Add a photo
Add a photo
Location
Information
Reviews
Details
Details & Description

Restaurant type

  • French,
  • Fine Dining,

Dishes

  • Vegetarian Cuisine,
  • Crepe,
  • French Onion Soup,
  • Steak,
  • Steak Et Frites,

Features

  • Restaurant With Wifi Internet,
  • Take-out,
  • Restaurant With Party Services,

Atmosphere

  • Trendy,
  • Upscale,

Products and Services

  • Pre Theater,
  • Daily Special,

Languages Spoken

  • English,

Getting There

  • At Church Street,
Location
69 Front St E, Toronto, ON M5E 1B5
Useful Information

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
Verify with Merchant

Rates:

  • $11 To $25,

Methods of Payment:

Meet the owner

From the quaint menu to quirky marketing, everything at Le Papillon on Front is done in house, and all staff lend a hand.

General manager Sean Gowland says the homemade rule goes a long way to not only keeping costs down, but also towards creating a positive, welcoming and inclusive environment for every walk of life. “We like to be able to cater to a lot of vibes,” says Sean. “We like to tip on the edge of trendy but there’s no 'I’m not hip enough to go there' or 'I’m too hip to go there.'”

Dishes like hearty French onion soup and tourtière – a traditional Québecois meat pie of seasoned veal, beef and pork with house chutney, potatoes and market vegetables – are comparable to what you’d be served at Grandma’s. The restaurant is stylishly impressive, yet stills feels homey, comfortable and relaxed.

Le Papillon on Front's eclectic team includes a few Francophone servers who help to give the restaurant its French-Canadian authenticity and also come in handy when Toronto classrooms come to learn the language and experience the cuisine. “It’s different being an independent restaurant,” says Sean. “We really do our best to make sure our customers leave happy.”

Read the story of Le Papillon On Front

Ratings & Reviews - Le Papillon On Front

How would you rate this business?
  • Atmosphere:
  • Food:
  • Service:
Sort by:
Language:
Restaurantica12
By

I can not beleive that no one else has written a...

I can not beleive that no one else has written a review for the Le Papillion. It is my top choice for a restaurant if you want a romantic date atmosphere or a nice place to take your parents when the come to town. The serive is always great, the food is consistently great. The prices are quite reasonable. The crepes are always fresh and delicious, the salmon good, great French Onion soup. I also love the tarte au sucre (maple suger pie) for dessert- its the only place in Toronto that I know of that serves tarte au sucre. Great quebecois fare!

Atmosphere: 5/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 5/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
October 13, 2019

What a wonderful place! We stopped in for brunch during a trip to Toronto for our anniversary. We met a couple who lives in the city at an event the evening before and mentioned we were looking for French restaurant to visit and they suggested Le Papillon. We’re so glad. Beautiful place with outstanding service and food. The French onion soup, mussels and crepes were amazing. Our waiter was attentive and fun to chat with and brought us a complimentary glass of Champagne when he heard it was a special occasion.We will be back when we are next in Toronto.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 12, 2019

One of my favourite places in the city!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

October 13, 2019

One of the best places in Toronto for French cuisine. Prices are VERY fair given the high quality

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 10, 2019

Lovely ambience, delicious food and amazing service...made for a wonderful evening!! Merci beaucoup!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 6, 2019

Great service and food at a reasonable price. We dine here regularly and the food and service are consistently of a high standard.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 6, 2019

Another wonderful experience (many times) that all 4 of us truly enjoyed. Will definitely return. Thanks!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

October 6, 2019

Our server was outstanding! Thank you for a lovely evening!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 30, 2019

The service was amazing! Very friendly and personable.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 29, 2019

The greeter was most helpful in getting us a great table. A very personable fellow. Waitress was very efficient in looking after us.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 29, 2019

Excellent service and excellent food. First time here and was very happy with the experience. The pricing is excellent as well. Will return!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 29, 2019

Our waiter (who is originally from North Bay like my husband) was very personable and professional. He made good recommendations and gave us attentive service throughout our meal. I used to live in Toronto and used to go to Papillon in the 80's. I still love the food, wine and ambience. My husband even had pastis!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 30, 2019

Very accommodating - I came from out of town and requested a certain table to celebrate my birthday and they did so! Our server provided excellent service and was very accommodating with my food request (grilled veggies). I had the filet and it was delicious! I will definitely be back!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 23, 2019

Staff were friendly and accomodating of our group's needs, both for the brunch and when making changes for the reservations. Got the crab benedict which was amazing. Definately plan to come back and check out other items on the menu.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 22, 2019

We have been going to this restaurant for 40 years and are never disappointed. Thank goodness they have kept up the same excellent food and service. It is always a pleasure. Last night was our 27th wedding anniversary and we enjoyed our dinner immensely.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 23, 2019

Lovely dinner. Service, ambiance and food were all really good.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 21, 2019

Best lamb shank we've ever had and that's coming from an Australian.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 18, 2019

Based on reviews we booked this restaurant for our anniversary. The service was excellent but unfortunately the food did not come up to expected standard. My crepe was like leather and the duck was tough and lukewarm. We were given a glass of bubbles for our anniversary which was a nice touch. Overall a very disappointing evening.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 3/5

Service: 5/5

September 15, 2019

Our server was efficient but not intrusive, friendly and helpful. The food never disappoints at Le Papillon!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 15, 2019

Excellent service and a perfectly prepared meal.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 11, 2019

Excellent food, great attentive server, good prices

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 11, 2019

great evening out

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 4/5

September 7, 2019

Our server was amazing. We enjoyed chatting to him and he was very friendly yet professional. The wine was excellent and the half price deal was fantastic value. The food was superb, the best steak frites I have had. Thank you!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 6, 2019

Really enjoyable experience, this was my 2nd time at the restaurant and I will be back.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 6, 2019

Delicious French onion soup and Caesar salad! I live it here!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 6, 2019

We had a wonderful evening and were extremely pleased with the service and the food. We are all looking forward to our next visit.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

September 2, 2019

We were delighted with our reception and especially appreciated the way our guests from the UK observing their 50th wedding anniversary were honoured (as were we, this year also being our 50th). Merci et à bientôt !! Bryan & Louise

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 29, 2019

Love this place!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 28, 2019

Terrific food and great waiter. A real find. It was our first time and we will definitely be back. Weather was rainy so we couldn’t sit outside -they have wonderful small tables - quaint. Onion soup is delicious!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

August 26, 2019

This place is great! Absolutely fantastic! They even remembered that it’s our anniversary and gave us champagne on the house !

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

August 26, 2019

Expected a little wine knowledge but was disapointed, for a "french resto" Waitriss did not know the sugar content or what dry meant so i asked if it was sec or brut and het teply was its fruity.. . The beef Bourgogne had some flavour but had more mishroom, green beans, beets and rice than beef. But the kicker is when i paid and thanked the waitriss she had nothing , no glad to see No thank you No enjoy your evening Not even see you again So i left only$10 tip on 200 Bad service Bad vibe Half ass food

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 2/5

Service: 1/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Appears in 11 Smart Lists

Editor’s Pick
Contact this business
Close menu