4/5
Rate this business
New Looking for instant booking?
You can now reserve online!
55 Adelaide St E, Toronto, ON M5C 1K6
Get directions »
Opening soon 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Methods of Payment:

  • Diners Club

Rates:

  • $26 To $60,

Opening Hours *Holiday hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday

Restaurant type

  • Fine Dining,

Cuisine type

  • Japanese,
  • Asian,

Dishes

  • Seafood,
  • Sushi,
  • Grill,

Features

  • Restaurant With Wifi Internet,
  • Group Reservation,
  • Pre Theater,
  • Lunch Menu,
  • Award Winning,
  • Restaurant With Private Rooms,
    • Hotel Nearby,
  • more...
  • less...

Atmosphere

  • Casual,
  • Romantic,
  • Family,

Products and Services

  • Comfortable Booths,

Languages Spoken

  • English,
  • Chinese,
  • Japanese,
  • Korean,

Meet the owner

When Jay Yoo walked into Nami restaurant as a young boy in 1984, he had no idea that he would grow up to inherit his own sushi institution in Toronto. Established by his father Kenneth Yoo, a Korean immigrant, Nami (meaning "wave" in Japanese) has ridden the waves of time, all the while maintaining its authenticity in an ever-evolving and often volatile restaurant climate. “My father moved here when he was 21 with $50 in his pocket that he had hidden in a cigarette packet," recalls Jay. "He hustled initially selling calculators and insurance until he opened up his own business.”

Business runs in Jay's blood: in addition to helping run Nami, he is also the owner of Sherway Nissan, a successful car dealership in Toronto. Jay enjoys helping people and considers customer service to be a priority; the economics grad and father of two under two sometimes treats his guests to a meal at his favourite Robata bar restaurant. At Nami, it is this dedication to customers, among other things, that has led to the restaurant's longtime success.

Read the story of NAMI Japanese Restaurant

Ratings & Reviews - NAMI Japanese Restaurant

How would you rate this business?
  • Atmosphere:
  • Food:
  • Service:
Sort by:
Language:
Restaurantica12
By

Excellent food, friendly staff, good atmosphere...

Excellent food, friendly staff, good atmosphere. It is a bit on the expensive side but still worth it. You can sit in private booths or in the main dining area and for larger parties i think you can reserve a section at the back that looks pretty cool but i have not tried it. If you love japanese food and are not broke this should be on your list.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 5/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

One of the best of its kinds. The restaurant is...

One of the best of its kinds. The restaurant is serving real Japanese foods with real Japanese skills. From the perfect cut and the perfect taste, I had a wonderful experience with my wife on our Valentine's Day this year. I would recommend to anyone who really wants to enjoy authentic Japanese cuisine. It is pricey but really worthy.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 5/5
Service: 5/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

Excellent restaurant. I have to laugh at the...

Excellent restaurant. I have to laugh at the review Mr McKenzie submitted. Real japanese food he said and this white man claimed to know more about japanese food than the japanese. I have frequented this restaurant many times, tasted food from all over the world and I rate this restaurant as one of the best. Food is always fresh, best quality, cooked to perfection, service attentive. I know when I want fresh food cooked to perfection, I can go to Nami

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

Food was excellant. One of the best Japaness...

Food was excellant. One of the best Japaness Resturant. Love their salad and Grill Fish / Seafood.

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
Restaurantica12
By

excellent service and food. sushi very fresh and...

excellent service and food. sushi very fresh and flavorful. beef very tender - could easily cut with fork. Only flaw were the rock hard potatoes easily one of the best japanese food experiences ever

Atmosphere: 4/5
Food: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Are you the owner? Reply or Contact YP
February 17, 2019

Amazing Service best restaurant. I would love to come back again

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 15, 2019

We had to wait a bit due to Valentine's day but it was worth it! The fish was amazing !

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 16, 2019

Excellent food, exceptional service given the busyness of the night (Valentine's day). Very happy with whole experience and look forward to returning.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 4/5

February 7, 2019

Mami has never disappointed to date. The service is excellent. The food is superb as always.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 6, 2019

Three of us were there for our friend’s birthday. The staff, our server were very nice and attentive. The most importantly foods were absolutely delicious. They reserved a private table and served complementary desert with candle made our special day better. Overall experience was awesome. Totally met my expectation. I would go back again for sure.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 5, 2019

Authentic ambience and food!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 4, 2019

Very noisy. Service very slow because very busy I think. Miso soup not as great as has been in the past otherwise food great!.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 3/5

February 3, 2019

Though it was a very busy night the staff was absolutely wonderful - courteous, pleasant and helpful.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 3, 2019

Staffs were friendly. Gave us an Amazing spot when we booked a table ahead of time. Winterlicious was okay, quality of food was great. Atmosphere overall was fancy and comfortable.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

February 1, 2019

Excellent food and service.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

February 1, 2019

Excellent in every way, we recommend without hesitation

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 29, 2019

We had the winterlicious menu. Both had sushi starters. Sushi was good but the spicy tuna roll was a bit too mild. My cod was excellent and my colleagues Beef Udon was also enjoyable. Overall, good value.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

January 26, 2019

Excellent Japanese restaurant in downtown Toronto $$

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 19, 2019

Amazing food and service as always!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 17, 2019

They accommodated my daughter’s gluten-free diet very well!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

January 4, 2019

Always excellent service and amazing quality food.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 31, 2018

This place is great. Sushi was delicious. Went with my daughter on a Saturday night before the Leafs game. Was very very good.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 28, 2018

A wonderful evening. We will be back as soon as we can!!!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 28, 2018

Great menu choices and fresh well-prepared dishes. Green tea was refreshing, not bitter. Red wine was tast. The waiter was very earnest and attentive, a lovely young guy!

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 28, 2018

Had the sukiyaki, I was really looking forward to it but it was just ok. Everything else that we ordered was excellent eg. Spider roll, sushi spring roll, chicken karaage.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

December 15, 2018

Great service and fantastic sushi!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 10, 2018

Excellent service and quality. Fresh, fresh fresh.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 9, 2018

Overall, the food was really good. However, the middle-aged lady who served us was very indifferent and barely paid attention to our water/dishes. We basically took care of our Sukiyaki pot on our own. The service was not compatible with the food price. I hope the restaurant can address this.

Ambiance: 3/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 1/5

December 10, 2018

We loved everything about our experience at Nami. We were celebrating a birthday and it was a lovely meal. The individual booths are very cosy and private and our food was delicious. The service was attentive but never pushy and we were never rushed to order or to pay the bill at the end of the meal. Our server was also very knowledgeable and made recommendations that were very helpful. We look forward to our next visit!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 9, 2018

This couldn't have been a more wonderful meal. Everything was perfectly cooked and perfectly served! Do yourself a favour and book a table at Nami. You won't regret it. Our table had green tea, wine, Sapporo beer, edemame, black cod, teriyaki salmon, miso soup, salad, rice, cut orange and green tea ice cream. Each item outstanding.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 1, 2018

Absolutely great service and food quality! Reminded us of the restaurants back in Ukraine, which unfortunately can rarely be found in Canada, at least in this price range. The administrator was attentive to my request when making a reservation, and the waiter was fantastically polite and nice. We will definitely come back!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 1, 2018

The serving staff are the greatest. They complement the amazing food perfectly. I highly recommend Nami - an amazing experience.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

December 1, 2018

Best authentic Japanese restaurant in Toronto!

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 16, 2018

Nami has continued to be one of our favorite restaurants in the city. Love everything about them in including the team there. Authentic yet not. It is like 3 distant Japanese in place. Thank you Nami for being here.

Ambiance: 5/5

Cuisine: 5/5

Service: 5/5

November 11, 2018

Good food as always, we loved the grilled menu for dinner! The atmosphere is great, you can tell that people come to this restaurant for delicious food. Their sukiyaki is also perfect for winter blues.

Ambiance: 4/5

Cuisine: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Get an opinion about this business!

Think your friends might be familiar with this business? Ask your friends on Facebook to see what they think.

Appears in 6 Smart Lists

Editor’s Pick
Winterlicious 2017: $38 dinners

Winterlicious 2017: $38 dinners

Located in the downtown core for more than 30 years, Nami continues to serve traditional Japanese cuisine in a simple, modern setting. Kimono-clad servers attend to patrons in the main dining room, private booths and the tatami room with rice-paper screened doors. For Winterlicious, the menu options include BC tuna tataki served with a miso soup, sushi, tempura, seafood Kaiso Salad, beef teriyaki dinner, and hojicha pudding.

View this Smart List
Contact this business
Close menu
Subscribe to YP Newsletter