient and courteous.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 24, 2020

We had contacted Hapa to redeem Travelzoo Voucher for an 8-course Omakase meal in March. Due to Covid we appreciated the extension to the end of Aug and also providing a takeout option. However, once we returned home with our meal we discovered we had only received 7 courses. Additionally we didnt feel like the choices for the meal met the value of the voucher (valued at $100 per person). In our dinner we received: Avocado Salad (1 box) Edamame (1 box) Ebi Mayo (4 pc deep fried shrimp) Karage (4 pc deep fried chicken bites) Jerk chicken tacos (2pc) Spicy Tuna sushi roll (8pc) Fried rice (1 box) Overall, I would not recommend an Omakase for the type of cuisine Hapa offers. An Omakase traditionally is more elevated dining and Hapa offers more of a bar/snack type of food. I would likely recommend Hapa for social gatherings for drinks and snacks instead of a meal.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 5/5

August 24, 2020

This was the second time there and again everything was excellent. Thanks Norma Smith

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 7, 2020

Large on-street patio with lots of space. Delicious tapas style Japanese menu and good choice of drinks. Service was excellent. Thank you Chris. We will be back.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 19, 2020

Staff were so nice ! Their Donburi is the best :) but I just wish their menu is complete.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

July 17, 2020

I've been coming here for a few years now for many different types of occasions. Every single employee is always welcoming and always giving amazing service, they honestly always make you feel like family, and the food is absolutely phenomenal every time. Currently, the menu is smaller than usual due to the pandemic, definitely try the pork belly spring rolls and the Kimchi Yakima Udon, my mouth watered with how good those were. I've loved coming here since the first moment I stepped in, couple of years ago they had this torched lobster sushi that has been my favourite dish to this day, I'll excited if they bring it back on the menu. 5 stars and above from someone who's been visiting for many years now.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 13, 2020

We're big fans of Hapa, not least because the service is outstanding.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 8, 2020

Food was delicious, and the portions were great! Excellent experience overall

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

March 8, 2020

Was very pleased..three waiters served me....not just one.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 7, 2020

the meal was fantastic, the portions were very generous and the flavours were amazing. I would definitely come back here!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 6, 2020

Delicious and great value!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

March 2, 2020

Great place for group birthday dinner!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

March 2, 2020

Excellent food and awesome service! Great ambience!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 27, 2020

Absolutely love it! Great food and service.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 27, 2020

Had the Omasake menu with 6 courses. Service was good and enjoyed all the dishes.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

February 24, 2020

My husband and I loved our experience at Hapa. The food was amazing the staff was awesome and the ambiance was just right. Chris made our dining experience that much better and easier and was able to answer our razy little questions. The only thing was that I only felt that it was a tad bit dark. Other than that, I would say we will definitely be returning.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 21, 2020

The food was excellent and we had wonderful service.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 17, 2020

Great value & food taste delicious. Love the good selection definitely will go back👌🏻

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 14, 2020

I had a great time with my girlfriend and the music was really good. Also the food was delicious we ordered the steak tepenyaki. The DJ played old school hip hop and R&B which was beyond epic and fun, and the karaoke was great. Met the manager and he was awesome. Will definitely be going back in the future.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Appears in 9 Smart Lists

Editor’s Pick
Toronto restaurants open on Christmas Eve

Toronto restaurants open on Christmas Eve

The Isobe family brought Hapa to Toronto back in September 2012. During their first year they fought through adversity and had to close for four months. They reopened late October 2013 with a new and improved restaurant and a strong motivated family that share the same goal. Voted “Top Five Izakayas In North America” by Bon Appétit Magazine, topping “Industry” and “Readers Choice” Georgia Straight awards for Best Japanese in 2012 and Best Izakaya in 2014, and “Best Casual Chain” by Vancouver Magazine from 2011-2014, Hapa continues to offer a winning combination of Japanese cuisine, fun, and culture, paired with local seasonal and Ocean Wise ™ ingredients.

View this Smart List
Contact this business
Close menu