Add a photo
Add a photo
Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Restaurant type

  • French,
  • Fine Dining,

Dishes

  • Vegetarian Cuisine,
  • Crepe,
  • French Onion Soup,
  • Steak,
  • Steak Et Frites,

Features

  • Restaurant With Wifi Internet,
  • Take-out,
  • Restaurant With Party Services,

Atmosphere

  • Trendy,
  • Upscale,

Products and Services

  • Pre Theater,
  • Daily Special,

Languages Spoken

  • English,

Getting There

  • At Church Street,
Location
69 Front St E, Toronto, ON M5E 1B5
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Verify with Merchant

Rates:

  • $11 To $25,

Methods of Payment:

Meet the owner

From the quaint menu to quirky marketing, everything at Le Papillon on Front is done in house, and all staff lend a hand.

General manager Sean Gowland says the homemade rule goes a long way to not only keeping costs down, but also towards creating a positive, welcoming and inclusive environment for every walk of life. “We like to be able to cater to a lot of vibes,” says Sean. “We like to tip on the edge of trendy but there’s no 'I’m not hip enough to go there' or 'I’m too hip to go there.'”

Dishes like hearty French onion soup and tourtière – a traditional Québecois meat pie of seasoned veal, beef and pork with house chutney, potatoes and market vegetables – are comparable to what you’d be served at Grandma’s. The restaurant is stylishly impressive, yet stills feels homey, comfortable and relaxed.

Le Papillon on Front's eclectic team includes a few Francophone servers who help to give the restaurant its French-Canadian authenticity and also come in handy when Toronto classrooms come to learn the language and experience the cuisine. “It’s different being an independent restaurant,” says Sean. “We really do our best to make sure our customers leave happy.”

Read the story of Le Papillon On Front

Ratings & Reviews - Le Papillon On Front

How would you rate this business?
  • Atmosphere:
  • Food:
  • Service:
Sort by:
Language:
acsc4116
By

Oct. 4, 2019 partner and I had dinner before the theatre. Food was very good. Service was even better. New waiter Bishoy was gracious, friendly and watching to be ready to help whenever we needed it. Suplementary servers were also very polite and always helpful. Very nice experience worth repeating whenever we are in town.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 5/5
Service: 5/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
laurenbreckon126
By

The years have been kind to Le Papillon! The best onion soup in the world! Perfect crêpes! The service was so friendly. I had missed this restaurant and didn’t realize they had just moved! What a pleasant surprise to return to the flavours and textures we remeber.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 5/5
Service: 5/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Davi9717
By

The restaurant was exceptional along with the hosts and servers. Food was really good. Will definitely visit you again.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 5/5
Service: 5/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
marieclaudegiroux593790
By

I have been going to the papillon for years. I have never been disappointed. Great service and friendly people.

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 5/5
Service: 5/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
mccm8584
By

Can't resist the crepes. Always enjoy the staff enthusiasm.

Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
October 20, 2019

Loved the restaurant, and its atmosphere was just the right level of exposed brick coziness. Service was fast and attentive although personally I found the waiter a bit dull. He seemed to need some spice of life. I will definitely be coming back and recommending Le Papillon to my friends.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

October 18, 2019

We went on a Thursday night when wine was half price. It’s a beautiful French restaurant with a lot of attention to detail in the amazing service and the food was exceptional. I’m looking forward to trying other dishes on the menu!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 18, 2019

Wonderful food as usual. Consistently a fantastic place to go when visiting Toronto. .

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 17, 2019

Always very happy when I visit Le Papillon. D’la vraie bonne bouffe!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 16, 2019

I had dinner with a friend from Oakville who was unfamiliar with Toronto restaurants and asked me to recommend one. Le Papillon on Front was the first that came to mind. As always the service was impeccable, friendly and attentive. Our cocktails, the Moscow Mule & Paper Plane was great. Our appetizers was the famous French Onion soup and Caesar salad. We both had the Monkfish from the daily dinner specials menu - delicious! Though we had finished our meal and the restaurant was closed at 9pm, we chatted for another 40 minutes and did not feel rushed or the need to leave quickly, which has happened in other places. Thank you Le Papillon for another wonderful evening.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 14, 2019

Wonderful classy attentive service. Food was excellent.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 13, 2019

What a wonderful place! We stopped in for brunch during a trip to Toronto for our anniversary. We met a couple who lives in the city at an event the evening before and mentioned we were looking for French restaurant to visit and they suggested Le Papillon. We’re so glad. Beautiful place with outstanding service and food. The French onion soup, mussels and crepes were amazing. Our waiter was attentive and fun to chat with and brought us a complimentary glass of Champagne when he heard it was a special occasion.We will be back when we are next in Toronto.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 14, 2019

This

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 12, 2019

One of my favourite places in the city!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

October 13, 2019

One of the best places in Toronto for French cuisine. Prices are VERY fair given the high quality

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 10, 2019

Lovely ambience, delicious food and amazing service...made for a wonderful evening!! Merci beaucoup!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 6, 2019

Great service and food at a reasonable price. We dine here regularly and the food and service are consistently of a high standard.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 6, 2019

Another wonderful experience (many times) that all 4 of us truly enjoyed. Will definitely return. Thanks!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 6, 2019

Our server was outstanding! Thank you for a lovely evening!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 30, 2019

The service was amazing! Very friendly and personable.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 29, 2019

The greeter was most helpful in getting us a great table. A very personable fellow. Waitress was very efficient in looking after us.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 29, 2019

Excellent service and excellent food. First time here and was very happy with the experience. The pricing is excellent as well. Will return!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 29, 2019

Our waiter (who is originally from North Bay like my husband) was very personable and professional. He made good recommendations and gave us attentive service throughout our meal. I used to live in Toronto and used to go to Papillon in the 80's. I still love the food, wine and ambience. My husband even had pastis!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 30, 2019

Very accommodating - I came from out of town and requested a certain table to celebrate my birthday and they did so! Our server provided excellent service and was very accommodating with my food request (grilled veggies). I had the filet and it was delicious! I will definitely be back!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 23, 2019

Staff were friendly and accomodating of our group's needs, both for the brunch and when making changes for the reservations. Got the crab benedict which was amazing. Definately plan to come back and check out other items on the menu.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 22, 2019

We have been going to this restaurant for 40 years and are never disappointed. Thank goodness they have kept up the same excellent food and service. It is always a pleasure. Last night was our 27th wedding anniversary and we enjoyed our dinner immensely.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 23, 2019

Lovely dinner. Service, ambiance and food were all really good.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 21, 2019

Best lamb shank we've ever had and that's coming from an Australian.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 18, 2019

Based on reviews we booked this restaurant for our anniversary. The service was excellent but unfortunately the food did not come up to expected standard. My crepe was like leather and the duck was tough and lukewarm. We were given a glass of bubbles for our anniversary which was a nice touch. Overall a very disappointing evening.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 5/5

September 15, 2019

Excellent service and a perfectly prepared meal.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 15, 2019

Our server was efficient but not intrusive, friendly and helpful. The food never disappoints at Le Papillon!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 11, 2019

Excellent food, great attentive server, good prices

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 11, 2019

great evening out

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

September 7, 2019

Our server was amazing. We enjoyed chatting to him and he was very friendly yet professional. The wine was excellent and the half price deal was fantastic value. The food was superb, the best steak frites I have had. Thank you!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 6, 2019

Really enjoyable experience, this was my 2nd time at the restaurant and I will be back.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Appears in 11 Smart Lists

Editor’s Pick
Contact this business
Close menu